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Optimize or Die Presented by : Lukas Mehnert Adwords – Google Display Network

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Page 1: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Optimize or Die

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Adwords – Google Display Network

Page 2: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

About KenticoKentico is based in Brno, Czech Republic. Founded in 2004 by CEO Petr Palas, it has been fully profit-funded throughout its history. Kentico is a Microsoft Gold Certified Partner.

QUICK INTRODUCTION

34

150

continentsofficesemployees

1001,0007,000

25,000

countriespartnerscustomerswebsites

Page 3: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

INTEGRATED MARKETING SOLUTION

Page 4: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Creativity

Page 5: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Before i run a Display campaign:

Intro

I start a Search Network campaign and optimize it to discover negative KWs.

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 6: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Where to find placements:

Level 1

3 Examples: Download your and your competitor’s backlinks

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 7: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Where to find placements:

Level 1

Go to Analytics > Acquisition > All Traffic > Referral Traffic

Search for high converting backlinks

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 8: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Where to find placements:

Level 1

Search for similar websites where you want to appear

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 9: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Focus on niche websites:

Level 1

Less users but much higher interest

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 10: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

If you don’t know if a site is using Adsense:

Level 1

Page 11: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Rotate your ads indefinitely:

Level 2

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 12: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Rotate your ads indefinitely:

Level 2

Presented by : Lukas MehnertIf you are starting new text ad tests and have enough traffic, you can pause the old one (the first winner ad). Because the old one already has some historic data

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 13: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Splitting your ad groups:

Level 3

Split your ad groups into banners and ad texts

Create Display Ad groups per targeting method Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 14: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Bidding and Ad position:

Level 3 – Source: 1

you're not bidding for position, you're bidding for impression sharePresented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 15: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Control your relative CTR:

Level 3

Try to get higher than one

Presented by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 16: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Control your relative CTR:

Level 3

Try to get higher than one

(1.06%)/(x) = 0.8x1.06/0.8 = xx=1.325%by : Lukas Mehnert

Page 17: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Optimize your placements - but be exact

Level 5

Page 18: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Placement Optimization:

Level 4

Impressions < 1500, Conversions (1-per-click) = 0: Lukas Mehnert

Page 19: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Placement Optimization:

Level 4

Cost per Conversion > 1,3 x CPA goal

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 20: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Optimization:

Level 4

Start with the highest Impressions and search for low CTR pages(<0.1%)

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 21: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Ad Optimization:

Level 7

: Lukas Mehnert

Crazy! A is winning against B

with 74,5%!

Eventually they will realize that we

only have 10 visitors a day

Page 22: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Ad URL Optimization:

Level 6

www.example.com example.com www.example.com/test example.com/testtest.example.comtest.example.com/CTAexample.com/CTAwww.example.com/CTActa.example.com/test

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 23: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Level 6

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 24: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Ad Optimization:

Level 6

You can still use ™, ® and © which will boost your CTR:http://www.tamasoft.co.jp/en/general-info/unicode.html

Use f.E: �

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 25: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Ad Optimization:

Source: 2

Conversion Performance –track view-through conversions which throws another wrench in understanding the performance of your display campaigns. View-throughs typically have a much lower value than click conversions, but it’s up to you and your business to determine their value

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 26: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Ad Optimization:

Level 7

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 27: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Ad Optimization:

Level 7

: Lukas Mehnert

Now B is our winner

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 28: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Profit per Impression:

Level 7

: Lukas Mehnert

PPI = break even point – cost per conv. / total impressions (in thousands)

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 29: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Ad Optimization:

Level 7

: Lukas Mehnert

Lets have an example:You need to know how much your item costf.E:10 dollarsPhysical costs are 3

Your break even point is 7 if you have no other costs

So if your cpa costs are higher than 7, you make no profit

: Lukas Mehnert

Page 30: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Display Sitelinks:

Level 7

Call sitelinksLocations sitelinks

Page 31: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Do not add Topic categories – try to be as specific as possible

Level 8

Page 32: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Exclude display network categories

Level 8

Page 33: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Or this could happen to you:

Level 8 – Source: 3

Page 34: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Use frequency capping

Level 9

Page 35: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Searching for new possibilities

Page 36: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Trying and testing … and testing and trying

Page 37: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

How to avoid games and apps:

Level 10

Page 38: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

But thats not all:

Level 10

adsenseformobileapps.comappspot.comanonymous.googlemail.google.com

Page 39: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

INTEGRATED MARKETING SOLUTION

http://bit.ly/campaign-specialist

Page 40: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Thank you very much

Page 41: Adwords – Google Display Networkmarkeeting.cz/wp-content/uploads/Hub-presentation-final.pptx-1.pdf · Adwords – Google Display Network. About Kentico Kentico is based in Brno,

Sources:1: http://searchenginewatch.com/sew/how-to/2157222/definitive-guide-adwords-display-targeting2: http://www.searchenginejournal.com/many-ways-can-optimize-google-display-campaign/95119/3: Websiteboosting: Ausgabe 13 - Seite 35