google adwords training 201
DESCRIPTION
The AdWords 201 course expands on the basics introduced in AdWords 101. Now that you know how AdWords works, we move on to how to develop your campaign for maximum performance. We spend more time on keyword list optimization and introduce additional tools, including the AdWords Editor. Attendees also learn how to diagnose the health of their campaigns, determine return on investment (ROI), and adjust bids. We then look at the possibilities available on the display network with contextual, placement and demographic targeting options. AdWords 201 attendees should have either attended AdWords 101, or have an equivalent level of knowledge. To get the most out of the course, it is important that you are already familiar with the basics of campaign creation, keyword match types, and creating ads. AdWords 101 and AdWords 201 are always offered on consecutive days so that you can continue and build on your learning. Taking both classes together is useful because one day is not enough to cover all of the tools and features of the system. AdWords 101 focuses on how the system works and how to set it up properly. The second day, AdWords 201, allows you to learn about fine-tuning campaigns, using additional tools and more advanced techniques.TRANSCRIPT
www.ivantage.co.uk www.ivantage.co.uk
Google AdWords 201 Building Profitable Paid Search Campaigns
1
Sharron Lonsdale Principal Paid Search Consultant & Account Manager
Slides: h@p://www.slideshare.net/ivantage
WIFI (for your own laptops):
ITTRH
welcome1
www.ivantage.co.uk
Ivantage training courses
Google AdWords Training § AdWords 101: IntroducHon to Paid Search Management § AdWords 201: Building Profitable Paid Search Campaigns § AdWords 301: Advanced OpHmisaHon Techniques § AdWords 302: Advanced Conversion OpHmisaHon
Google AnalyHcs Training § AnalyHcs 101: IntroducHon & User Training § AnalyHcs 201: Advanced Analysis & Measurement – 1 § AnalyHcs 201: Advanced Analysis & Measurement – 2 § AnalyHcs 301: Advanced Tracking & Technical ImplementaHons
2
www.ivantage.co.uk
Today’s Timing
§ Start 9:30 § Morning Break 11:15 – 11:30 § Lunch 12:45 – 13:45 § AUernoon Break 15:15 – 15:30 § Q&A 16:30 § Finish 17:00
§ Drinks § Lunch § Fire Exit
3
www.ivantage.co.uk
Session 1 – Developing keyword ideas, quality score, common problems
§ Understanding how people search § Refining and opHmising your keyword lists
§ Google suggesHve text § Google Trends § Search query reports
§ Understanding quality score and why it is important
§ Discover what influences quality score § How to self diagnose problems
§ Why can’t I see my ad? § Why is my quality score low? § Disapproved ads § Ads diagnosHc tool
§ Ad scheduling by Hme of day (day parHng)
4
www.ivantage.co.uk
Session 2 – How to use the Google Display network
§ The Google Display Network § Controlling the reach of your campaigns
§ Contextually targeted campaigns § Placement targeted campaigns § Using the AdWords Display Planner § Demographic targeHng
§ Exclusion opHons § Display ad builder
5
www.ivantage.co.uk
Session 3 – Saving you Hme with the AdWords Editor
§ Installing AdWords Editor § How to use AdWords Editor effecHvely
§ Maintaining your keywords § Bulk updated to ad copy § CreaHng new adgroups § Advanced bid changes
§ Checking for duplicate keywords
6
www.ivantage.co.uk
Session 4 – Dynamic keyword inserHon, ROI, budgets & compeHtors
§ Dynamic keyword inserHon § Understanding ROAS
§ Making the most of your available budget § Impression share reports
§ The OpportuniHes tab § Keeping an eye on the compeHHon § Managing mulHple accounts
§ CreaHng a managed client center account
§ Review acHon plan § Open Q&A § Feedback and wrap-‐up
7
www.ivantage.co.uk
IntroducHons
§ First § Me (Sharron Lonsdale) & ivantage overview
§ In a moment § You
§ Your role § Your business & website § Your experience of AdWords to date § Your objecHves for a@ending today § Any parHcular quesHons/issues you hope to resolve today § One search term that you would like your ads to appear for
8
www.ivantage.co.uk
Me – Sharron Lonsdale
9
§ Principal Paid Search Consultant at Red Apple Services § Too many years IT technical experience, 15 years Internet § Fully qualified Google AdWords Professional § An AdWords pracHHoner
www.ivantage.co.uk
IntroducHons – your turn
§ You § Your role § Your business & website § Your experience of AdWords to date § Your objecHves for a@ending today § Any parHcular quesHons/issues you hope to resolve today § One search term that you would like your ads to appear for
10
www.ivantage.co.uk
Understanding how people search
§ We all think differently § We all ask quesHons differently § This is reflected in the way we search
§ Imagine it is Mother’s Day and you want to send some flowers to your mother in Manchester
Manchester florist Flower delivery in Manchester
Flower delivery service Manchester Interflora Manchester Flowers for mothers day Where do I find a Manchester florist NaHonwide flower delivery
11
www.ivantage.co.uk
Understanding how people search
§ Search queries tend to fall into one of several categories § The product or service needed
§ Dining table § DenHst in …
§ The problem that needs to be solved § Slow computer
§ Burst water pipes
§ InformaHon needed (how, when, where, what, why) § What causes Hredness § Ideas for a dinner party
§ A product name or product part § MFC-‐620CN ink cartridge § Nike air max trainers
12
www.ivantage.co.uk
Understanding how people search
§ However people search, they have an expectaHon § They want an answer to their quesHon or to find the product § Your advert needs to be relevant to their current need
§ Catch their a@enHon § Say why you have the answer they are looking for § Whilst being honest and truthful
§ Clicking on your ad is like a customer walking through your shop door
§ The bonus is that you have an understanding of what they are looking for so you can take them straight to the best department
13
www.ivantage.co.uk
Searcher – adverHser – Google relaHonship
This is why “Relevance is King!”
14
The searcher wants to find what they are looking for as
easily as possible
AdverAsers want to display
relevant ads when someone is
looking for their products/service
Google wants the searcher to return and use Google for their next
search
www.ivantage.co.uk
Refining and opHmising your keyword lists
§ Keyword research is a conHnuous process § There are limitless combinaHons of search queries § Approx 20% of searches each day are new in last 3 months
§ Other Google tools available to help you § Google suggesHve text § Google Trends § Search query reports
15
www.ivantage.co.uk
Google suggesHve text
§ Start to type your keyword into Google
16
www.ivantage.co.uk
Google Trends
§ Compares search volume pa@erns across specific regions , categories, Hme frames and properHes
§ IdenHfy seasonal fluctuaHons to ensure campaigns have sufficient budgets during peak Hmes
§ Data from 2004 as well as a 12 month forecast § All data is relaHve not absolute values
§ A list of “rising searches”, idenHfies terms with significant growth
17
www.ivantage.co.uk
Google Trends -‐ example
18
www.ivantage.co.uk
Google Trends -‐ exercise
§ Search for “google trends” § Enter your main keywords for your target locaHon § See what underlying trends there are in traffic
§ Any rising keywords you need to consider adding to your campaigns?
§ Compare your brand name with your compeHtors
§ If you sell branded products compare the popularity of these brands § If you target mulHple countries compare your main keyword across
regions
19
www.ivantage.co.uk
Search query reports
§ These provides a goldmine of informaHon § IdenHfies the actual search query that resulted in an ad click § Broad and phrase match keywords will have triggered your ad for
many search queries § Run the report for all keywords or a specific keyword
§ Add relevant search queries to your keyword list § Add irrelevant keywords as negaHves
§ Make sure you also look at conversions
20
www.ivantage.co.uk
Search query reports
§ You can add keywords directly into your account § Keywords default to broad match § NegaHve keywords default to exact match
§ If the search query is more than 10 words or 80 characters, shorten it and add as phrase match
§ You can add negaHves to the adgroup or campaign
§ Found on the keywords tab under keyword details
21
www.ivantage.co.uk
Search query reports -‐ example
22
§ SQR report for the keyword +leather +wallets
www.ivantage.co.uk
Search query reports -‐ exercise
§ Change your Hme frame to all Hme § Sort keywords by impressions or clicks § Run the search query report for your main broad/phrase match
keywords § Add relevant keywords to your adgroup § Add irrelevant keywords as negaHves
§ Share some examples of broad matching
23
www.ivantage.co.uk
Understanding quality score
§ Quality score is an important factor in your account § It is Google’s measurement of relevance § It is dynamically refined each Hme a search matches with one of
your keywords § You can see your quality scores on the keywords tab § It is not displayed by default so enable this column
§ It is displayed as a whole number 1 – 10 1 – 4 disappoinHng, acHon is required 5 – 7 OK, room for improvement 8 – 10 great, this is your target
24
www.ivantage.co.uk
Why is quality score important?
§ Quality score affects the following: § It determines if your keyword is eligible to enter the aucHon § Keywords with a low quality score will oUen not enter the aucHon
even though eligible § It is used to determine the ad ranking (posiHon on the page)
§ It affects the actual amount you pay for a click
§ First page bid and top of page bid esHmates are also affected by quality score
25
www.ivantage.co.uk
What influences quality score?
§ Factors affecHng quality score § Keywords CTR, the higher the be@er (this is normalised by posiHon) § How relevant your keyword is to your ad copy § How relevant your keyword is to the search term § Historical CTR of all ads and keywords in the account § Landing page relevance § Landing page load Hmes § Geographic performance § Device performance § Other relevance factors
26
www.ivantage.co.uk
How to self diagnose problems
§ Why can’t I see my ad? § Why is my quality score low? § Disapproved ads
§ Ads diagnosHc tool
27
www.ivantage.co.uk
Why can’t I see my ads?
§ Several reasons why this might happen § A new ad may sHll be under review § Your campaign may have reached the daily budget
§ Hover over the speech bubble next to a keyword for this ad to find out more
28
www.ivantage.co.uk
Why is my quality score low & how to improve it
§ You may find it useful to create a filter to display all keywords with a quality score of 4 or less
§ IdenHfy those that have a poor CTR § Is the ad text relevant to the keyword? § Is the ad text compelling? § Write new ad copy
§ Is the ad being triggered by irrelevant searches? § Run search query reports and add negaHve keywords to prevent this
§ Are all the keywords in the adgroup closely related? § Split the keywords into 2 or more adgroups
§ If all else fails § Pause them
29
www.ivantage.co.uk
Disapproved ads
§ Alerts and emails are sent for disapproved ads
§ You can create a filter to see disapproved ads § Hover over the speech bubble to see why
§ Edit your ad and it will be reviewed again 30
www.ivantage.co.uk
Ads diagnosHc tool
§ Check on your ad without affecHng its performance § Searching will increase impressions without clicks
§ To check an ad use the ad diagnosHc tool § Allows you to simulate a search in another locaHon
§ Allows you to simulate results on a mobile device § Available from Tools or § Select keyword speech bubble
31
www.ivantage.co.uk
Ads diagnosHc tool
§ Preview the results with your sesngs
32
www.ivantage.co.uk
Ad scheduling
§ This is found in the campaign sesngs – ad schedule § Ad scheduling defaults to 24/7 § May want to only run ads during office hours or weekends only
§ You may want to adjust bids at different Hmes of the day § Use the dimension tab to run a report by
§ day of week § hour of day
33
www.ivantage.co.uk
Ad scheduling
§ Edit ad schedule to choose different Hme ranges § Select the days and hours for your campaign to run (or when you
want to adjust bids
34
www.ivantage.co.uk
Ad scheduling – bid adjustments
§ Adjust bids for different Hmes of the day
35
www.ivantage.co.uk
Ad scheduling -‐ exercise
§ Schedule your ads to run 8:00 am to midnight all days § Adjust bids +20% in the evenings and at weekends
36
www.ivantage.co.uk
Break Hme
§ 15 Mins
37
www.ivantage.co.uk
The Google Display Network
§ The Google Display network is made of millions of “placements” § Allows you to reach potenHal customers at different points of the
buying cycle
§ Its all about displaying your advert to your potenHal customer § e.g. If someone is reading an arHcle about eye health
§ Placements can be § Websites § Online games
§ Web feeds § Online video sites (e.g. youtube.com)
38
www.ivantage.co.uk
The Google Display Network
§ Relevant sites are found based on the themes in your keyword list § Placements can be used to target specific website § Audiences can be used to idenHfy users based on their interests
§ Start with search campaigns and then try display campaigns later
§ More ad formats are available than for search campaigns § Text § Image § Flash § Video
39
www.ivantage.co.uk
Display Network -‐ Text Ads
40
www.ivantage.co.uk
Display Network -‐ Image and Video Ad Formats
§ Choice of ad sizes § Online display ad builder tool with 200+ templates
41
www.ivantage.co.uk
Display Network -‐ Image and Video Ad Formats
42
www.ivantage.co.uk
Google Display Network Image Ads
43
www.ivantage.co.uk
Controlling Where on the Display Network
§ Recommend having separate search and display campaigns § When creaHng a new campaign select the Display network
44
www.ivantage.co.uk
Controlling Where on the Display Network
§ Keywords are always used for targeHng (if supplied) § Each adgroup then defines its own reach
§ You can add addiHonal criteria
45
www.ivantage.co.uk
SelecHng keywords for the Google Display Network
§ Create themed adgroups § Select keywords to describe the theme – no long tailing § All keywords are considered as broad match § Google will match your ads to pages and websites about this theme
§ You will see where ads appear as automaHc placements § Think outside the box – be creaHve
§ Selling nightwear you can target ‘hospital packing lists’ § Selling music fesHval Hckets you can target ‘rock music’, ’urban music’ § An adult educaHon center you can target ‘redundancy’
46
www.ivantage.co.uk
Contextually targeted campaigns
§ Create adgroups combining keyword themes and topics § If you sell a healthy snack bar
School lunch box adgroup Keywords ‘healthy snacks’ Topic ‘parenHng’
Walkers adgroup
Keywords ‘healthy snacks’ Topic ‘hiking and camping’
47
www.ivantage.co.uk
Placement targeted campaigns
§ Select specific placements where you want ads to appear § These placements are listed as managed placements
48
www.ivantage.co.uk
Create a display network campaign -‐ exercise
§ Create a display network campaign § Create an adgroup which uses keywords and topics
49
www.ivantage.co.uk
Placement performance
§ You can see the actual pages where ads were displayed § Add relevant URLs to your managed placement list § Exclude irrelevant placements
50
www.ivantage.co.uk
Find placements with the Display Planner
51
§ Use words or phrases to generate ideas § Enter any website to find ideas based on the content of the page § Used predefined categories to find keywords
www.ivantage.co.uk
Find placements with the Display Planner
§ Provides a list of possible placements for you to select
52
www.ivantage.co.uk
Create a display network campaign -‐ exercise
§ Use the placement tool to find some relevant sites to adverHse on § Create a second adgroup which targets these placements
53
www.ivantage.co.uk
Demographic targeHng
§ Allows you to reach people of a certain age or gender § Uses informaHon from the web or mobile app § Can greatly cut down your ad exposure
54
www.ivantage.co.uk
Demographic targeHng -‐ exercise
§ Update your adgroup to target men age 25-‐54
55
www.ivantage.co.uk
Exclusions
§ NegaHves are just as important for display campaigns as they are for search campaigns
§ However there are more to think about § NegaHve keywords § Excluded placements § Excluded topics
§ If you do not want your ads to appear on mobile apps you need to add the following negaHve placement § adsenseformobileapps.com
56
www.ivantage.co.uk
Display campaign exclusions -‐ exercise
§ Add some negaHve keywords to your contextual adgroup e.g. forums, jobs
§ Add some negaHve placements to your placement targeted adgroup e.g. adsenseformobileapps.com
57
www.ivantage.co.uk
Display Ad Builder
§ This tool allows you to easily create an image ad from a text ad § In a display campaign select a text ad § Select more acHons > Generate display ad
58
www.ivantage.co.uk
Display ad builder -‐ exercise
§ Create a display ad from a text ad you created earlier
59
www.ivantage.co.uk
Lunch
60
www.ivantage.co.uk
Installing AdWords editor
§ Download and Install the Adwords Editor § Search for “Adwords Editor”
§ Select results and follow instrucHons
61
www.ivantage.co.uk
What is the AdWords Editor
§ Free downloadable applicaHon for managing your accounts § Allows you keep working when you are offline § Use bulk ediHng tools to quickly make mulHple changes
§ Export and import files to share proposals or make changes to an account
§ View staHsHcs for all campaigns
§ Copy and move items between campaigns and adgroups § Find duplicate keywords
62
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor synchronising the data
§ First Hme you need to associate your AdWords account with AdWords Editor
§ Use the account manager
§ Enter credenHals and download all campaigns § As you make changes they are automaHcally saved locally § They will not go live unHl you post them
§ Each Hme you work in Editor, get the latest changes
63
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor view
64
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor navigaHon
§ Tree view navigaHon for campaigns and adgroups § Select the campaign or adgroup, which is then displayed in the
main window
§ The Type list allows you to change the data view. § Double click an item to pop-‐out a window. This allows you to use a
pop-‐out view of your keywords while you write an ad
§ Each item window shows the number of items for your view or search
65
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor navigaHon
§ Columns can be customised on each view (down arrow) § Column widths can be changed § Use drag and drop to rearrange columns
§ Visual cues show what has changed § + added item § -‐ deleted item § ∆ edited item
66
www.ivantage.co.uk
Add new keywords
§ You can add an individual keyword § You can import keywords in bulk § Navigate to the keywords view, make mulHple changes
§ Allows you to paste large amounts of data from a spreadsheet § Include keyword match types and bids or edit in bulk aUerwards
67
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor add new keywords -‐ exercise
§ Add an individual keyword to your adgroup § Bulk add several keywords to your adgroup and change the match
type
68
www.ivantage.co.uk
Appending text to keywords
§ You can append text to keywords § Many customers append a locaHon onto their search term § Select your keywords and enter the text to add
§ Ensure that you choose to duplicate keywords and add to duplicates
69
www.ivantage.co.uk
Appending text to desHnaHon urls
§ You can append text to desHnaHon URLs § Many customers use tracking parameters for internal systems § Select your desHnaHon URLs and enter the text to add
70
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor append funcHon -‐ exercise
§ Add new keywords with an append/prepend value e.g. buy, london, luxury
71
www.ivantage.co.uk
Create new ads
§ You can add an individual advert § You can copy an exisHng ad and then make changes to the copied
version
72
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor add new ads -‐ exercise
§ Create a new advert in your adgroup § Copy an exisHng ad and then make changes to this new ad
73
www.ivantage.co.uk
Bulk update ad text
§ Image you have 100’s of adverts promoHng your 25% off sale § Now your sale has changed to 33% -‐ don’t panic! § Select account level
§ Select the ads view § Select all ads (edit > select all, or Ctrl A) § Select replace text § Replace 25% with 33%
§ Ensure the scope of the change is correct
74
www.ivantage.co.uk
Create new adgroups based on exisHng adgroup
§ You can copy an adgroup § All keywords, ads etc. are also copied § Use replace text to update your keywords
§ Update your ad copy and desHnaHon URLs § Useful for replicaHng by colour, size, locaHon, model number
75
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor copy adgroups -‐ exercise
§ Copy an exisHng adgroup § Use the replace text to update the keywords to the new adgroup
theme
§ Update your ads and desHnaHon URL
76
www.ivantage.co.uk
Download performance staHsHcs
§ All online performance metrics can be downloaded § Pre-‐defined date ranges or custom range § These will not include today’s data
77
www.ivantage.co.uk
Advanced bid changes
§ You may want to increase the bid of all keywords below posiHon 6 to improve their page posiHon
§ Sort by average posiHon (add column if not displayed)
§ Select all keywords lower than 6 § Select advanced bid changes § Increase bids by an amount or %
§ Use constraints if required
78
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor advanced bid changes -‐ exercise
§ Select some keywords and increase their bids by 15% § Select all keywords and increase to their first page bid esHmates § Select keywords which you feel are highly relevant and raise bids
to their top of page esHmate
79
www.ivantage.co.uk
Checking for duplicate keywords
§ AdWords Editor lets you check for duplicate keywords in your account
§ This is not available in the online system
§ Available from tools menu § Ensure you select compeHng campaigns § Pause the duplicate keywords
80
www.ivantage.co.uk
AdWords Editor duplicate keywords -‐ exercise
§ Run the duplicate keyword check and pause keywords as required
81
www.ivantage.co.uk
Break Hme
§ 15 Mins
82
www.ivantage.co.uk
Dynamic keyword inserHon
§ Allows Adwords to insert the keyword that triggered your ad into the ad text
§ Can make the ad appear more relevant § Search terms are displayed in bold
§ Works best with exact match keywords § OUen improves the CTR of your ad, which can reduce your CPC § If the triggered keyword cannot be inserted, the default text is displayed
§ More than allowed number of characters § Misspelled keywords
§ Trademarked term
§ Can be used in any part of the ad text § Check how each keyword would look!!
83
www.ivantage.co.uk
Dynamic keyword inserHon -‐ syntax
{KeyWord:The Default Text}
84
www.ivantage.co.uk
Examples of keyword inserHon
If the keyword that triggers the ad is kids vitamins
85
If the keyword that triggers the ad is vitamins for kids
If the keyword that triggers the ad is toddler mulHvitamins
www.ivantage.co.uk
Using the Keyword InserHon Tag
§ {KeyWord:Default Text}
keyword -‐ no capitalisaHon, all inserted words(s) are in lower case
Keyword -‐ The first le@er of the first word is capitalised KeyWord -‐ The First Le@er Of Every Word Is Capitalised KEYWord -‐ EVERY Le@er In The First Word Is Capitalised And The
First Le@er Of Every Other Word
KeyWORD -‐ The FIRST LETTER OF THE FIRST WORD AND EVERY OTHER WORD
KEYWORD -‐ The First Le@er Of Every Word Is Capitalised
86
www.ivantage.co.uk
Dynamic keyword inserHon -‐ exercise
§ Create a new ad in one of your adgroups using dynamic keyword inserHon
§ Monitor the performance of this ad versus the staHc ad
87
www.ivantage.co.uk
Understanding ROAS
§ Return on Ad Spend-‐ ROAS § ROAS is the raHo of your revenue to your cost § It shows the real affect your adverHsing has on your business
§ You can use ROAS to decide how to allocate your budgets
ROAS = revenue/ cost
If £100 click cost generates £350 revenue ROAS = 350 / 100 = 350%
88
www.ivantage.co.uk
Measuring ROAS in AdWords
§ In AdWords if tracking conversions we can view conversion data
§ Cost £543.38 § Revenue £2,732.80
§ Conversion value / cost 5.0 (= 500% ROAS) 89
www.ivantage.co.uk
Measuring ROAS in AnalyHcs
§ In Google AnalyHcs we can also see the associated ROAS § AcquisiHon > AdWords > Campaigns (Clicks view)
90
www.ivantage.co.uk
Making the most of your available budget
§ Now we know which campaigns/adgroups are giving the best return
§ How can we ensure that the be@er performing areas are running to their potenHal?
§ Would the campaigns be able to spend more budget?
91
www.ivantage.co.uk
Using impression share and ROI to reallocate budgets
§ In AdWords view impression share data § You will need to select columns from the compeHHve metrics set
92
www.ivantage.co.uk
The opportuniHes tab for more ideas
§ Google suggesHons on addiHonal keywords and bids § Take care, this tool thinks broad
93
www.ivantage.co.uk
The opportuniHes tab
§ Check suggesHons carefully § You can view the ideas then apply them
94
www.ivantage.co.uk
Keeping an eye on the compeHHon
§ AucHon insights (on keywords tab) § Allows comparison of individual keyword performance with your compeHtors
95
www.ivantage.co.uk
Managing mulHple AdWords accounts
§ My Client Center (MCC) handles mulHple AdWords accounts from one login
§ Originally designed for client managers and agencies
§ Like an “umbrella” account with mulHple AdWords accounts linked into it
§ IniHal dashboard view of all account
§ Owners of the original account have to grant access § You cannot use a login that is already associated with an AdWords
account
§ An MCC account is not an upgrade of an exisHng account § Create a new Google account and sign up for an MCC account
96
www.ivantage.co.uk
My Client Centre dashboard
§ Click on an account name to select it § You need the client id of any accounts you want to link to
97
www.ivantage.co.uk
AcHon Plan – Extending your search campaigns
§ Explore new keyword ideas using § Google suggesHve texts § Google Trends
§ Run regular search query reports
§ Schedule SQR reports monthly and acHon them! § All keywords idenHfied are ideas for a posiHve or a negaHve keyword § Use these ideas to long tail exisHng adgroups or idenHfy new
adgroups to create § Monitor your quality scores (no history available) § Monitor performance by day and hour to see if day parHng will help
§ Add sitelinks to all search campaigns § Add call extensions to search campaigns, if appropriate
98
www.ivantage.co.uk
AcHon Plan – Build display network campaigns
§ Brain storm ideas for where your customers can be found § IdenHfy themes to target these customers § Find relevant sites using the placement planner
§ Plan out your campaign structure and targeHng § Plan your adgroups and ad copy § Regularly run the placement report to see where ads are appearing § Schedule placement reports monthly and acHon them!
§ Add poor placements as negaHves § If poor placements have a common theme try and exclude them
through topic exclusions
99
www.ivantage.co.uk
AcHon Plan – Monitoring performance
§ Download the AdWords Editor § PracHce using it – it will make your life easier! § AUer major updates or once a month, check for duplicate keywords
§ Monitor impression share and conversions to adjust budgets between campaigns to maximise your return
§ Keep an eye on what your compeHHon is doing
§ If you have mulHple AdWords accounts, create an MCC account
100
www.ivantage.co.uk
Open Q&A
101
www.ivantage.co.uk
Help
§ AdWords Help Centre h@ps://support.google.com/adwords
§ Learn with Google h@p://www.google.com/ads/learn/
§ Group and Blogs h@p://adwords.blogspot.com
§ Books § Google AdWords: Managing your adverHsing program by Anastasia Holdren
§ Advanced Google AdWords by Brad Geddes
§ ivantage [email protected]
102
www.ivantage.co.uk
Red Apple Services
§ Google AdWords Account Audit § A report detailing status of account and prioriHsed recommendaHons § Telephone conference call to go through the report
§ Google AdWords Account Management
www.redappleservices.co.uk
103
www.ivantage.co.uk
Please help us to improve -‐ feedback
§ www.ivantage.co.uk/feedback § Course compleHon cerHficates will be sent to you § Write an honest, considered and fair review to receive for each day
a@ended:
§ [email protected] 104
www.ivantage.co.uk
105
End of Presentation