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E-Marketing: A Consumer Behavior Perspective Professor: Jacques Nantel , Ph.D Director: RBC Financial group Chair in e- Commerce HEC Montréal May 2006

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E-Marketing: A Consumer Behavior Perspective Professor: Jacques Nantel , Ph.D Director: RBC Financial group Chair in e-Commerce HEC Montréal May 2006 . World Wide. More and more people have access to the Web or other forms of e-commerce - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

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Page 1: World Wide

E-Marketing: A Consumer Behavior Perspective Professor: Jacques Nantel, Ph.D

Director: RBC Financial group Chair in e-CommerceHEC Montréal

May 2006 

Page 2: World Wide

World Wide

• More and more people have access to the Web or other forms of e-commerce

• More and more are seeking information through the Web before buying

• More and more are actually buying on the Web

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Source: eMarketer Sept 2005

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U.S. e-retailing as a % of total Retail

0.0%

0.5%

1.0%

1.5%

2.0%

2.5%

3.0%

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Active Home Internet Users by Country, November 2005

Country October2005

November2005

Change (%) One-MonthChange

Australia 9,935,596 9,887,757 -0.48 -47,838

Brazil 11,729,619 12,529,892 6.82 800,273

France 16,165,914 16,855,607 4.27 689,693

Germany 30,839,556 31,840,403 3.25 1,000,846

Italy 17,342,870 16,923,740 -2.42 -419,130

Japan 39,634,969 39,122,810 -1.29 -512,159

Spain 10,482,927 11,055,277 5.46 572,349

Sweden 4,852,251 4,810,817 -0.85 -41,434

Switzerland 3,510,823 3,602,570 2.61 91,747

UnitedKingdom

23,369,623 23,586,055 0.93 216,432

UnitedStates

142,174,091 142,704,415 0.37 530,325

Total 310,038,240 312,919,343 0.93 2,881,103

Source: Nielsen//NetRatings, 2005

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But unlike what was thought 3 years ago

• With some exceptions (music) the Web doesn’t belong to pure players

• The Web doesn’t belong neither to conventional retailers

• The Web is truly Multi-Channel

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Why are consumers active on the Web?

– Accessibility– Diversity– Customization – Prices

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2- Relationship Marketing versus Mass marketing

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Marketing through the Web

• How to get known

• Personalization and customization

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How to get known

1. Your name

2. External advertising

3. Organic optimisation

4. Paid optimisation

5. Web advertising

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How do consumers surf on the net while looking for a product or a service ?

Source: The e-tailing group (April 2004)

0% 5% 10% 15% 20% 25% 30%

Alternative Portals (eBay, Amazon etc)

Comparative portals

Traditional portals

Dont know

Affiliate Marketing

Search engine

E-mail

Catalogue

Direct to the URL

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How do consumers surf on the net while looking for a product or a service ?

Source: The e-tailing group (April 2004)

0% 5% 10% 15% 20% 25% 30%

Alternative Portals (eBay, Amazon etc)

Comparative portals

Traditional portals

Dont know

Affiliate Marketing

Search engine

E-mail

Catalogue

Direct to the URL

25%

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Optimisation on search engines

• Organic

• Paid

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Basics of search engine optimisation

• Write good content• Use key Words (keyword, meta-tag)• Your domain name (URL)• Think about spelling • Write descriptive page titles • Use real headings • Use search engine friendly URLs • Get linked to • Use valid, semantic, lean, and accessible

markup • Don’t try to fool the search engines

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Paid positions

• There is a nominal, one-time activation fee for Google AdWords. After that, you pay only for clicks on your keyword-targeted AdWords ads, or for impressions on your site-targeted AdWords ads. You can control your costs by telling us how much you're willing to pay per click or per impression and by setting a daily budget for spending.

For example, a new advertiser paying in USD can activate his/her AdWords account with just US$5.00, and can then choose a maximum cost-per-click (CPC) from US$0.01 - US$100.

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Basic tools

• Web logs• http://www.alexa.com/• http://www.wordtracker.com

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Personalization(Wind Jerry (2001) Journal of Interactive Marketing

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Personalization

• Reduces acquisition costs

• Increases loyalty

• Increases AOV

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More than just transactions the Web is also a matter of information • On a site

– Cookies– Password

• Through consortiums (Double click)– Cookies– Ad Servers

• Third parties – Microsoft Passport– N-case – 180Solutions - MetricsDirect

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What is done with it ?

• Site Personalization

• Cross Marketing

• Affiliate marketing

• Adapted advertising– http://www.180solutions.com/pages/

advertisers.aspx

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Basic metrics

• CPM

• CTR

• CPC

• AOV

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Strategies are getting more focused

2000 2004No of impressions 180 milliards 980 milliards

No of Web users 137 millions 193 millions

No sites/week. 41 268Ad market 8$ milliards 9.6$ milliardsCTR 2% 0,41%CPM 25$ 10.30$CPC 25$/20=1.20$ 10.30$/4=2.60$

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More focused strategies

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