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Online Marketing Forward to Basics Elias Dabbas MediaMe Forum - December 4, 2012 Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Online marketing skills and guidelines for the online professional, with an introduction to Google AdWords

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Page 1: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Online MarketingForward to Basics

Elias DabbasMediaMe Forum - December 4, 2012

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 2: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Main Online Measures / Metrics

Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

2

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 3: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Page Views

Number of times a page was served / “viewed”

heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page

3

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 4: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Number of times an ad was served “viewed”Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)

Ad Impressions

4

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 5: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Visits & Unique Visitors

• Visits:

• Unique Visitors:

Number of times a “session” is started at a site

Number of people (computers) that visited your site

I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor

Example:

5

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 6: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Pages / Visit

Average page views per visit Total page views ÷ total visits

6

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 7: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Bounce Rate

7

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 8: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Bounce Rate

• Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)

7

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 9: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Bounce Rate

• Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)• 1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate

7

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 10: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

8

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 11: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

• Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions)

8

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 12: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

• Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions)

• Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR8

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 13: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Visits per Visitor

• Average times a visitor comes to the site within a certain period of time

• Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor

• Important measure of loyalty

9

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 14: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

CPx

• CPC: cost per click

• CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions

• CPL: cost per lead

• CPA: cost per action (acquisition)

10

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 15: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Conversions

Conversions

11

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 16: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Conversions

• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc

Conversions

11

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 17: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Conversions

• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc

Conversions

11

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 18: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Conversions

• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc

• Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate

Conversions

11

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 19: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

12

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 20: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Campaign Lifecycle

13

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 21: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

14

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 22: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

1,000,000 impressions

14

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 23: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

1,000,000 impressions

14

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 24: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

14

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 25: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

14

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 26: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

14

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 27: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

14

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 28: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR• Conversion Rate• CPM • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

15

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 29: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

16

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 30: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

17

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 31: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

18

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 32: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

19

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 33: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

20

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 34: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

21

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 35: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

22

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 36: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

23

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 37: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

24

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 38: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

25

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 39: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

“Digital Media”

What industry doyou work in?

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 40: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Digital - Non Digital

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 41: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

“Digital” “Media”

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 42: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Digital

Online (Internet)

Digital > OnlineDigital can be offline

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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“Media”

Digital Media describes only the kind of media we deal with (broadcast, print, outdoor, digital)

Assumes the campaign starts and ends on the publication or medium itself

Doesn’t have a place for The Click

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 44: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Media

Marketing

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 45: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Digital Media

Online Marketing

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 46: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Digital Media Online Marketing

It’s “digital” It’s “online”, “live”, “interactive”, “now”

Banner / Rich Media Conversion / Funnel / Process

Planning and Buying Optimization and Continuous Improvement

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 47: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Start End

Planning Buying Reporting

Media Planning / Buying

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 48: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Plan

implement

Optimize Test

Change

Continuous processTesting / optimization are essential parts

Flexible / muddling through strategy

Campaign / Account Management

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 49: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Demographics

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 50: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Baby Products Target AudienceWednesday, December 5, 12

Page 51: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Would you target these people for baby products?

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Page 52: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

They all want to buy presents for the pregnant woman’s babyThey are in the market for baby products

Would you like to target them?

These are a pregnant woman’s:

Father Cousin Best friend

SisterGrandmother

Brother

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 53: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

The Power of Content(Contextual Advertising /

Targeting)

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 54: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

How might a user end up on a certain page?

41

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Directly entering URL

42

You know where you are going

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 56: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Clicking on a search result / ad

43

You know where you are going

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 57: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Clicking on an ad

44

You know where you are going

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 58: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Clicking on a text link

45

You know where you are going

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 59: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Exceptions

46

Misleading text / adClicking by mistake

Extremely impulsive users

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47

Let’s say in 70-80% of times, users go to a page knowing / expecting a

certain outcome / content

Targeting people while they are reading a certain type of content is an extremely powerful way to reach interested people at the right time

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 61: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Targeting the Home Page

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 62: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Extremely diverse set of interestsYou cannot know what the user is

intending to do now

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Page 63: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

It’s a springboard to other more specific section pagesThe user is in a hyper mode

The user didn’t find what they want to consume yet

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- The article page is the most specific place that indicates users’ interest- This is when they release the mouse and start sipping their coffee- This when they are most receptive to information- You can advertise for something relevant

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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52

“Awareness”

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Page 66: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Do you know the iPad?

53

A. No, I don’t

B. Yes, I heard about itC. Yes, I played with it once at the

electronics shopD. Yes, I own one, and I’ve been

using it for two months

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Do you know website XYZ?

54

A. No, I don’t

B. Yes, I heard about itC. Yes, I visited it 2-3 timesD. Yes, I’m subscribed to their

newsletter and buy stuff every now and then

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Page 68: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Do you know Jordan?

55

A. No, I don’t

B. Yes, I heard about itC. Yes, I visited it 2-3 timesD. Yes, I’ve been living here 23 years

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 69: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Person D:

56

• Knows the most about the product• Is familiar with all the +ve and -ve

‘surprises’ it has• Can talk confidently about it• Is the authority about the brand• Is the brand’s ambassador (+ve or -ve)

Awareness of D = 10xC = 100xB = 1,000xA

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 70: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Awareness

57

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 71: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Awareness

57

• Cannot be treated as one thing

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Awareness

57

• Cannot be treated as one thing• Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal

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Awareness

57

• Cannot be treated as one thing• Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal• It makes sense to invest more in deeper

awareness (you get multiple rewards)

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Page 74: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Awareness

57

• Cannot be treated as one thing• Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal• It makes sense to invest more in deeper

awareness (you get multiple rewards)• Product purchase, sampling, experience

are way more effective for awareness than buying impressions

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 75: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Generate Awareness for New Pizza

58

Option 1:

Spend $50,000 on billboard campaign to “raise awareness”

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 76: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Generate Awareness for New Pizza

59

Option 2:

Reward loyal customers by sending them a free sample of the new pizza, whenever they want, without obligations, using the

same $50,000

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 77: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Option 2

60

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 78: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Option 2

60

•Utilize existing call center

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Option 2

60

•Utilize existing call center•Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Option 2

60

•Utilize existing call center•Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza•You give loyal customers a reason to love you

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Option 2

60

•Utilize existing call center•Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza•You give loyal customers a reason to love you•“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with it?” it’s optional...

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 82: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Option 2

60

•Utilize existing call center•Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza•You give loyal customers a reason to love you•“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with it?” it’s optional...•Give them the ability to gift the pizza to a friend if they want

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 83: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Option 2

60

•Utilize existing call center•Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza•You give loyal customers a reason to love you•“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with it?” it’s optional...•Give them the ability to gift the pizza to a friend if they want•Make them proud and happy members / ambassadors of your brand

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 84: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Media Evaluation

61

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Media Evaluation

61

Which one is the best?

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Media Evaluation Campaign Evaluation

62

Above average

Below average

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Media Evaluation Campaign Evaluation

62

Keep the good and stop the bad. Repeat

Above average

Below average

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Campaign Evaluation

63

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Campaign Evaluation

63

•Averages across the account are dangerous

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 90: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Campaign Evaluation

63

•Averages across the account are dangerous

•Go deeper to averages per campaign, ad version, ad size etc, and optimize accordingly

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Campaign Evaluation

63

•Averages across the account are dangerous

•Go deeper to averages per campaign, ad version, ad size etc, and optimize accordingly

•Keep guidelines in mind but decide based on results

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 92: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Ranking / “Top 10”

64

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 93: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

Ranking / “Top 10”

64

•How do you prioritize your campaigns, keywords, placements, countries, customers, etc?

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Ranking / “Top 10”

64

•How do you prioritize your campaigns, keywords, placements, countries, customers, etc? •Do you focus on the top 3, 5, 10, 25 ??

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 95: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

65

Campaign 1Campaign 1 Campaign 2Campaign 2 Campaign 3Campaign 3 Campaign 4Campaign 4Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions

bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 96: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

65

Campaign 1Campaign 1 Campaign 2Campaign 2 Campaign 3Campaign 3 Campaign 4Campaign 4Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions

bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162

•Where do you go from here?

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 97: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

66

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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66

•Plot your customers on a graph

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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66

•Plot your customers on a graph•Draw a line where the head ends and the tail begins

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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67

0

25000

50000

75000

100000

bbc.co.uk wikimapia.org kermalkom.com jordansun.com boxzik.org jothoor.com q8rashaqa.com 123people.com fkihbensalah.net

Wednesday, December 5, 12

Page 101: Online Marketing - Forward to Basics

67

0

25000

50000

75000

100000

bbc.co.uk wikimapia.org kermalkom.com jordansun.com boxzik.org jothoor.com q8rashaqa.com 123people.com fkihbensalah.net

•Campaign 1 plotted on a graph

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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68

Campaign Total Impressions

80% Top Campaigns Forming 80%

1 202,564 162,051.2 82 114,484 91,587.2 143 488,112 390,489.6 34 497,865 398,292 2 - 3

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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68

•Find out how many customers are responsible for 80% of results

Campaign Total Impressions

80% Top Campaigns Forming 80%

1 202,564 162,051.2 82 114,484 91,587.2 143 488,112 390,489.6 34 497,865 398,292 2 - 3

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Campaign 1Campaign 1 Campaign 2Campaign 2 Campaign 3Campaign 3 Campaign 4Campaign 4Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions

bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162

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Campaign 1Campaign 1 Campaign 2Campaign 2 Campaign 3Campaign 3 Campaign 4Campaign 4Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions

bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162

•Top sites for each campaign: 8, 14, 3, 3

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Search and Search Partners

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Search Partners

• Search engines using Google technology• Sites having a custom search powered by Google

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• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site

• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…

Content (Display) Network

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Content (Display) Network

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Types of Ads

• Text• Image• Display Ad Builder• Video• Mobile (web)• Mobile (call)

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Text Ads

• Headline: 25 characters• Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters• Display URL: 35 characters• Destination URL: 1,024 characters

–Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same

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Image Ads

Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf Sizes: 468 x 60 Banner 728 x 90 Leaderboard 250 x 250 Square 200 x 200 Small square 336 x 280 Large rectangle 300 x 250 Inline rectangle 120 x 600 Skyscraper 160 x 600 Wide skyscraper

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Display Ad Builder

• Customize your own ad online80

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• Automatic resizing for all available sizes

82

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Video Ads (Click to Play)

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Mobile Ads – Smart Phones

85

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WAP Text Ads

86

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WAP Image Ads

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Account Structure

• Campaigns• Ad groups• Ads • Keywords • Destination URLs• Bids

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AdWords Account Structure

Website1.com

Restaurants

Order Online

Great Deals from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza

Bids Destination URLs

Information

Concerts

Rock Concerts

Account

Campaigns

Ad Groups

Ads & Keywords

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Account

• One Google account

• Accessible / manageable by several accounts

• Different access levels•Admin

• Standard

•Read Only

• Email Only

90

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Campaign (Settings)

• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function–Language–Network(s)–Geography–Daily Budget–Device–Scheduling

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Language Targeting

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Language Targeting

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts

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Language Targeting

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)

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Language Targeting

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses

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Geographical Targeting

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Time of the Day / Day of the Week

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Campaign Best Practices

• Use a consistent naming convention–Make sure campaign name includes as many useful

parameters as possibleE.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display

• Separate search and content (display) • Separate PCs and mobiles

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Ad Groups

• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords

Keywords: used carsbuy used carsused cars for sale used car dealers

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Ad Group Best Practices

• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible

• Always test more than one ad• Make sure you have a good relevant landing

page(s) for each ad group

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Keyword Match Types

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of

characters is searched for

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of

characters is searched for

98

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of

characters is searched for

Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of

characters is searched for

Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’Exact string with other keywords before or after

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of

characters is searched for

Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee

beans

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Keyword Match Types

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Keyword Match Types

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stem

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

99

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

Broad match: coffee beans

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations, synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations, synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop

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Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you

don’t have

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Writing Effective Ads

Ads relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages

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Ads Relevant to Keywords

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Ads Relevant to Keywords

Each ad group should be focused on a topic

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Ads Relevant to Keywords

Each ad group should be focused on a topic

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Ads Relevant to Keywords

Each ad group should be focused on a topic

Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords

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Benefits

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BenefitsMain point of interest

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BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for the user

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BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for the userThey are what users care about

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BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for the userThey are what users care about

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BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for the userThey are what users care about

Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…

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Features

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Features

How your product helps me achieve the benefits

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Features

How your product helps me achieve the benefitsSpecific evidence about your product

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Features

How your product helps me achieve the benefitsSpecific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation

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Features

How your product helps me achieve the benefitsSpecific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation

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Features

How your product helps me achieve the benefitsSpecific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation

Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…

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Calls to Action

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Calls to Action

Leads user to a specific thing to do

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Calls to Action

Leads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the moment

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Calls to Action

Leads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users

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Calls to Action

Leads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users

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Calls to Action

Leads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users

Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…

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AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)

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AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)

TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match typeTime of day / Day of

week Search / search partnersContent: automatic and

managedDevicesDemographics

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AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)

TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match typeTime of day / Day of

week Search / search partnersContent: automatic and

managedDevicesDemographics

Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing

pages

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AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)

TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match typeTime of day / Day of

week Search / search partnersContent: automatic and

managedDevicesDemographics

Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing

pages

MeasurmentCTRCost per conversionAnalytics Post-click performance

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107

Thank You

Elias DabbasSlideshare.net/eliasdabbas

[email protected]+971 55 953 18 26

Wednesday, December 5, 12