google adwords
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Google AdWordsStrategy Introduction
AgendaQuick overview
Setting up a campaignOutperforming the competition
Monitoring your Adwords Agency
“I don’t click on the ads, no-one I know does…”
Google made
$21.000.000.000
on AdWords in ‘08
It fuels an entire industry
How does it work?
You bid to be shown on a search query
“If you show my ad when someone searches for ‘cell-
phones’ I’ll pay you €0.20 for each click on my ad”
Advantages
Targetted campaigns
Full control
Suits all budgets
Disadvantages
Learning curve
Easy to lose money
Competitive markets
A well run AdWords campaign makes your business blossom
Let’s set one up…… but first some terminology
AdWords Account
CampaignAd Group
Keyword Keyword
Ad Group
Keyword Keyword
Accountmanaging your payments
Campaignstargetting your audiences
Ad Groupssplitting up your audiences
Keywordsreaching your audience
Example:
YourPhoneShop.Com
iPhone3G
Apple 3G iPhone 3G
3GS
Apple 3GS iPhone 3GS
Keywords power your campaigns
but how do you find them?
Start with a question:What problem do I fix?
I help people buy cell phones
Now find synonyms
cell phones
Mobile phones
Smart phones
Cellular phones
Feed this list to the AdWords Keyword Tool
This returns popular keywords
Carefully select your keywords
buy cell phonescell phonecell phone providerscell phone radiationcell phone shopcell phone storecell phonescell phones dealscell phones planscellular phone storecellular phonescheap cell phone planscheap cell phonescheap cellular phonesdisposable cell phonesmobile cell phonesprepaid cell phonesprepaid mobile phonesrefurbished cell phonesunlocked cell phoneswireless cell phones
Hold on to those unrelated words
we’ll talk about those later!
Sometimes I help peoplebuy specific cell phones
iPhone 3G
iPhone 3GS
Apple iPhone
…
Blackberry Bold
Blackberry Storm
Blackberry Curve
…
Divide the list into logical groups
Focus on your visitors question
You’ll see this appear:Smaller groups in bigger
patterns
Big patterns (brands, synonyms,…)
These will form your campaigns
Small groups These will form your AdGroups
3 Keyword match types
Broad:Anything possibly related
Broad Matchexample:cell phone
Cell phone
Cellular phones
Satelite phones
Telephone
Phrase:Anything using this phrase
Phrase matchexample:
“cell phone”
Cell phone
Cheap cell phone
Cell phone plans
Cell phone shop
Phrase matchexample:
“cell phone”
Cell phones
Cellular phones
Mobile phones
GSM
Exact:Exactly these words
Exact matchexample:
[cell phone]Cell phone
Exact matchexample:
[cell phone]
Cheap cell phone
Cell phones
When to use which match type
Broad
Phrase
Exact
Find new keywords
Match specific queries
Key search queries
YourPhoneShop.Com
iPhone3G
Apple 3G iPhone 3G
3GS
Apple 3GS iPhone 3GS
Now for the hard part…
Ad Writing
95 Characters
Title (25)
Line 1 (35)
Line 2 (35)
Ad structure
Compelling headineWhy should they notice you?
What are your benefits?Why should they care?
What are your features?What do you have to offer?
Compelling headline (25)Benefits (35)Features (35)
Example
Amazing iPhone dealsUnlocked iPhones. Wholesale prices.Free & insured shipping. Order now!www.phonesRus.com/iPhone
Pre-Assembled HangarsPersonalized for your business.Built in 48 hours. Guaranteed.www.frisomat.com/hangars
What’s the competition up to?
Industrial BuildingsSolutions for Your Small Business.Business Begins Here. www.business.com
Industrial BuildingsIndustrial/commercial constructionspecialists. Design & build www.c21construction.co.uk
Quality Steel Buildings Agricultural Residential Industrialbarn storage garages business use www.pembs-steelbuildings.co.uk
Industrial BuildingsAll Kinds of Metal BuildingsGet an Unbeatable Quote Now!www.atlanticsteelbuildings.co.uk
Steel Buildings UK All types of steel buildingsNationwide Service - Instant Quote www.GarageQuotes.com/SteelBuildings
So what makes a winning ad?
I don’t know.Neither does your agency, nor anyone else.
But Google’s users do.Always test two competing ads.
Getting your costs down.AdWords Auction 101.
Shocking fact:The highest bidder doesn’t always end up on top.
Quality Score
Keyword, Ad & Query
Landing page
CTR
Other factors
QS Importance
CTR
Ad, Keywords
Landing page
Ad Rank
Advertiser 1:
Advertiser 2:
Advertiser 3:
€4,00 x 4 = 16
€3,00 x 7 = 21
€2,00 x 10 = 20
Cost CalculationCPC = Ad Rank P-1 / Own QS
Advertiser 2:
AdRank Advertiser 3
Own QualityScore
Advertiser 2:20
= €2,867
Advertiser 2:
Advertiser 3:
Advertiser 1:
20 / 7 = €2.86
16 / 10 = €1.60
Ad Rank P4 / Own QS
Don’t outbid the competition.Outmanoeuvre them.
Negative keywords
Disableunrelated searches
cell phone providerscell phone radiationcell phones plansdisposable cell phonesprepaid cell phonesrefurbished cell phones
Negative keywords
ProvidersRadiationPlansDisposablePrepaidRefurbished
Increases your CTR
Decreases wasted clicks
Landing pages
Google loves relevance
Visitors love relevance
The homepage:Is it really the most relevant page?
Probably not.
Find or buildrelevant landing pages
Again: What’s the competition doing?
Landing page:±10% of QS
Relevant ads
Continually test your ad copy
Found a better performing ad?Delete the other one, write a new one.
What to test?Headlines, benefits, features, display-urls
Drive up your ads CTR
CTR:+50% of QS
Wage a war of attrition
Optimize your keywords
Optimize your ads
Optimize your Ad Groups
Optimize your Campaigns
Never stop.Never surrender.
Monitoring your agency
Why hire an agency?
Keeping an eye on their work:
KeywordsDifferent match types
Use of negatives
Ads
Focussed ads with USP
Cobwebs
Landing pages
Ad Groups
Themed
Clear focus
Creation of new groups
Campaigns
Location / Language
Timing
Ad Extentions
Impression Share
Web Analytics
Bounce rates
Conversion rate
Non branded traffic
Other factors
Transparency
Communication
Excluding branded conversions
Talk is cheap.
Badly run campaigns expensive.
Thank you!
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