online advertising - ayca turhan types of online advertising •search advertising ... wsi...

90
Online Advertising Ayça Turhan Hacettepe University Department Of Business Administration

Upload: hanhan

Post on 03-Apr-2018

218 views

Category:

Documents


4 download

TRANSCRIPT

Online Advertising

Ayça Turhan Hacettepe University

Department Of Business Administration

Online Advertising

• In simple terms, it is advertising on the internet. • It can be anywhere on internet and can consist of

images, text, videos, interactive elements, games, etc.

• Some examples: – Display Ads on websites – Ads on Search Engines – Ads on Social Networks

Online Advertising

• The main objectives of online advertising are: – to increase sales – improve brand awareness – raise share of voice in the marketplace

Online Advertising

Source: http://www.pwc.com/gx/en/global-entertainment-media-outlook/assets/2015/internet-advertising-key-insights-1-advertising-segment.pdf

Online Advertising

• The biggest strenght of online advertising is the fact that everything is measurable.

• “The Internet will transform advertising because of its trackability, not its beauty.”

-Eric Schmidt, Former CEO of Google

Track All Interactions

• Number of impressions • Number of unique users reached • Number of clicks • Post-click and view data • Much more...

Strenghts of Online Advertising

• In addition to tracking: – Possibility of instant sales and conversion – The power of targeting

• Geotargeting • Site specific targeting • Behavioral targeting • Demographic targeting • Retargeting

Different Types of Online Advertising

• Search Advertising • Display Advertising • Video Advertising • Social Media Advertising

Search Advertising

PAID PAID

ORGANIC

Display Advertising

Banners

Banners

• Some standart ad sizes: – 300x250 – 336x280 – 728x90 – 300x600 – etc.

728px

90px

Rich Media Banners

Video Advertising

Pre-Roll/Mid-Roll/Post-Roll

Video Rich Media – Extended Preroll

Social Media Advertising

Facebook Advertising

Facebook Advertising

Facebook Advertising

For Details Go To: https://www.facebook.com/business/learn/facebook-create-ad-basics/

Facebook Advertising

Twitter Advertising

Twitter Advertising

Twitter Advertising

Linkedin Ads

Linkedin Ads

Linkedin Ads

Key Terms

• Clickthrough Rate (CTR): Clicks/Impressions % • Conversion: A visitor completing a target action.

Key Terms Explained

• CTR: 5.473/100.000= 5.47%

• Conversion Rate: 675/5.473 = 12.33%

Ad gets 100.000 impressions and 5.473 clicks. Total number of orders

as a result of the ad is 675.

Payment Models for Digital Ads

• CPM: (Cost per mille - Cost per thousand impressions) – Payment when ad is seen. – The advertiser pays for every thousand times the

advert loads on the publisher’s page.

• CPC: Cost-per-Click – Payment when ad is clicked. – The advertiser pays only when their ad is clicked on.

CPM vs. CPC

• Assume that: – CPM price is $3.00 – CPC price is $0.05

• Two possibilities: – If we are paying in CPM;

• $3.00x100= $300

– If we are paying in CPC; • $0.05x5.473=$273.65

Ad gets 100.000 impressions and 5.473 clicks.

Payment Models for Digital Ads

• CPA: (Cost-per-action) – Payment when action is taken. – The advertiser pays only when a desired action is

achieved.

• Usually, CPM favours the publisher, while CPA favours the advertiser.

CPM vs. CPC vs. CPA • Assume that:

– CPM price is $3.00 – CPC price is $0.05 – CPA price is $1.00

• Three possibilities: – If we are paying in CPM;

• $3.00x100= $300.00 – If we are paying in CPC;

• $0.05x5.473=$273.65 – If we are paying in CPA;

• $1.00x675=$675.00

Ad gets 100.000 impressions and 5.473 clicks. Total number of orders

as a result of the ad is 675.

Key Terms

• Key performance indicator (KPI): A metric that shows whether an objective is being achieved.

• Return on investment(ROI): The ratio of profit to cost.

An Example

We are a company which is selling motorcycles on our website. We are running an online ad campaign.

Our KPI is number of orders.

An Example

Our ad was shown 10.000 times Our ad received 525 clicks

CTR 5.25%

Impressions 10.000

Clicks 525

An Example

Our site received 500 sessions as a result of ad clicks 5 session resulted in sales Conversion Rate 1%

Sessions 500

Conversions 5

An Example

CPC = $0.50 Sales Price of Motorcycle = $1.000 # Clicks = 525 # Sales = 5 ROI 1805%

Cost 262.5

Revenue 5000

Landing Page Optimization

• The primary goal of display advertising is to drive clicks back to your landing page or website so you can deliver your key brand messages and convert visitors to take specified actions leading towards a purchase.

Source: WSI (2013-07-31). Digital Minds: 12 Things Every Business Needs to Know About Digital Marketing (p. 80). FriesenPress. Kindle Edition.

Landing Page Optimization • A landing page is the page that greets your users, the

first page the user sees on your site. • Landing pages can be specific to a campaign being

run. • You can consider testing:

– Headline – Images – Calls-to-action – Text – Social Proof – Etc.

Another Example

Site A

Site B

Using URL Builder • The URL builder helps you add parameters to URLs

you use in custom web-based or email ad campaigns. • A custom campaign is any ad campaign not using the

AdWords auto-tagging feature. • When users click one of the custom links, the unique

parameters are sent to your Google Analytics account, so you can identify the URLs that are most effective in attracting users to your content.

• Go to: https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1033867?hl=en

Using URL Builder • Instead of:

– www.oursupercoolecommercesite.com/red-car • We must use:

– 2 different URLs for Site A: • www.oursupercoolecommercesite.com/red-

car/?utm_source=sitea&utm_medium=banner&utm_campaign=v1 • www.oursupercoolecommercesite.com/red-

car/?utm_source=sitea&utm_medium=banner&utm_campaign=v2 – 2 different URLs for Site B:

• www.oursupercoolecommercesite.com/red-car/?utm_source=siteb&utm_medium=banner&utm_campaign=v1

• www.oursupercoolecommercesite.com/red-car/?utm_source=siteb&utm_medium=banner&utm_campaign=v2

Site A

Site B

Sales price of car is $100.

Retargeting/Remarketing

• People who have already shown interest in your product or service are more valuable.

• In remarketing, when someone visits your site, a tracking cookie is placed in their browser.

• As they visit other sited supported by specific chosen advertising partners, your ad is shown to them.

Retargeting/Remarketing

• People who have already shown interest in your product or service are more valuable.

• In remarketing, when someone visits your site, a tracking cookie is placed in their browser.

• As they visit other sited supported by specific chosen advertising partners, your ad is shown to them.

Programmatic Advertising

• Programmatic advertising helps automate the decision-making process of media buying by targeting specific audiences and demographics.

• Programmatic ads are placed using artificial intelligence (AI) and real-time bidding (RTB) for online display, social media advertising, mobile and video campaigns, and is expanding to traditional TV advertising marketplaces.

Source: http://marketingland.com/library/display-advertising-news/display-advertising-programmatic-media-buying

Step-By-Step Guide • Determine the Goal of your campaign • Identify your key performance indicators (KPIs). • Investigate your target audience. • Research potential websites to host your adverts. • Set a budget. • Create your adverts. • Choose or create a landing page. • Run your adverts. • Track, measure, optimise.

Search Advertising

Ayça Turhan Hacettepe University

Department Of Business Administration

Search Advertising

• Search advertising, also called pay-per-click (PPC) advertising, is a way to advertise your business or product directly on search engine results pages, where the advertiser pays only for each click on their advert.

Extensions

https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/2375499?hl=en

Search Engine Advertising • People who are searching for something usually have

a specific intent – they are looking for information, guidance, comparisons, tools, or solutions to their problems.

• It’s important to understand why somebody would look for your brand or product – and what keywords they would use to find it – when crafting your search ads.

• Look at the considerations for choosing keywords that are covered in the Search Engine Optimisation chapter – these often overlap.

Gooogle Adwords

• Google’s online advertising platform is Google Adwords. (http://adwords.google.com)

• With Google AdWords, you can reach people as they search for words or phrases (which we call keywords) or browse websites with themes related to your business.

• Your ad can appear on Google and its partner websites. With cost-per-click (CPC) bidding, you're charged only when someone clicks your ad.

Targeting Options

• Keyword Targeting

Targeting Options • Location and Language Targeting Example: If you run a dog daycare center in San Francisco, California, you could add the keyword "doggie daycare," and "San Francisco and nearby cities," as the target location for your AdWords campaign. Then, when people in San Francisco type "doggie daycare" on Google, they could see your ad next to the search results.

https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/1704368?hl=en

Targeting Options

• Device Targeting – Show your ads to the right people across all devices,

based on their specific location, time of day, and device type.

• Audience targeting – Show your ads to people who have previously visited

your site by using remarketing lists for search ads(RLSA).

https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/1704368?hl=en

Remarketing Lists

What is Remarketing? – A feature that lets you reach people who have

previously visited your website. – Your ads can show to these customers when they visit

other websites in the Google Display Network or when they search on Google using your keywords.

https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/2701222

The Long Tail

The Long Tail

• Moz (a well known SEO blog) claims that 70% of searches on the web are unique.

• Discovering those low volume niche search terms can generate amazing results in SEM.

• Long tail keywords are generally cheaper and lead to higher rates of conversion.

How does Adwords Work?

• Adwords is an auction. • Adrank: A value that's used to determine your ad

position (where ads are shown on a page) and whether your ads will show at all.

• Ad Rank is calculated using: – Your bid amount – The components of Quality Score (expected clickthrough

rate, ad relevance, and landing page experience) – The expected impact of extensions and other ad formats

Source: https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/1752122?hl=en

How does Adwords Work?

• Even if your competition has higher bids than yours, you can still win a higher position at a lower price by using highly relevant keywords, ads, and extensions.

Structure of Ads

Structure of Ads

• Account: Our Cool Shoe Company Account • Campaign: Summer Sale • Ad Group 1: Sneakers • Ad Group 2: High Heel Shoes • Ad Group 3: Kids Shoes

The Elements of an Ad

The Elements of an Ad

• Headline: maximum of 25 characters • Ad Text Line 1: maximum of 35 characters • Ad Text Line 2: maximum of 35 characters • Display URL: maximum of 35 characters

Search Advertising

Testing

• Just like everything else in digital marketing, testing is vital in search engine marketing.

• Ex: Testing various calls-to-actions: – Summer sale on sneakers. Buy now! – Summer sale on sneakers. Choose yours now! – Summer sale on sneakers. Claim your offer now!

Testing

The Importance of Landing Page

• If you are targeting for keyword «buy canon eos 450d», the target url must be the page that the customer can buy that camera right away.

• It shouldn’t be your homepage. • It shouldn’t be the category page of cameras.

Conversion and CTR

Conversion and CTR

Planning and Setting Up a Search Campaign

• Market research & Analysis • Define your goals • Budget, cost per action (CPA) and targets • Keyword Research • Write the Adverts • Place your bids • Tracking • Measure, analyse, test, optimise!

Contact Me

• e-mail: [email protected] • Course Page: www.aycaturhan.com/man423

Sources

• emarketing: The Essential Guide To Marketing In a Digital World 5 Ed.» by Rob Stokes and and Minds of Quirk which is available at: http://www.quirk.biz/emarketingtextbook/