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Page 1: The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement

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The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement

Starting Soon

Page 2: The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement

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The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement

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ABOUT NETELIXIR UNIVERSITY

NetElixir University was launched in 2012 with a vision of “democratizing the

digital marketing industry through exceptional knowledge and expertise

sharing.”

Our goal is to share the best practices in retail + digital marketing with 10,000

businesses worldwide by 2015.

NetElixir University

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CREATIVITY + ANALYTICS

September 23

Grounds for Sculpture

Abes Market

Advance Auto Parts

Alex and Ani

American Frame

Ann Inc.

Blindsgalore

Brady Corp

Burlington Coat Factory

Christie's Auction House

Cornell University

Deb Shops, Inc

Farmers

Google

NY & Co.

PaperStyle

Positive Promotions

Randa Accessories

RedCats

Reed & Barton

Reeds Jewelers

ReNew Life

Sleepy's

Steven Singer Jewelers

Ulla Popken

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ABOUT UDAYAN BOSE

• Founder & CEO, NetElixir.

• Founded PartyBingo.com (PartyGaming, Plc).

• Guest Lecturer:

• Johnson School of Management, Cornell

University.

• City University of New York, Baruch.

• Indian School of Business.

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ABOUT DON RODRIGUEZ

• Over 20 years experience as a Marketing

Executive with companies like Dell and Accenture.

• Don teaches marketing classes in Rutgers

University’s MBA program..

• His belief that marketing is all about the math

stems from his first professional career as an

electrical engineer.

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Quantifying The Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on User Engagement

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QUANTIFYING THE IMPACT OF A MOBILE-

FRIENDLY SITE ON USER ENGAGEMENT

• Hypothesis: A mobile-friendly experience improves

conversion rates of mobile visitors.

• Assumption: The same principles of user experience

that lift conversion rates of desktop browsers apply to

non-desktop browsers.

• Methodology: Aggregated analysis of traffic,

conversions and revenue for a sample of sites that

includes mobile-friendly and non-mobile friendly user

experiences.

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METHODOLOGY

• Test Period : Q2 2014 vs Q2 2013.

• Data Set:

− 180MM+ user sessions from sample of 53 NetElixir clients.

− Mobile advertising data from 100% of NetElixir client base.

− Competitive user experience on 100% of NetElixir client base.

• Mobile-friendly experience is defined as having a dedicated mobile site,

e.g. m.domain.com or a responsive or adaptive design.

• Testing of all site experiences was done manually with an Android

phone

• Averages were computed and normalized on a site by site basis

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MOBILE CONVERSION RATE INDEX

• Mobile Conversion Rate Index =

• Example − Mobile Conversion = 2.02%

− All Traffic Conversion = 4.04%

− Mobile Conversion Rate Index = 2.02/4.04 X 100 = 50

𝑚𝑜𝑏𝑖𝑙𝑒 𝑡𝑟𝑎𝑓𝑓𝑖𝑐 𝑐𝑜𝑛𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝑟𝑎𝑡𝑒

𝑡𝑟𝑎𝑓𝑓𝑖𝑐 𝑐𝑜𝑛𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝑟𝑎𝑡𝑒× 100

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RESEARCH FINDINGS – ALL TRAFFIC

Mobile

Conversion

Rate Index 60

Mobile AOV /

Desktop AOV 102%

Mobile Traffic

Growth 37%

Mobile Traffic

Share 8%

Mobile

Conversion

Rate Index 23

Mobile AOV /

Desktop AOV 70%

Mobile Traffic

Growth 53%

Mobile Traffic

Share 20%

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RESEARCH FINDINGS – PPC TRAFFIC

Mobile

Conversion

Rate Index 74

Mobile AOV /

Desktop AOV 116%

Mobile Traffic

Growth 62%

Mobile Traffic

Share 15%

Mobile

Conversion

Rate Index 27

Mobile AOV /

Desktop AOV 62%

Mobile Traffic

Growth 56%

Mobile Traffic

Share 15%

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TOP 10 REASONS TO CONSIDER MOBILE

SEARCH ADS

1. Conversion Rates are significantly higher regardless of mobile user experience

2. 77% of all mobile searches are in locations with a PC nearby

3. 83% of people who do mobile searches in their home cite speed & convenience

as primary reason for doing so.

4. 20% of mobile search queries are product focused

5. 17% of mobile searches result in a purchase

6. Shopping mobile queries are 2.14x more likely to occur inside a store

7. 49% of mobile searches lead to direct interaction with a retailer (site, store or

phone)

8. 45% of mobile searches are conducted to make a decision

9. 48% of mobile users considering a purchase start with a search

engine query; 74% say they used at least one search engine query

10. 76% of mobile searches occur after lunch, 40% occur after dinner

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WHAT ARE YOUR MOBILE TRAFFIC TRENDS?

CAN YOU GET THERE FOR Q4?

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MOBILE SITE VS MOBILE APP

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NOT AN “IF” QUESTION, IT’S A “WHEN”

QUESTION

1. Understand and quantify the mobile behavior

of your audience and your competitive set.

2. Conversion Rate and AOV should improve

with a mobile friendly site.

3. Mobile search advertising has value for

advertisers not using it regardless of your site

experience.

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MOBILE TRAFFIC WHITEPAPER

• Download the full paper

at www.netelixir.com/mobilewp.pdf

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{

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Appendix

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http://ssl.gstatic.com/think/docs/creati

ng-moments-that-matter_research-

studies.pdf

http://ssl.gstatic.com/think/docs/mobile-

path-to-purchase-5-key-

findings_research-studies.pdf

Additional Sources

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http://developer.skava.com/calculator/Skava/