Download - e Advertising
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
1/43
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
Internet is fast emerging as a powerful medium of advertising in the
new millennium. With the number of Internet users increasing manifold, the
new medium is viewed as the advertiser's dream. The Internet is the fastest
growing medium in the 2000’s with millions of users and an average
estimated growth of 124% annually.
Internet advertising is becoming a part of some companies
marketing strategy- however it requires new strategies and thinking. The
benefits of Internet advertising is its ability to cover people from different
geographical area with varied tastes and preferences.
This study isdescriptive study and the sampling technique here
used isconvenience sampling. The sample size is 100 selected from the
population of Delhi NCR. The data is collected with the help of
structured questionnaire, which includes open end and close-ended
questions. Here the Hypothesis Testing is done with the help of the Chisquare
test, this is to test the relation ship between the two attributes.
Here the attributes are Features and Effectiveness of Online
Advertisement.
The next step in the research process is Analysis and
Interpretation of the Data collected from the respondents. This Analysis
and Interpretation is done with the help of Graphs and Tabulation, They
are prepared with the help of MS Excel software
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
2/43
With the help of Analysis and interpretation the findings are drawn
which includes whether consumers are aware of online advertisement, do
online advertisement effect their purchase behaviour.
With the critical Analysis and Interpretation the Suggestion’s are drawnon how to improve Online Advertisement in order to attract much of the
viewership and to increase the purchasing efficiency and also to improve the
methods of online advertisement.
Finally a conclusion, where the briefing and the topic aspects is been
given with few suggestions, finally concludes the Project Report.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
3/43
THEORETICAL BACKGROUND
Marketing is more than just distributing goods from the manufacturer to
the final customer. It comprises all the stages from creation of the product and
the after- market, which follows the eventual sales, advertising plays a very
important role in this process.
The product or service itself, its meaning, packaging, pricing and
distribution, are all reflected in advertising, which has been called the lifeblood
of an Organisation. Without advertising, the products or services cannot flow
to the distributor or sellers end on to the consumer of or userThe need for
advertising developed with the expansion of population
and the flow of towns with their shops and large stores, mass production in
factories, infrastructure to deliver goods & services and increasing level
education. Advertising grew with the development of media, such as the
coffeehouse, newspapers and the arrival of advertising agencies.
Defnition: - The institution of practitioners in advertising defines "advertising
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
4/43
presents the most persuasive possible selling message to the right prospects
for the product or service have the lowest possible cost".
What is Online Advertising
On line advertising is similar to other forms of communication except for one
critical difference that is Internet. Consumer behaviour follows a model
radically different from traditional advertising media. This model can be
explained as the progression 'Awareness - Interest - Desire - Action'. All these
activities occur simultaneously in Internet advertising. Online advertising
entails, placing of electronic messages on a web site or email platform which
achieves the following purposeı
Generates awareness for the brand.
ı Stimulates interest /preference for a product or service.
ı Provides the means to contact the advertiser for information or
to make a purchase
History o Internet Advertising
Advertising has faithfully served the print industry for 200 years, and was
applied to the Internet with every expectation of success. Web advertising
began with Center and Siegegl’s in famous Green Card Lottery message on
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
5/43
the Usenet site in April 1994 and was followed in October by advertising
placements for AT&T, MCI, Sprint, and Volvo on Hot-wired and finally the
idea caught on. The Advertisement grew in sophistication, and today there
are Static, rotating, scrolling, animated, flash and interstitial banner ads al
which are designed to generate traffic, increase brand awareness and
generate leads and sales.
Internet companies were founded on advertising revenues, and for some
years the companies prospered.
Rate depended on: -
i. The Type of advertisement.
ii. Where it appeared on the WebPages.
iii. How it integrated with content.
iv. How well it matched the advertiser’s target audience
Online advertising has to oer:
1. Scalability - Like television commercials, it doesn't cost very much to
increase the reach of an online ad campaign. There is no need to print
additional copies of a magazine, or to create and mail
direct-mail pieces.
2.Hot demograhics - The online community is more affluent, better
educated, and younger and more willing to spend than the population at
large. More and more people go online and the number is ever increasing.
3.!argeted messages - Unlike broadcast and print media, the Internet
allows advertisers to target exactly who will see their ads, and in what
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
6/43
context. Web publications serve every conceivable audience, from the massmarket
obscure niche groups. Beyond that, the technology leads target
customers by their computing platform (PCs or Macintoshes), Web browser
(specific versions of Netscape Navigator or Microsoft Internet Explorer),
domain type (. com, .edu, .gov, .mil, or .net) or individual domains (America
Online, IBM, Prodigy).
4."road and #e$ible reach - While the Net
"road and #e$ible reach- While the Net cannot yet match
television's market penetration, the size of the online audience is growing very
quickly. More importantly, because you buy online ads by the impression, you
can buy as much or as little of that audience as you desire. And that's true no
matter how popular or specialized the site on which your ads run- as a rule,
advertising costs depend on how many impressions you buy, not on the size
of a site's audience.
5.%ost-eective - Partly because you pay only for exactly what
you're getting, online advertising can be extremely competitive with other
forms of advertising. If you buy 1,000 ad impressions, for example, you know
that exactly 1,000 people will see your ad
6.Detailed trac&ing and meas'rement - Compared to online
advertising, traditional media advertising is like shooting in the dark. The Web
allows advertisers to gather detailed information on who saw an ad,
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
7/43
when, in what context, how many times and so on. Better still; you get this
information instantly, not weeks later when it's too late to adjust your
campaign. Of course, not every site currently provides this level of feedback,
and not every advertiser knows what to do with it. Over a
period of time, however, this is likely to become one of Web advertising's
most important competitive advantages
7.!he ability to e$tend the transaction- Traditionally, advertising
was a one-way mechanism. Apart from techniques like toll-free numberspitched in infomercials and mail-in coupons in print publications, there was no
way for customers to act on the information in the ad. On the Web, though,
interested customers can click, learn more, and actually buy on the spot.
There's simply nothing more powerful.
8.(ood %reativity - Creative Design of Home page is very important
for the surfer to get hooked on to the site. Within seconds the user should get
an idea about the site and where to go within it. If the opportunity is missed
the user man.
Hence %ontent is )ing Content is the most important element of a
site. Content rich Web pages lure users. The value on the web is information.
The beauty and challenge of the Web is that it gives the user, the ability to
personalize non-static information and choose exactly what she sees.y never
return
Unlike commercials or print ads, a Web ad banner is only the
beginning of the process. While your banner may present only your branding
message, interested prospects can always click on it to go directly to your
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
8/43
Web site. Once there, they can access as much material on your company
and products aUnlike commercials or print ads, a Web ad banner is only the
beginning of the process. While your banner may present only your branding
message, interested prospects can always click on it to go directly to your
Web site. Once there, they can access as much material on your company
and products as you care to present.
Graphics & the visual elements also play an important role in the users
decision to stay or leave. Use of creative concepts, colors, movement &
sound enhance the chances of the user staying longer on the site.
In addition to all this the creators of web sites & on line advertising
must take into consideration the factors like
a) How fast does the site download,
b) How easily navigable the site is,
c) What is the domain name,
d) What are the other publicity & advertising activities which building
traffic to the site?
If all such parameters are considered while selecting the web sites for
online advertising, the impact of such advertising will definitely be felt. Online
advertising is one medium, which helps to generate awareness about the
brand being advertised, it can help in creating an image, it helps in educating
the audience and also builds interactivity & direct response. No other
traditionaWe are still at the experimental stage but many clients have already
started allocating a budget towards online advertising & web is being
considered not only as an advertising medium but also as a marketing tool.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
9/43
Hence online advertising, though slow to take off, will definitely be a medium
of the future.
14l mediumWe are still at the experimental stage but many clients have already
started allocating a budget towards online advertising & web is being
considered not only as an advertising medium but also as a marketing tool.
Hence online advertising, though slow to take off, will definitely be a medium
of the future.
INTERNET INDUSTRY IN INDIA – A SNAP SHOT
ISP Licenses issued 600
ISP Licenses surrendered 198
Existing ISP Licensing 450
Operational ISP’s 250
Cities covered 400 approx.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
10/43
Cyber cafés/Public access kiosks 12200 approx.
Internet subscribers 4.2 million
Operational international gateways 65 approx.
Estimated Employment Provided 1,150,000
Total investment made on ISP Rs.6000 crore
Estimated investment made on
Equipments by ISP
Rs.2500 crore
Approval for setting up ISP 100+
ITSP licensing issued 100
(ro*th o Internet S'bscriber "ase in India
+onth ,ear S'bscriber base in
millions
Aug-95 0.01
Mar-96 0.05
Mar-97 0.09
Mar-98 0.14
Mar-99 0.28
Mar-00 0.9
Mar-01 3
Mar-02 3.2
Mar-03 4
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
11/43
Mar-04 4.2
Mar-05 7.2
Advantages o Online Advertisement1. !arget +ar&eting: - A major advantage of the web is the ability
to
target very specific groups of individuals with a minimum of waste
coverage.
In the consumer market. Through personalization and other targeting
techniques, sites are becoming more tailored to meet once need and
want.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
12/43
2. +essage !ailoring: - As a result of precise targeting,
messages
can be designed to appeal to the specific needs and wants of the
target audience. The interactive capability of the net makes it possible
to carry on one-to-one marketing with increased success in both the
business and the consume markets.
3. Interactive %aabilities: - The interactive nature of the web
leads
to a degree of customer involvement. Site visitors are already
interested enough in the company and or products to visit.
4. Inormation access: - Perhaps the greatest advantage of the
Internet is its availability as an information source. Internet users can
find a plethora of information about almost any topic of merely by
conducting search through one of the search engines. Once they have
visited a particular site, uses can garner a wealth of information
regarding product specification, costs, purchase information, and so
on. Links will direct them to even more information if it is desired.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
13/43
5. %reativity: - Creatively design sites can enhance company's
image
leading to repeat visits, and positively position the company or
organisation in the consumer's mind.
6./$os're: - For many seller companies with limited budget the
www (world wide web) enables them to gain exposure to potentialcustomers that heretofore would have been impossible. For a function
of the investment that would be required using traditional media,
companies can gain national and even international exposure in a
timely manner.
7. Seed: - For those requiring information on a company, its
products, and /or its service offerings, the Internet is the quickest
means of
acquiring this information.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
14/43
Disadvantages o Internet
1.+eas'rement roblem: - One the greatest disadvantage of
the net is the lack of reliability of the research numbers generate. A
Quick review of forecasts, audience profiles, and other statistics
offered by research providers will demonstrate a great deal of variance
leading to a serious lack of validity and reliability. One of the industry's
largest and most sited trade publication has written an expose of a
heavily sited Internet research company, referring to the number it
provides as "scary" feathers have stressed concern over the fact that
most sites figures or not audited, which mainly to rampant cheating in
the respect of the number reported.
2.A'dience characteristic: - Due imparts to the accelerating
growth of the net, audience characteristic change quickly. Numbers
reported may be completed quickly and are often vary from one
provided to the next.
3.Web Snarl: - At times, downloading information from the net
takes a
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
15/43
long time. When there are a number of users, the time increasing and
some Sites may be inaccessible due to too many visitors. For many
users who expect speed, this is a major disadvantage.
4.%osts: - The cost of doing business on the MAT continues to
increase. While it is possible to establish a site in expensively,
establishing a good side and maintaining it is becoming more and
more costly. As noted earlier , Levi’s for the cost of maintaining a site is
considered "world- Class " was prohibitive and one of the reason for
abandoning its E-commerce efforts.
5.0imited rod'ction 1'ality: - Although it is improving, net
advertising does not offer the capability of many competitive media for
a production standpoint. While the advent of advanced technologies
and rich medium is narrowing the gap, the net still lags behind some
areas.
6.2oor reach: - While the Internet numbers are growing in leaps
and
bounds, its six is still far behind that of television. As a result, interest
companies have turned to traditional medium to achieve reach andawareness goals. In addition statistics says that only a small
percentage of sites on the Internet are captured and that the top 50
sites listed account for 95 percent of the site visited.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
16/43
7.0ang'age: - If I am selling the goods through the media the
buyer
prefer to get the information of the products or services with his ownlanguage but the advertiser has no option than to advertise in one
single language which is a major disadvantage.
Given below is the comparison between Traditional and Web
Advertising that will signify the importance of in today's world.
!raditional advertising *eb
advertising
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
17/43
Bound by geography and location The Web market is borderless
Advertisement costs are relatively Web Advertisement rates are
High relatively low
Lead times for implementation are Lead times are virtually non-existent
Substantial
Limited interactivity exists, if at all Web marketing is based on high
level
of interactivity
Getting customer feedback is a Customer feedback is immediate
painstakingly slow process
Tracking the effectiveness of the Effectiveness can be easily
monitored
Advertisement efforts is relatively
Difficult
Marketing efforts are restricted by On the internet, Advertisement can
be
time and space carried out 24 hours a day, 365 days
a year
Traditional marketing is static Web advertising is dynamic and
multimedia supported
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
18/43
Traditional advertising does not Web advertising requires the user to
invoke immediate action take immediate action - like clicking
on the banner ad and thus going to
your site to know more of company
Advertisements are passively The user has a high attention level
Received while he is on the net. Thus
advertisements get noticed,
remembered, and acted upon
Advertisements are ubiquitous Here, while searching for travel
sites,
ads related to travel agencies are
displayed
Advertising does not target a focused Advertisements are very focused.
PC
Audience software can be displayed to PC
users, while MAC users are not
shown those ads
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
19/43
S!A!/+/3! O4 !H/ 25O"0/+:
Is Online advertising eective in in#'encing the
otential "'yers6 Internet is one of the important mediums that
own all kinds of features,which implies a great potential and powerful
advertising medium in the future.In addition, Internet has a better
impact than traditional media in the featureslike Format Variety,
Affinity, and Preservability. Furthermore, Internet is theonly medium so
far which owns the feature of interactivity. That creates lots ofnew
communication opportunities and possibilities that were unable to be
achieved in the past because of the limitation of media technologies. In
spiteof these whether the online advertisement is effective in
influencing thePotential Buyers in modern era.
O"7/%!I8/ O4 !H/ S!9D,:
To ascertain the importance of online advertising as a
promotional tool.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
20/43
To assess the effectiveness of online advertising on purchasing
behaviour.
To ascertain which type of online advertising is preferred by
consumers.
0I+I!A!IO3S O4 !H/ S!9D,:
1.The sample size is limited to 100 Internet users hence the result
of the study cannot be taken as universal.
2.Findings of the survey are based on the assumption that the
respondents have given correct information.
3.Since the respondents had to fill the questionnaire while busy
with their hectic schedule, many people were reluctant to answer.
4.The study was conducted only in Delhi NCR and therefore,
several other potential samples outside the city were neglected
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
21/43
5/8I/W O4 0I!5A!95/
2'rose:
Review of literature refers to identifying already existingliterature in the area of consumer behavior and marketing strategies, to
find out what contribution has already been made so that it can serve a
valuable base for further expanding the literature. the researcher while
choosing the relevant literature of this study, has taken extreme care
not to omit any literature pertaining to the effectiveness of Online
advertisement The chapter revolves
around the various relevant literatures screened to formulate the
subject matter of the proposed study
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
22/43
To broaden the perspective about the research work
To gain new and varied ideas
To acquire more knowledge along with the direct experience
To know the current issues with respect to the research area
To spot the area which have not been covered
+ethodology
For the purpose of literature survey, a sample survey was adopted
through the Structured Questionnaire, and information was gathered
by those who had conducted study, The information was also searched
in libraries in various reports, journals and internet sites were also
scanned for the authenticities of the subject matter.
+/!HODO0O(,
D/4I3I!IO3 O4 5/S/A5%H D/SI(3:
“It is a basic plan, which guides the data collection and analysis
phases of the project. It is a frame work, which specifies the type of
information to be collected, the resources of data collection procedure.”
-!homas )innear
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
23/43
A research design is a market plan or model for conduction a formal
investigation. It is a specification of methods and procedures for acquiring the
information needed for solving of any problem.
Research design is the strategy for a study and the plan by which the
strategy is to be carried out. It specifies the methods and procedures for the
collection, measurement and analysis of data. Unfortunately, there is no
simple classification of research designs that covers the variation found in
practice.
Samling +ethod
The sampling procedure used wasconvenience and judgment
sampling, as in questionnaire were administered at places like the residents,
cyber center, Office and colleges in Delhi NCR.
!ools or data collection
Interaction with Respondents was in the form of face-to-face interviews
and with the help of questionnaire. The questionnaire consisted of a set of
questions, asked to the respondent for his/her response, the questionnaire
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
24/43
was structured and non-disguised. It was done in a prearranged order and the
object of the research was revealed to the respondent. The questionnaire
consisted of combination of open ended and close-ended question.
2rimary Data
The primary data was generated through extensive use of a structured
questionnaire, which had both the open end and close-ended questions. They
were conducted in Delhi NCR and the data collected was used for thepurpose of analysis and interpretation.
Secondary Data
The second data was collected from the following sources:
Books
Magazines
Website
Journals
(Details are given in the Literature Review at the Report)
Samle Sie
A total of hundred respondents were interviewed during the survey,
The input from these respondents which was collected in Delhi NCR
formed the primary data for the study.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
25/43
DA!A 25O%/SSI3(
Collected data was Analyzed and tabulated with the help of MS Excel
and then they have been presented in the tables and Graphs in this report.
These are the basis for drawing the appropriate conclusion for this project.
Areas %overed
BTM Layout
Jayanagar 4th Block
Koramangala
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
26/43
INDUSTRY PROFILE
"Advertising is the ability to sense, interpret . . . to put the very
heart throbs of a business into type, paper and ink."
- Leo Burnett
This statement quoted by Leo Burnett a few decades ago still
holds ground as strongly as it did back then. Perhaps, with the new
medium called the Internet, we can substitute type, paper and ink with
site, page and link.
Internet is fast emerging as a powerful medium of advertising in the
new millennium. With the number of Internet users increasing manifold, the
new medium is viewed as the advertiser's dream. The Internet is the fastest
growing medium in the 2000’s with millions of users and an average
estimated growth of 124% annually.
It has great potential as an advertising medium. Online advertising
offers the advantage of reaching and interacting with the target audience,
irrespective of geographical barriers, in real time. Internet offers the flexibility
of two-way communication, through feedback and interaction in real time.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
27/43
Online advertising presents the flexibility of moulding the campaign in
response to the effectiveness in real time.
Internet advertising is becoming a part of some companies
marketing strategy- however it requires new strategies and thinking. The
benefits of Internet advertising are its ability to cover all
Promotional objectives from awareness to action by leveraging all
Five Elements in the promotion mix. The Internet is also a highly
selective, cost effective media with greater measurability than any other
media.
Despite higher global reach Internet is not yet a local mainstream
media. The Internet offer companies targeting well-educated, innovative,
affluent males or students great potential for success as their segments
are highly represented. Products with high information intensity and high
buyer involvement are also appropriate for Internet promotion due to its
large information capacity at low costs. Its distribution opportunity is
especially suitable for the increasing channel of mail order products
Low product fit or low audience fit companies can benefit by
building a brand image to establish a user link or simply to learn about
interactive media. Traditional advertising is consumed passively, yet on
the Internet, users have to actively select an advert. This changes the
way advertisers generate and retain customers. To persuade visitors to
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
28/43
revisit and spend time on the website, advertisers must fulfill real
customer needs on a continuous basis. This requires clear objectives
and targeting. Informative quality content, advertisement with interesting
entertainment or direct sales possibilities can add value to the customer.
The commercial industry is going through a rapid and radical
development from the 2000's. Growth in disposable income, increased
purchase information and alternative service and product offerings have
expanded the customer’s bargaining power. Today’s advertiser must
individualize, differentiate and customize to achieve advertising
effectiveness. Targeting and building a relationship with customers on an
individual basis is essential to be a successful advertiser in the 2000's.
The advertisers ideal is the ‘best possible reach within a welldefined
audience (selectivity) with good possibilities of feedback and low
costs’, while mass communication often forces the advertiser to accept
high reach with a low selectively and no feedback opportunities in order
to achieve a reasonable cost-effectiveness. The following criteria
evaluate the effectiveness of the different media.
They may be new concepts right now but will be most essential part
of business world in near future. In fact, the future we are talking about is
already here! And to survive in this cutthroat competition, sooner your
organization enters cyber world, better - because in cyber world, it's always a
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
29/43
one-way traffic, no looking back but just zooming ahead - at lightning speed!
PRODUCT PROFILE
Some of the important products offered by Web Advertising are listed
below:
Web banner and anel ads
These are small rectangular graphic images that usually have a call to action
(Like "Click here"). These banners are placed on other high traffic web sites
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
30/43
like Yahoo, AOL etc so as to get an opportunity To See (OTS). They can be
placed at the top or bottom of a page. Or anywhere you like them to be.
Interstitial
Another model of Web advertising - A short-lived, usually animated ad that
pops up in the browser window for about 5-10 seconds while a page is
downloading and then disappears.
Inline Advertisements
Inline ads provide a way for sponsors to generate leads or deliver rich brand
building messages. Similar to print adversarial, inline ads integrate within site
content, ensuring that a site visitor will see them for sure. Example: When you
search using Metacrawler and get results, you will see such inline ad inbetween
search results.
2o-9 Windo*s
A pop-up window delivers the advertisement in a new window on top of the
site content. When you visit Homepages on Tripod.com or Geocities.com
(Advertisement supported free homepage sites), a secondary window
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
31/43
automatically pops up continuously rotating advertisement of sponsors.
Website sonsorshis
Here, the entire Website is sponsored by an advertiser. These sites are
usually content or service based and has a very high traffic because of their
utility value.
%lassifeds
Similar to classifieds in the real world, advertisers in Cyberspace can pay for
their advertisements to be listed in online classifieds. From products and
services to headhunting and matrimonial, any subject is covered.
+ailing list ads
Mailing lists are e-mails sent to group of subscribers at regular intervals
focusing on a particular topic. These e-mails can contains tips, hints or even
jokes for free and are sustained by advertisements that are interspersed
throughout the body of the e-mail. Ads are usually in 6-8 line of text instead of
graphics and animations like banner ads.
Ads on %hat
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
32/43
Chat is a service available on the net for two or more people to converse with
one another through their keyboards. Companies that offer these chat
services for free, earn their revenue from advertisements that are displayed to
everyone using these chat services.
So, Web marketing and e-Business, both are new concept of doing the
business and are inter-combined and are irreplaceable part of the cyber
world.
!he (overnment initiativesThe Government has taken key initiatives over the past few years to create
an environment that is conducive to E-commerce activity. These include the
following
Announcement of the Information Technology Act 2002, which
put in place a cyber, law regime in the Country.
Announcement of the ISP policy for the entry of private Internet
service providers in November 1998
Permission to private ISP’s to set up international gateways.
Permission of Internet accesses through cable TV infrastructure.
Initiation of the setting up of the National Internet Backbone.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
33/43
Announcement of the national long distance services beyond
the service area to the private area.
Complete non-monopolization of undersea fiber connectivity for
ISP on August 2000.
Free Right of way facility with no charge in cash or kind, to
access providers to lay optical fiber networks along National
Highways, State Highways and other roads.
Permission of Interconnectivity of Government and closed user
group (CUG) networks.
The establishment of Public Teleinfo Centers (PTIC) having
multimedia capabilities has been permitted.
100% FDI allowed in B2B e-commerce.
+eas'ring the /;ciency and /ectiveness o their
Site.
What metrics should be consider when calculating the value of the
Web site, or the return on investment? Let’s start with performance andavailability. To say that slow pages are the kiss of death doesn’t take all the
possibilities into account. When National Semiconductor asked its design
engineer customers about the need for speed, site visitors said that anything
more than eight seconds for a navigation page and 30 seconds for a data
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
34/43
sheet was intolerable.
The Advertiser should also consider the type and number of pages of
their site that visitors look at during a single visit. Are more pages better?
When visitors first arrive and are investigating the depth and breadth of the
offerings, more pages is good. But if they are trying to solve a problem by
slogging through the quagmire of your section of "frequently asked questions"
pages that are intertwined like the roots of swamp trees, more is definitely not
merrier.
0oo&ing or atterns
If the Advertiser make use of cookies to analyze the path of each
visitor, then they can start to make assumptions about what people are
looking for and if they had trouble finding it. The trick is to look for patterns.
The researcher, the comparison shopper and the buyer all have their
own traffic patterns, and it’s up to you to serve them according to their needs.
If people are always clicking from the product page to the warranty page and
back, it’s good stewardship to put the pertinent information on the product
page and save them a click. Watch where they go and then do what you can
to make their way easier next time.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
35/43
The final consideration is how often people visit your site a
combination of recency and frequency. It’s great that somebody came to your
site 10 times in one day, but if that day was six months ago, it won’t do you
any good. The most desirable recency-frequency tally is different for different
types of sites. If your name is Yahoo! or AOL, then you want all the people, all
the time. If your Web site is located at http://www.urnsandcaskets.com, you
may feel a little people who come back day after day and stay a while.
Identiying rosects
Identifying what pattern is the best indication of imminent procurement
which depends upon the Review of the site path taken by those who
completed the purchase and watch for it again. Your site can make special
offer when a potential customer visits a certain number of times or looks at
particular pages. And then you can go one step further, called Geniality’s a
clever software that will determine the fewest attributes common to those who
performed the desired act (purchase, register, subscribe, etc.). It shifts
through mountains of data about your customers so you can more quickly
recognize the ones who are statistically most likely to buy, and it can tell you
which offer is the one most likely to make that sale.
Taking all this into the consideration one can manage their site
measurement of effectiveness.
Online Advertising Oerational Defnition
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
36/43
Advertising Network - A group of websites, which share a common
banner server Typically, a sales organization, which manages the commerce
and reporting. An ad network has the ability to deliver unique combinations of
targeted audiences because they serve your banner or ad across multiple
sites.
Ad view- An ad view, synonymous with ad impression, is a single ad
that appears (usually in full view without scrolling) on a Web page when the
page arrives at the viewer’s display. Ad views are what most Web sites sell or
prefer to sell. A Web page may offer space for a number of ad views. In
general, the term impression is more commonly used.
Aliate marketing- Affiliate marketing is the use by a Web site that
sells products of other Web sites, called affiliates, to help market the
products. Amazon.com, the bookseller, created the first large-scale affiliate
program and hundreds of other companies have followed since.
Bandwidth - The amount of information that can be transmitted over
communications lines at one time. The higher the bandwidth, the faster the
Web page loads. Limited bandwidth is the main reason for keeping pictures
small. Just as it seems we will never have fast enough computers, it feels like
we will never have enough bandwidth. The amount of research and
development money being thrown at this problem should yield surprising
results before long.
Click- According to ad industry recommended guidelines from FAST,
a click is 'when a visitor interacts with an advertisement.' This does not
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
37/43
apparently mean simple interacting with a rich media ad, but actually clicking
on it so that the visitor is headed toward the advertiser’s destination. (It also
does not mean that the visitor actually waits to fully arrive at the destination,
but just that the visitor started going there).
Click streams - The electronic path a user takes while navigating from
site to site, and within site, from page to page.
Click hrough - The act of clicking on a banner or other ad, which
takes the use through to the advertiser's Web site. Used as a counter point to
impressions to judge the response-inducing power of the banner.
Click Through Rate (CTR) - The response rate of an online advertisement,
typically expressed as a percentage and calculated by taking the number of
click through the ad received, dividing that number by the number of
impressions and multiplying by 100 to obtain a percentage - Example - 20
clicks / 1,000 impressions = .02 x 100 = 2% CTR
C!A- Cost Per Action. The price paid by an advertiser for each
'action' that a content site delivers. 'Action' may be a sale, a lead, a
successful form fill-out, a download of a software program or an e-commerce
sale of a product. Both the action, price and terms of a CPA purchase are
mutually agreed upon by the advertiser and content site and such a purchase
typically involves a back end tracking system provided by the advertiser that
allows the content site to view clicks and actions every 24 hours if they
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
38/43
choose to do so.
C!C - Cost Per Click. The price paid by an advertiser to a content site.
When buying on a Cost Per Click model, the advertiser and content site have
mutually agreed that the content site will continue to display the advertiser’s
ad creative until X number of clicks have been delivered - the amount
purchased. As with other forms of online advertising, s dependent on content,
audience reached and targeted delivery - Untargeted being owner priced,
targeted to an affluent audience being at the high end of the rate scale.
C! - Cost Per Thousand (Roman Numeral) impressions. The price
paid by an advertiser for a content site displaying their banner 1,000 times.
C!# - Cost Per Sale. The price paid by an advertiser to a content site
for each sale that results from a visitor who is referred from the content site to
the advertiser’s site. This type of buying model is typically tracked with
cookies, where the cookie is offered on the content site and read on the
advertiser’s site at the success page after successful completion of one
transaction/sale. Typical rates/bounties range between 5% and 25% of the
retail price of the product or service being sold. See also CPA above.
Cookies - Client-side text file that is used by Web servers to store
information about the site visitor and visitor behavior. Information pertaining to
a site can only be ready the side that wrote the information. Used to identify
repeat visitors and track visitor behavior.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
39/43
$%ective &re'uency - The number of times an ad should be shown to
one person to realize the highest impact of the ad without wasting
impressions on that individual.
&re'uency- The number of times a given person will see an ad in a
given time period. Gross Exposures/Gross Impressions - The total number of
times an ad is shown, including duplicate showings to the same person.
(its - Every time a file is sent by a server, be it text, graphic, video,
and so on, it is recorded as a hit. Not a reliable gauge to compare different
sites, as one page with five graphic elements will register six hits when
viewed, while a page with no graphics will only register one hit.
)mpression- The Opportunity To See (OTS) a banner or other ad by
a surfer. When a page that includes a banner is viewed, it is considered an
impression. Inventory - The amount of available space for banners on a Web
site that can be delivered in a given time period. Also known as the amount of
gross impressions per month (or clicks if the publishers is selling on a Cost
Per Click rate model) available for sale to advertisers by a Web publisher.
*ink - A hypertext connection between two documents, image maps,
graphics, and the like.
!age view - When a Web page is requested by somebody through a
browser. Pageviews are often used to track the number of impressions a
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
40/43
banner gets.
+unofnetwork- A run-of-network ad is one that is placed to run on
all sites within a given network of sites. Ad sales firms such as Latitude90
handle run-of-network insertion orders in such a way as to optimize results for
the buyer consistent with higher priority ad commitments.
+unofsite- A run-of-site ad is one that is placed to rotate on all
non-featured ad spaces on a site. CPM rates for run-of-site ads are usually
less than for rates for specially-placed ads or sponsorships.
#pam - Originally posting an ad to multiple newsgroups, now used
to describe unsolicited email advertising. Named after a skit by Monty Python,
spam is one marketing and advertising technique to avoid at all costs
-ni'ue visitor - A unique visitor is someone with a unique address
who is entering a Web site for the first time that day (or some other specified
period). Thus, a visitor that returns within the same day is not counted twice.
A unique visitors count tells you how many different people there are in your
audience during the time period, but not how much they used the site during
the period.
iew- A view is, depending on what’s meant, either an ad view or a
page view. Usually an ad view is what’s meant. There can be multiple ad
views per page views. View counting should consider that a small percentage
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
41/43
of users choose to turn the graphics off (not display the images) in their
browser.
isit - A visit is a Web user with a unique address entering a Web site at
some page for the first time that day (or for the first time in a lesser time
period). The number of visits is roughly equivalent to the number of different
people that visit a site. This term is ambiguous unless the user defines it,
since it could mean a user session or it could mean a unique visitor that day.
HYPOTHESIS
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
42/43
It is usually considered as the principal instrument in the research, it
may be defined as a proposition or a set of propositions set forth as an
explanation for the occurrence of some specified group of phenomenon either
asserted merely as a provisional conjecture to guide some investigation or
accepted as highly probable in the light of established facts.
!esting o hyothesis
Techniques of hypothesis testing are used if we have an idea about
the value of the parameter in question. The modern theory of probability plays
a vital role in decision making and the branch of statistics with helps in
arriving at the criteria for such decision is known as testing of hypothesis.
%hi-s1'are !est
Chi-square test statistically determines significance in the analysis of
frequency distribution. The logic involved in the chi-square test is that of
comparing the observed frequencies and the expected frequencies. It is
called a non-parametric test because it is based wholly on sample
observations and does not require any value corresponding to a population
parameter it is defined as Chi-square test
3'll Hyothesis: H<
It asserts that there is a significant influence of features of Online
Advertisement on the effectiveness of online Advertisement.
-
8/20/2019 e Advertising
43/43
Alternative Hyothesis: H=
There is no significant influence of features of online Advertisement on
the Effectiveness of online Advertisement.
Signifcance 0evel:
The critical probability in choosing between the null and alternative
hypothesis. The exact level of significance is largely determined by how much
risk one variable is willing to take and its effect on the other variable.
Degree o 4reedom:
It refers to the number of observations that can be varied without
changing the constraints or assumptions associated with a numerical system.
TABLE – 6.1
yahoo 5edi Siy +S3 !otal
%reativity 16 3 1 3 23Attractiveness 13 2 4 1 20
Inormation 24 5 3 2 34Accessibility
19 2 2 0 23!otal 72 12 10 6 100