a primer on ltv - uva darden school of business · lifetime value of a customer (a.k.a. customer...
TRANSCRIPT
1
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
A Primer on the Lifetime Value of a Customer
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
How do we measure firm performance?
2
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
How do we measure firm performance?
We most often look at financial performance across time….the income statement.
-21573362-2326-1965Income after Taxes
-14372241-1551-1309Income Taxes
-35945603-3877-3274Income Before Taxes
10779268621420212230Total Expenses
3491664249334226SG&A
72882022092698004Cost of Sales
729432641105719074Total Revenue
Q4Q3Q2Q1
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
How do we measure firm performance?
If the firm is composed of several divisions, we also look at profitability of each division.
1606.7308.5199.91098.3Net Operating Assets
18.313.725.918.5Operating Margin %
331.451.851.4228.2Profit before taxes
1809.4379.1198.41231.9Turnover
TOTALInvestments and Other
LimeCement
3
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Strategic Business
Units
1606.7308.5199.91098.3Net Operating Assets
18.313.725.918.5Operating Margin %
331.451.851.4228.2Profit before taxes
1809.4379.1198.41231.9Turnover
TOTALLime
Cash Cows Dogs
Question MarksStars
LowHigh
Indu
stry
G
row
th R
ate
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Profitability by Product May Require Different Line Items
4
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Profitability/ Square Foot By Category
Specialty Foods Staples Wine Produce Meat/Seafood Deli/Prepared Other TotalSquare Feet 3975 1490 500 930 596 1490 800 9781Gross Margin $565.4 $212.6 $135.6 $226.8 $198.5 $981.7 $38.7 $2,359.3
GM/Sq Ft $0.142 $0.143 $0.271 $0.244 $0.333 $0.659 $0.048 $0.241
Allocated Cost 404.4 233.5 144.4 160 215 821.6 60.5 2039.1Contribution $161.0 ($20.9) ($8.8) $66.8 ($16.5) $160.1 ($21.8) $320.2
Contribution/Sq Ft $0.041 ($0.014) ($0.018) $0.072 ($0.028) $0.107 ($0.027) $0.033
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Measuring Firm Performance
• By quarter or year• By Strategic Business Unit• By Product• By Category
5
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
There is one other important way to look at firm performance:
By Customer -21573362-2326-1965Income after Taxes
-14372241-1551-1309Income Taxes
-35945603-3877-3274Income Before Taxes
10779268621420212230Total Expenses
3491664249334226SG&A
72882022092698004Cost of Sales
729432641105719074Total Revenue
RaviSuePhilBob
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
The Big Idea
The purpose of a firm is to create and satisfy a customer.
The customer is King.
Love your customers more and your products less
If “customer focus” or “customer orientation” is part of your business philosophy, then consider measuring the performance of each customer
relationship.
6
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Not a New Idea
• B2B marketers measure profitability of each large account (customer). Account management generated the need for custom-specific P&L statements.
• Shop keepers know who their best customers are.
• Insurance providers price based on an individual’s (or segment’s) actuarial risk.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
But an Idea whose time has come…because
• E-business enables direct relationships with customers.– Any firm with a website is forced into relationships with
individual customers. – Disintermediation cuts out layers—marketers converse with
individual consumers, not just with channel partners.
• Information Technology makes it easier and cheaper to monitor a large number of customer relationships.– Customer clicks are easy to track.– Moore’s law keeps reducing costs.
• Customers expect more– and are less likely to accept “one size fits all.”
7
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Love your products less
• How profitable is this product? • How should I price this product?• Are we doing enough new-product
development?• How can we extend the product life cycle?• What is our share of market?
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
And your customers more
• How profitable is this customer? • How should I price this customer?• Are we doing enough new-customer
development?• How can we extend the customer life cycle?• What is our share of customer
requirements?
8
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Why bother evaluating individual customer
relationships?
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Because customers are not alike
Most ValuedCustomers
Second TierCustomers
Below Zeros
9
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
And should be treated differently
Customers to Reward
Customers to Fire?
Customers to Grow
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
In order to improve firm performance
Customers to Reward
Customers to Grow
Customers to Fire?
10
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Evaluating Customer Relationships
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Step 1. Know how many customers you have.
• Coke and P&G may never know.• Dell knows! Does Compaq? • Some firms that should know do not.
– A very large bank knew how many accounts it had, but not how many customers.
• You may have to incent them to identify themselves– frequent shopper cards– online registration– cookies as a last resort
11
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Step 2. Develop the capability to construct P&L statements for individual
customer relationships.
• Billing systems need to interoperate with marketing databases.
• You may need to build a Customer Database• ABC analysis of the costs of maintaining customer
relationships.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
It is important to fully understand the financial implications of all interactions between your organization and your customers.
+
order/purchase referral upgraderenewalregister/applyfees
++
+
++
Added Value: interactions leading to orders, upgrades, conversions, referrals, etc...
+
Customer Interaction Metrics
-----
-------
- Negative Value: interactions leading to returns, dismissals, credit write offs, bad payment...return
complaintrequestchange of addresssite visit
promotionnewsletterbillrenewal noticesurveydiscount/incentivewrite-offs
TheFirm
Source: “The Evolution of Direct Marketing: Enterprise Customer Management,” Presentation by Christopher Becke (Darden ’92), May 7, 1999.
12
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Deposits $1.00 for every $400 deposited/monthFees $6.00 per customer/month
Bank calculated revenues/costs per customer interaction:
Bank Story
Back office maintenance ($3.00) per customer/monthTeller Transactions ($2.50) per transaction ATM Transactions ($0.50) per transactionPhone VRU calls ($0.30) per transactionDirect Deposits ($0.80) per transaction
Source: “The Evolution of Direct Marketing: Enterprise Customer Management,” Presentation by Christopher Becke (Darden ’92), May 7, 1999.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Depositrevenues
$850
+
++
++
+
++
++
$850
+
++
++
+
++
++
Customer value
Customer A
Customer B
Source: “The Evolution of Direct Marketing: Enterprise Customer Management,” Presentation by Christopher Becke (Darden ’92), May 7, 1999.
13
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Depositrevenues
$850
+
++
++
+
++
++
ATMvisits
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
62annually
---
VRUcalls
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
130annually
-
Tellervisits
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
73annually
----
----
$850
+
++
++
+
++
++
Customer value
Customer A
Customer B
Source: “The Evolution of Direct Marketing: Enterprise Customer Management,” Presentation by Christopher Becke (Darden ’92), May 7, 1999.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Depositrevenues
$750
+
++
++
+
++
++
ATMvisits
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
62annually
---
VRUcalls
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
130annually
-
Tellervisits
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
73annually
----
----
($175)
+
++
++
+
++
++
Customer value
Customer A
Customer B
Source: “The Evolution of Direct Marketing: Enterprise Customer Management,” Presentation by Christopher Becke (Darden ’92), May 7, 1999.
14
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Depositrevenues
$750
+
++
++
+
++
++
ATMvisits
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
62annually
---
VRUcalls
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
130annually
-
Tellervisits
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------
73annually
----
----
($175)
+
++
++
+
++
++
Customer value
Customer A
Customer B
Source: “The Evolution of Direct Marketing: Enterprise Customer Management,” Presentation by Christopher Becke (Darden ’92), May 7, 1999.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
B’s Look Bad
A’s Look Good 7% of savings customersgenerate 55% of profits $750 per customer
10% of checking customersgenerate losses = 50% of total profits($175) per customer
Source: “The Evolution of Direct Marketing: Enterprise Customer Management,” Presentation by Christopher Becke (Darden ’92), May 7, 1999.
15
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
The 80/20 Rule
• The top 20% of customers account for 80% of company profits.– Is this surprising? – The fact that 20% account for 80% is not as
important as knowing who the 20% are.– Conventional accounting (quarterly company
P&L) only tells us the profit from 100% of the customers.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
LifeTime Value (LTV)
• That was then, this is now– So far, we have only talked about measuring the past
performance of our customer relationships.– While this is helpful, we’d also like to forecast the
value of those relationships into the future.– Ultimately, we’d like to figure out what we can do to
maximize the value of our relationships.– In particular, we’d like to value proposed new
relationships so that we can make intelligent investments in customer acquisition.
16
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
LifeTime Value of a Customer(a.k.a. Customer Equity)
• the discounted sum of all future customer revenue streams minus product and servicing costs and remarketing costs.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
LifeTime Value of a Customer(a.k.a. Customer Equity)
• LTV is the expected NPV of the cash flows from a customer relationship.
• Just like we use NPV to evaluate investments and companies, we use LTV to evaluate customer relationships.
17
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Estimating LTV
• First, find out what LTV is on average.– Calculate LTVs for representative current
customers at the date you acquired them. The resulting number is an estimate of the LTVs of customers you are about to acquire. This number is VERY helpful in making prospecting decisions.
– Historical versus “Forward-Looking” estimates of LTV?
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTVA Simple LTV Model
discount rate per periodd
retention rate (fraction of current customers retained each period)
r
Retention Spending per period per active customer.
$R
Contribution per period from active customers.$M
ASSUMPTIONS
18
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
A Simple LTV model
r $M – r $Rt=1
etc.
r3 $M – r3 $Rt=3
r2 $M – r2 $Rt=2
$M - $Rt=0
EXPECTED CASH FLOWS
With a little algebra, someone came up with a formula for the NPV of these expected cash flows.
Click anywhere to see it.
LTV = [$M – $R]× [(1+d)/(1+d-r)]
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
ExampleAn Internet Service Provider charges $19.95 per month. Variable costs are about $1.50 per account per month. With marketing spending of $6 per year, their attrition is only 0.5% per month. At a monthly discount rate of 1%, what is the LTV of a customer?
$M = $19.95 - $1.50
= $18.45
$R = $6/12 = $0.5
r = 0.995
d = 0.01
LTV = [$18.45 – $0.5]× [1+.01)/(1+.01-0.995)]
LTV = $1,209
LTV = [$M – $R]× [(1+d)/(1+d-r)]
LTV = [$17.95]× [66.3]
19
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Future Value Multipliers as a function of discount and retention rates
For example, a discount of .10 and a retention rate of .95, customer producing $10 in per period contribution after retention spending would have an estimated LTV of $73.30.
r = d= discount rateretention 0.1 0.11 0.12 0.13 0.14 0.15 0.2
1.00 11.00 10.09 9.33 8.69 8.14 7.67 6.000.95 7.33 6.94 6.59 6.28 6.00 5.75 4.800.90 5.50 5.29 5.09 4.91 4.75 4.60 4.000.85 4.40 4.27 4.15 4.04 3.93 3.83 3.430.80 3.67 3.58 3.50 3.42 3.35 3.29 3.000.75 3.14 3.08 3.03 2.97 2.92 2.88 2.670.66 2.50 2.47 2.43 2.40 2.38 2.35 2.220.50 1.83 1.82 1.81 1.79 1.78 1.77 1.710.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Lifetime Customer Value Comparison
$40
$30
$20
$10
0-$250 0 $250 $500 $750 $1,000
Customer Lifetime Value
PerOrderContribution
*Drugstore
*Bookstore
*Pure-play Apparel
*DirectMail Apparel
*Cash Rx
*3rd Party Rx
*Off-price Apparel
*Grocery
*Vertically Integrated Specialty
*Dept Store Apparel
Assumes 15% discount rate, 4-year customer life for all but Rxwhich is 7-year customer life.
20
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
LTV in PracticeBut evaluating success solely on the basis of ROI may be taking a nearsighted view of business. That’s why iGo also measures the long-term value (LTV) of its customers, based on their purchases over a period of months or years. It uses an algorithm -- which is based on a present-value annuity model -- that measures customer retention by how often customers visit the website and how much they buy.
Investments in customer service, content and advertising are modeled by balancing the anticipated increase in retention against the costs. Recently, for example, iGo looked at LTV data for repeat buyers and first-time website purchasers, and then changed the look and feel of its site, believing that the change would generate more long-term sales.
Source: Nick Wreden, Computing Your Website Payoff, by Nick Wreden, Beyond Computing, April 2000, Volume 9, Number 3
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Estimating LTV
• Next, find out how LTV varies by– Source. Are customers who typed in your web address
more or less valuable than those referred by Yahoo?– Offer. Are customers acquired through special
promotions just as valuable?– Pricing plans. Does the pricing plan the customer
chose affect his/her LTV?– Demographics. Are women more valuable than men?– Usage Patterns. Are weekend shoppers more or less
valuable than those shopping during the week?
21
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
The Sports Illustrated Sneaker Phone Promotion
HUGE SUCCESS…it brought in lots of new customers and cost per acquired customer (trial) was low.
DISMAL FAILURE…..those customers had very low LTVs, because of low conversion of trial subscriptions.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Acquiring credit card customers using the WWW
HUGE SUCCESS…relative response rates and cost per acquired customer were great compared to other media.
DISMAL FAILURE…..However, the acquired customers had above average default rates.
22
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
The Technology of Tracking• Dell print ads contain “e-values” codes. Visitors to the site
enter the code…and Dell knows exactly what ad brought them to the site.
• Catalog codes and tailored 800 numbers serve the same purpose.
• Train your customer service reps to ask, “how did you hear about us?”
• Online..do you want to track the site they just came from? the search word they used to get there?
• Most importantly…make sure you add the information to your database….it’s almost impossible to retrieve later.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
The Importance of Tracking
Source: Leo Cullum, The New Yorker, 7/94
23
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Estimating LTV• Ultimately, run experiments to learn how to
maximize LTVs. – Every contact with your customers is an opportunity to
test your customer retention strategies.– For example, if you haven’t heard from someone in six
months should you?– send a “we miss you” email– phone them– mail them a coupon.– do nothing.– do nothing, but if they do return say “we missed you”
– You should…test each of these strategies, track the resulting LTVs and see which one leads to the highest LTV.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
The Challenges of Testing
• The firm has to admit it doesn’t have all the answers.
• The firm has to try things it believes aren’t the best.
• Tests add work for everyone. (Instead of mastering one way to handle a situation, service reps have to randomly apply k ways.)
24
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
ExampleAn Internet Service Provider charges $19.95 per month. Variable costs are about $1.50 per account per month. With marketing spending of $6 per year, their attrition is only 0.5% per month. At a monthly discount rate of 1%, what is the LTV of a customer?
$M = $19.95 - $1.50
= $18.45
$R = $6/12 = $0.5
r = 0.995
d = 0.01
LTV = [$18.45 – $0.5]× [1+.01)/(1+.01-0.995)]
LTV = $1,209
LTV = [$M – $R]× [(1+d)/(1+d-r)]
LTV = [$17.95]× [66.3]
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Example (continued)
If the firm cuts retention spending from $6 to $3 per year, they expect attrition will go up to 1% per month.
Should they do it?
Don’t move to the next slide until you have an answer.
25
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Example (continued)
To decide, we need to recalculate LTV under these new assumptions. If the new LTV is higher, we should do it. Otherwise, we should not.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Example (continued)An Internet Service Provider charges $19.95 per month. Variable costs are about $1.50 per account per month. With marketing spending of $3 per year, their attrition will be1% per month. At a monthly discount rate of 1%, what is the LTV of a customer?
$M = $19.95 - $1.50
= $18.45
$R = $3/12 = $0.25
r = 0.99
d = 0.01
LTV = [$18.45 – $0.25]× [1+.01)/(1+.01-0.99)]
LTV = $919
LTV = [$M – $R]× [(1+d)/(1+d-r)]
LTV = [$18.2 ]× [50.5 ]
26
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Example (continued)
The new LTV is LOWER.
The savings in retention spending is NOT worth the increased attrition.
The firm should stick with the $6 retention spending.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Example—acquisition spendingThis same ISP spends $5 per prospect to initiate the first signup. They are successful 5% of the time.
They have considered a more aggressive acquisition plan costing $10 per prospect. What success rate must this new plan have in order to be preferred to the old one?
(Assume the ISP must use one plan or the other, and cannot use both.)
You are encouraged to try this one on your own. A solution appears on the next slide.
27
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Example—acquisition spendingWith the old plan, $5 buys them a 0.05 chance of acquiring a new customer. If the new customer has a LTV of $1,209, the expected NPV of the $5 investment is 0.05*$1,209 - $5 or $55.45. In other words, the LTV of a prospect is $55.45. Again, under these assumptions the ISP should be making as many of these investments in acquisition as possible.
For the new plan to do just as well, its acquisition rate must be such that the LTV of a prospect is at least $55.45. A little algebra or goal seek shows that the acquisition rate must be at least 0.054.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTV
These examples should give you a taste for the kinds of analysis that are possible using this simplest LTV model.
If the firm was able to develop schedules of how r varied with $R and how the acquisition rate varied with acquisition spending, it would be able to find the optimal balance between retention and acquisition spending.
28
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Models
Only in very simple situations is it possible to write a formula for LTV. When the situation gets more complicated, build an electronic spreadsheet model to calculate LTV.
See the next slide for an example.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
Consider an online content provider selling annual subscriptions to its service. Regular subscriptions are priced at $99 with a one-year initial trial available for $56.
By company policy, subscribers are not automatically renewed each year. The average amount the company spends in efforts to renew someone’s subscription depends on whether or not they achieve success. The renewal cost for successful renewals averages about $2. For unsuccessful renewals, the cost is $11.
The incremental cost to provide the content to each subscriber is negligible.
29
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
Historically, the company converts about 40% of its initial $56 trial subscribers into $99 regular subscribers. Renewal rates for regular subscribers are running 70% the first year, 90% the second year, and are expected to level off at 95% each year thereafter. The firm uses a 15% hurdle rate.
What is the LTV of a new trial subscriber?
What is the LTV of a first-time regular subscriber?
What is the LTV of a two-time regular subscriber?
What is the LTV of a three-time regular subscriber?
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
SUMMARY OF SITUATION
Initial subscription price $56
Conversion rate 40%
Regular subscription price $99
Renewal rates 70%, 90%, 95% thereafter.
Variable Cost = $0
Renewal Spending = $2 if successful, $11 if not.
Hurdle rate = 15%
Horizon—use 15 years.
Fire up your spreadsheet and try this one yourself.
Move to the next slide when you are ready to look at a solution.
30
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Click here if youwant to move on.
Click here if youwant a detailed
explanation of thisspreadsheet.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
We arbitrarily start with 1,000 trial subscribers
31
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
40% convert to regular
subscriptions
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
70% resubscribeat end of year 2.
32
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
$2 per success, $11 per failure
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
NPV at year 0 of year 0-15 cash flows
is $186,059.
33
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
NPV at year 1 of year 1-15 cash
flows.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
NPV at year 0 per year 0 customers.
34
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
So the LTV of an initial subscriber
is $186.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
The LTV of a new regular subscriber is
$395.
35
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
The LTV of a two-time regular
subscriber is $494.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Renewal cost if success 2$ Renewal cost if fail 11$ Conversion rate 0.4Renewal rates 0.7
0.90.95
Hurdle rate 0.15
Year 0 1 2 3 4Number of subscribers 1000 400 280 252 239.4Revenue 56,000$ 39,600$ 27,720$ 24,948$ 23,701$ Renewal Costs 7,400$ 1,880$ 812$ 617$ 587$ Cash Flow 48,600$ 37,720$ 26,908$ 24,331$ 23,114$ NPV 186,059$ 158,078$ 138,411$ 128,229$ 119,483$ LTV 186.06$ 395.19$ 494.33$ 508.84$
Modeling LTVMore Complicated Model
Click here if youwant to see the
spreadsheet.Click here if youwant to move on.
36
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Modeling LTVMore Complicated LTV Model
• Does it make sense to you that– The LTV of a trial subscriber is $186,– The LTV of a first-time regular subscriber Is
$395,– The LTV of a two-time regular subscriber is
$494,– The LTV of a three-time regular subscriber is
$509?• Can you explain why these LTVs go up?
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Caveats of LTV analysis
• While it is good that LTV analysis helps the firm focus on serving individual customers, the firm shouldn’t expect their customers to do everything. The customers are not going to– develop the next big thing– warn the firm about impending competitive entry…the
firm will only find out after it’s too late--when the customers have left.
• Share of customer (wallet) (requirements)
37
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Caveats of LTV analysis
• The LTV of a customer accounts for the cash flows from that customer.
• There are other reasons to acquire a customer beyond his/her cash flows:– Acquiring customers can help discourage competition.– Acquiring customers can help secure financing.– Acquiring customers can make it easier to acquire
future customers and can raise the LTVs of future acquired customers—(network effects..think AOL, Ebay) (Michael Jordan).
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Which firm is doing better?FIRM A 1 2 3 4 5Revenue 833.33$ 1,166.67$ 1,700.00$ 2,553.33$ 3,918.67$ COGS 708.33$ 991.67$ 1,445.00$ 2,170.33$ 3,330.87$ Marketing 100.00$ 150.00$ 230.00$ 358.00$ 562.80$ Profit 25.00$ 25.00$ 25.00$ 25.00$ 25.00$
Cogs/Rev 85.0% 85.0% 85.0% 85.0% 85.0%Mkt/Sales 12.0% 12.9% 13.5% 14.0% 14.4%ROS 3.0% 2.1% 1.5% 1.0% 0.6%
FIRM B 1 2 3 4 5Revenue 1,320.43$ 1,385.18$ 1,463.16$ 1,557.07$ 1,670.17$ COGS 1,122.37$ 1,177.40$ 1,243.69$ 1,323.51$ 1,419.65$ Marketing 173.06$ 182.78$ 194.47$ 208.56$ 225.53$ Profit 25.00$ 25.00$ 25.00$ 25.00$ 25.00$
Cogs/Rev 85.0% 85.0% 85.0% 85.0% 85.0%Mkt/Sales 13.1% 13.2% 13.3% 13.4% 13.5%ROS 1.9% 1.8% 1.7% 1.6% 1.5%
38
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Which firm is doing better?Firm A 1 2 3 4 5New Customers 1.33 2.00 3.07 4.77 7.50Total Customers 3.33 4.67 6.80 10.21 15.67Sales/Customer 250.00$ 250.00$ 250.00$ 250.00$ 250.00$ Mkt/New Cust 75.00$ 75.00$ 75.00$ 75.00$ 75.00$ Churn rate 20% 20% 20% 20%
Firm BNew Customers 1.86 1.97 2.09 2.24 2.43Total Customers 3.86 4.05 4.28 4.55 4.88Sales/Customer 342.00$ 342.00$ 342.00$ 342.00$ 342.00$ Mkt/New Cust 93.00$ 93.00$ 93.00$ 93.00$ 93.00$ Churn rate 46% 46% 46% 46%
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Comparing LTVs
LTV = [$M – $R]× [(1+d)/(1+d-r)]
$M = $250(.15)
= $37.50
$R = $0
r = 0.80
d = 0.15
$M = $342(.15)
= $51.30
$R = $0
r = 0.54
d = 0.15
FIRM A FIRM B
LTV = [$37.5 – $0]× [(1+.15)/(1+.15-0.8)] LTV = [$51.3 – $0]× [(1+.15)/(1+.15-0.54)]
LTV = $123 LTV = $97
LTV = [$37.5]× [3.29] LTV = [$51.3]× [1.89]
39
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Which firm is doing better?
• FIRM A– Customer LTVs of
$123.– Customer acquisition
costs of $75.– 15.67 active customers
at end of year 5.– Terminal Value =
15.67($123) = $1,931.
• FIRM B– Customer LTVs of
$97.– Customer acquisition
costs of $93.– 4.88 active customers
at end of year 5.– Terminal Value =
4.88($97) = $472.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Which firm is doing better?
FIRM A
And we realize this only after looking at CUSTOMERS.
40
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Additional Reading(required)
• Stewart Alsop. “The Price Tag on You is What Drives Net Stocks.” Fortune (March 1, 1999). Two-page article with quick and dirty speculative calculations for the LTV of AOL and Amazon customers and comparisons to Market Cap per customer.
You should find a link to this article on the course website.
Copyright © 2000. Paul Farris, Phil Pfeifer, and the Darden School Foundation
Additional Reading(optional)
• Robert C. Blattberg and John Deighton. “Manage Marketing by the Customer Equity Test.” Harvard Business Review (July-Aug 1996). They define customer equity to be the sum of the LTVs of all current customers and present a version of the simple LTV model.
• F. Robert Dwyer. “Customer Lifetime Valuation to Support Marketing Decision Making.” Journal of Direct Marketing 3(4) Autumn 1989. Award-winning article illustrating the usefulness of LTV calculations.
• Don Peppers and Martha Rogers. Enterprise One to One (New York: Currency Doubleday, 1997), chapter 2. This chapter captures the main ideas in the presentation.