COUPON
Global Digital Audience ReportJuly to September 2013
Global Digital Audience Report 2
Global marketers now have an unprecedented opportunity to reach across channels to engage in meaningful conversations with consumers moving from device to device, shifting formats and media. A recent Forrester study reveals that 90% of adults use three different device combinations to complete one simple task, such as booking a restaurant table or buying a pair of pants. And the increased time consumers spend watching videos and spending time on social networks is being noticed by marketers and matched with ad spending from New York to London, from Sao Paulo to Tokyo. In 2013, we see brands ramping up quickly to keep pace with ever-moving consumers, following them across mobile, video, display, and social media. That’s why the “rise of the cross-channel brand” is the perfect theme for our latest report.*
Earlier this year, we introduced the Digital Elite, a high-income group of consumers that represent the top 2% of the online audience and attract more advertising spending than any other group. That audience exhibits the most cross-channel behavior of any segment worldwide. Now we’re flipping the script and taking the marketer’s perspective to look into how quickly brands are launching cross-channel strategies, what types of advertisers are seeing the greatest ROI from going cross-channel, and the real impact these campaigns have on consumer engagement.
What these best-in-breed global advertisers all have in common is an “audience first” marketing strategy. They use data and analytics from a technology platform such as Turn’s to find their most valuable audience and target them on the right device and the right channel, at the right time, with the right message. The key questions for marketers: What combination of insights and technology can you use to get the right message to a media-agnostic consumer? What can you learn from best practices gleaned by analyzing the rise of cross-channel brands?
This report showcases insights we’ve gained from the most recent quarter, July to September 2013. We dive deep into the data pertaining to the rise of the cross-channel brands to provide actionable data. Our goal is to help advertisers follow their example and lead data-driven, audience-first strategies across every media channel, format, and device. We also include core global trends in eCPM pricing and formats to provide a snapshot of market forces and the media spending landscape.
Key insights for the quarter include:
• There’s been a 137% increase in brands going multichannel in 2013.
• Advertisers who move from a single channel to two or more channels see an average 3x improvement in ROI.
• Display ad eCPM grew 5% during the quarter, while mobile and online video eCPM were essentially unchanged.
What these best-in-breed global advertisers all have in common is an “audience first” marketing strategy. They use data and analytics from a technology platform such as Turn’s to find their most valuable audience and target them on the right device and the right channel, at the right time, with the right message.
The Turn Digital Audience Report | July to September 2013
The Rise of the Cross-Channel Brand
*Download last quarter’s Global Digital Audience Report at www.turn.com/proof/#digitalaudiencereport
The Rise of the Cross-Channel BrandTurn data shows an explosion in cross-channel ad strategies in 2013. The drive for ROI is sparking marketers to think “audience first” and create strategies that target and engage consumers when and where they’re most receptive.
Best-Performing Brands, January to September 2013 How Cross-Channel Drives ROI
Consumers who see ads in multiple channels convert 24% more often than those who see them in one channel.
137% INCREASE
500% INCREASE
3xINCREASE
in advertising ROI for brands moving from single to multiple channels (average).
in the number of brands advertising across multiple digital channels this year.
Campaigns across multiple channels—mobile, display, social, video—delivered the highest ROI for these brands in the US, EU, Latin America, and APAC.
in brands that advertised in all four digital channels.
Global Broadcaster
Major Retailer
CPGBrand
Automaker GlobalTelcom
FinancialServices
Insurance TechBrand
3600%
3300%
3000%
2700%
2400%
2100%
1800%
1500%
1200%
900%
600%
300%
0%
3100%
1700%
1100%
580% 580% 540% 460% 300%
ROI = KPI Goal / Actual KPIFor example, a campaign with a goal of $10 eCPA that comes in at $5 eCPA has ROI of 200% ($10/$5=2).
24%
Global Digital Audience Report 3
Global Digital Audience Report 4
Q3 Global Ad Format TrendsReaching Relevant Audiences Across Online Channels
Ad Format Trends
• Display advertising has been consistent with larger formats attracting interest in Q3 2013.
• More mobile in-app inventory is becoming available, and higher-converting mobile formats are attracting ad dollars.
• Video advertising is moving more into standardized high-performing formats such as 15-second pre-roll, which is optimal for leveraging brand video assets.
Display
Mobile
Video
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
30%
35%
40%
45%
Perc
ent o
f Tot
al Im
pres
sion
s
Ad format
120x600 160x600 180x150 300x250 300x600 468x60 728x90 Other
38.5%39.8%
16.8%39.8%
40.4%39.8%
.85%39.8% 1.17%39.8%.1%39.8%1.6%39.8%.58%39.8%
0%10%20%30%40%50%60%70%80%90%
100%
Perc
ent o
f Tot
al Im
pres
sion
s Ad format
300x50 300x250 728x90320x50
7.9%
82%
9.5%.6%
0%5%
10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%
Perc
ent o
f Tot
al Im
pres
sion
s Ad format
30-second pre-roll companion30-second pre-roll15-second pre-roll
13.2%
48%
15-second pre-roll companion
34.1%
4.7%
Global Digital Audience Report 5
Q3 Global Ad Spend TrendsWorldwide eCPM Averages Across Display, Mobile, Social, and Video Channels
$0
$1
$2
$3
$4
$5
$6
$7
$8
$9
$10
eCPM
July August SeptembereCPM by Month — US, EU, Latin America, and APAC
$11
$12
Display Mobile Video
InsightsDisplay ad eCPM continued to climb, moving from $1.22 in Q2 to $1.28 in Q3. Global impression volume is stable, but the summer lull has given way to amped-up back-to-school/holiday media buys starting at the end of September.
Mobile eCPM increased marginally from $1.01 in Q2 to $1.02 in Q3. An increase in impressions available is keeping pace with revved-up demand, with more dollars moving to digital and mobile.
While pricing increased July through September, online video eCPM remained essentially unchanged this quarter dropping marginally from $11.03 in Q2 to $10.97 in Q3, with volume staying consistent.
.54%Video
4.9% Display
.9%Mobile
Global Digital Audience Report 6
$0.1
0
$0.3
0
$0.4
0
$0.2
0
$0.5
0
$0.6
0
$0.7
0
$0.8
0
$0.9
0
$1.0
0
$1.1
0
$1.2
0
$1.3
0
$1.4
0
$1.5
0
$1.6
0
$1.7
0
$1.8
0
$1.9
0
$2.0
0
$2.1
0
$2.2
0
$2.3
0
$2.4
0
$2.5
0
$2.6
0
$2.7
0
$2.8
0
$2.9
0
Perc
ent o
f Tot
al Im
pres
sion
s
10%
20%
0%
$0.1
0
$0.2
0
$0.3
0
$0.4
0
$0.5
0
$0.6
0
$0.7
0
$0.8
0
$0.9
0
$1.0
0
$1.1
0
$1.2
0
$1.3
0
$1.4
0
$1.5
0
$1.6
0
Perc
ent o
f Tot
al Im
pres
sion
s
10%
15%
5%
0%
Price Bucket (bin) Price Bucket (bin)
<$0.
50
$0.5
0
$1.0
0
$1.5
0
$2.0
0
$2.5
0
$3.0
0
$3.5
0
$4.0
0
$4.5
0
$5.0
0
$5.5
0
$6.0
0
$6.5
0
$7.0
0
$7.5
0
$8.0
0
$8.5
0
$9.0
0
$9.5
0
$10.
00
$10.
50
$11.
00
$11.
50
$12.
00
$12.
50
$13.
00
$13.
50
$14.
00
$14.
50
$15.
00
Perc
ent o
f Tot
al Im
pres
sion
s
10%
15%
5%
0%
Price Bucket (bin)
Q3 Global Ad Spend TrendsWorldwide eCPM for Display, Mobile, Social, and Video Channels
Video: 60.3% of impressions are in the $8 – $12 range.
Display: 53% of impressions are in the $0.10 – $0.80 range. Mobile: 60.6% of impressions are in the $0.10 – $1.00 range.
Turn delivers real-time insights that transform the way leading advertising agencies and marketers make decisions. Our cloud applications and Internet-scale architecture work together to provide a complete yet anonymous picture of customers, execute cross-channel campaigns, and connect with a worldwide ecosystem of more than 100 partners.
Every day, the Turn Cloud Marketing Platform makes nearly 100 billion advertising decisions and analyzes more than 1.5 billion customer attributes. Our robust architecture provides instant access—responding within 10 milliseconds—to over 2 trillion display, mobile, social, and video advertising impressions every month.
Data for this Global Digital Audience Report is based on activity on the Turn platform from July to September 2013. Audience characteristics are based on data from Turn inventory partners (www.turn.com/inventory-partners). Special thanks to Max Knight, Turn Director of Professional Services, for the analytics that yielded the insights in this report.
Turn is headquartered in Silicon Valley and provides its platform, products, and services worldwide.
Visit www.turn.com. Follow us @turnplatform.
For more information:AmericasQuynh [email protected]
EuropeHelen [email protected]+44.20.7255.5665
Asia-PacificRita [email protected]+852.6087.4576
For press inquiriesJonathan [email protected]
© 2013 Turn Inc. All rights reserved. Turn and the Turn logo are registered trademarks of Turn Inc. Other trademarks are trademarks of their respective companies. All services are subject to change or discontinuance without notice. This document is general in nature and is not meant to be a comprehensive review. Turn makes no guarantee about the accuracy or completeness of the content in this document, and Turn expressly disclaims any responsibility for any errors, omissions, or inaccuracies herein. October 2013
About Turn