website monetization
Post on 31-Dec-2015
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CURRENCY OF THE WEB
• Impression: a measurement of responses from a Web server to a page request from the user browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to opportunity to see the page by the user.
• Ad Impression: 1) an ad which is served to a user’s browser. Ads can be requested by the user’s browser (referred to as pulled ads) or they can be pushed, such as e-mailed ads
• Cost-Per-Thousand (CPM): media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).
• Inventory: The number of ads available for sale on a website• Cost-per-Whatever (CPW): Cost-per-order, cost-per-
transaction, cost-per-acquisition, cost-per-lead, cost-per-click, etc.
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AUDIENCE MEASUREMENT
• 3 accredited third-party audience measurement institutions– ComScore– Nielsen//Netratings– I/Pro
• Other audience measurement systems– Compete.com– Quantcast.com
• Page Views vs. “Hits”– Page Display: when a page is successfully displayed on
the user's computer screen
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CALCULATING INVENTORY
• Traffic = Unique Users * avg. page-views per user
• Available Impressions = Traffic * ads per page• Sell-through: How many impressions do you
think you can sell in a given month
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AD-UNIT OPPORTUNITIES
• Standard IAB Ad-units• Rich Media• Broadband Media• Pre-roll• Email Newsletters• Site or page skinning• Custom build-out programs• Slotting fees• RSS Ads• Advertorials
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AD REVENUE OPPORTUNITIES: AD NETWORKS
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2.6%
12.7%
23.6%
24.6%
30.1%
33.6%
38.1%
39.9%
43.9%
51.5%
54.0%
62.6%
66.0%
73.9%
84.6%
Rydium Network
Undertone Networks
Vibrant Media
CPX I nteractive
ContextWeb
Gorilla Nation Media
AdBrite
PrecisionClick
Burst Media
24/ 7 Real Media
Blue Lithium
Casale Media Network
Tribal Fusion
ValueClick
Advertising.com
% Reach
AD REVENUE OPPORTUNITIES: SEARCH ENGINES
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Google technology places your ad on the most relevant content pages
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