wordcamp phoenix 2012 google adwords ppc keyword & campaign strategy
DESCRIPTION
Scott Yacko and Jonathan Kressaty's presentation on PPC Keyword & Campaign strategies using Google Adwords at WordCamp Phoenix 2012.TRANSCRIPT
DRIVING CONVERSIONSWITH PAID SEARCH
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Scott Yacko & Jonathan Kressaty
WordCamp Phoenix 2012
WHAT IS PPC ADVERTISING?_ PPC stands for “Pay-Per-Click”
_ PPC is an online advertising model where advertisers pay only when an ad is clicked
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WHY USE PPC?_ Instant first page placement
_ You only advertise to people who are looking for what you have right now
_ You only pay when they respond - when they click through to your site
_ Pricing is determined by an ongoing, real-time auction based on true market values
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MAJOR PPC NETWORKS
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Google Adwords
Microsoft AdCenter Facebook
WHAT IS GOOGLE ADWORDS?_ Adwords is a platform
that allows advertisers to display ads in search results or web content on a CPC or CPM basis
_ Adwords is for Advertisers, Adsense is for Publishers
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GoogleProperties
SearchPartners
ContentPublishers
Includes:_ Tesco_ Ask.com_ AOL_ BT_ Virgin Net_ NTL World
Includes:_ Google_ Google
Product Search_ Gmail_ YouTube
Includes:_ New York
Times Online_ NTL_ Daily Mail_ Virgin
GOOGLE AD NETWORKS
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Search Network
Display Network Video Ads
Search AdDisplay Ad(Image Ad)
Video Ad(YouTube)
ANATOMY OF ASEARCH RESULTS PAGE
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Search QueryPaid Search
Results
OrganicSearch Results
(Ranking determined by “relevance”)
SEARCH CAMPAIGNSTRUCTURE
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Campaign
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Text Ads
Keywords
KW Bids
Text Ads
Keywords
KW Bids
Geographic TargetingLanguage TargetingDaily BudgetDevice TargetingDay Partitioning
3 Critical Componentsof an Adwords Campaign}
}
CAMPAIGN SETUP
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CREATING AN AD GROUP
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Create Ads
Enter Keywords
GREAT AD GROUPS STARTWITH KEYWORDS_ Identify your ideal prospect
_ Do thorough keyword research
_ Look at your competition
_ Use proper match types
_ Use negative keywords
_ Keep ad groups “tightly targeted”
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GETTING STARTEDWITH KEYWORDS_ Think of your ideal prospect (very specific)
_ Ex: “My ideal prospect is someone who has a large collection of CDs, recently purchased an MP3 player, and wants someone else to convert the CDs to MP3 for them.”
_ Write down a list of 10 keywords such that you believe one in
three people searching for each term would be your ideal prospect
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BUILDING A KEYWORD LISTGoogle Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Keyword Tool
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RelativeCompetition
SearchVolume
BUILDING A KEYWORD LISTGoogle Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Keyword Tool
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BUILDING A KEYWORD LISTGoogle Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Traffic Estimator
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EstimatedDaily Cost
EnterKeywords
Enter a Max CPC and budget
Set Geo & Language Targeting
KEYWORDMATCHING OPTIONS
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Match Type: Shows For Queries:
Use Phrase and Exact Match to Improve CTR & ROI
EXACT MATCHEx. [Red Shoes] Red Shoes
BROAD MATCHEx. Red Shoes
Red Shoes, Red, Shoes,Green Shoes, Red Rocks
PHRASE MATCHEx. “Red Shoes”
Red Shoes, Nike Red Shoes, Buy Red Shoes
USING NEGATIVE KEYWORDS
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NegativeMatches:
software, burner
NEGATIVE MATCH KEYWORDSAd Group > Keywords > See Search Terms
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Negative Matches:hardware, vortexbox
KEYWORD LISTBUILDING STRATEGY_ Start with a small list of 10-20 keywords that fit your ideal prospect
_ Use only “Phrase” and [Exact] match
_ Monitor your actual search terms
_ Add -Negative keywords where appropriate
_ Add additional [Exact] match keywords where appropriate
_ Repeat, Repeat, Repeat...
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KEEP AD GROUPSTIGHTLY TARGETED
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WHY?
GOOGLE QUALITY SCORE
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Quality Score(X/10)
+CTR
LandingPage
AdText Keyword
SEARCH AD RANKAd Rank = Quality Score x Bid
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3
4
5678
SEARCH AD RANKAd Rank = Quality Score x Bid
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ADVERTISER ABid = $0.75QS = 7AR = 0.75 x 7AR = 5.25
POSITION #1
ADVERTISER BBid = $0.50QS = 10AR = 0.50 x 10AR = 5.00
POSITION #2
ADVERTISER CBid = $1.00QS = 4AR = 1.00 x 4AR = 4.00
POSITION #3
HOW MUCH WILL I PAY?
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Actual Cost = Ranking Score of Position Below
Quality Score of Your Ad+ $0.01
ADVERTISER ABid = $0.75QS = 7AR = 0.75 x 7AR = 5.25
POSITION #1(5.00/7)+0.01
CPC = 0.72
ADVERTISER BBid = $0.50QS = 10AR = 0.50 x 10AR = 5.00
POSITION #2(4.00/10-)+0.01
CPC = 0.41
ADVERTISER CBid = $1.00QS = 4AR = 1.00 x 4AR = 4.00
POSITION #3(2.50/4-)+0.01
CPC = 0.64
HOW DO I ACHIEVE A HIGH QS?_ Keep Ad Groups Small and Targeted
_ Write Targeted Ads
_ Landing Page Relevance
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WHAT IF ADVERTISER ARAISES ITS QS TO 10?
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OPTIMIZEDBid = $0.75QS = 10AR = 0.75 x 10AR = 7.50
POSITION #1(5.00/10)+0.01
CPC = 0.51
BASELINEBid = $0.75QS = 7AR = 0.75 x 7AR = 5.25
POSITION #1(5.00/7)+0.01
CPC = 0.72
VS.A 29.2%
Reductionin Cost!
WRITING TARGETED ADS_ Include keywords in the ad text
_ Include a differentiator
_ Include a call to action (if appropriate)
_ Choose the right landing page
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USE YOUR KEYWORDSIN YOUR ADS
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Search Terms arebolded in ads
Include a differentiator
CHOOSE THE RIGHTLANDING PAGE_ Home Page or Deep Linking?
_ As a general rule, the fewest clicks to achieve a conversion is best.
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EXAMPLESearch Term: Hedge Trimmer
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EXAMPLESearch Term: Hedge Trimmer
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KEYWORD BIDDING STRATEGY_ Know what a visitor to your site is worth
_ Calculate your break-even
_ Set a target ROI for your advertising
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WHAT IS A VISITOR WORTH?_ Average Sale Revenue = $150
_ My Costs (Materials, Labor, Shipping) = $100
_ Average Margin = $50 per sale
_ Website Conversion Rate = 2%
_ Each visitor is worth $50 x 0.02 = $1.00 (This is your break-even)
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CALCULATING YOUR MAX CPC_ Each visitor is worth $50 x 0.02 = $1.00
_ I want to make 30% ROI on my advertising $
_ My Max CPC should be $1 x (100% - 30%)
_ Max Bid = $0.70
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TIP: Bid $0.02 above round numbers (Max Bid = $0.72)
CAMPAIGN OPTIMIZATION
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_ Improve Quality Score_ Split Test Ad Copy_ Adjust Keyword Bids_ Utilize Position Prefs
_ Split Test Landing Page Copy_ Improve Call to Action_ Experiment with Deep Linking_ Look at Bounce Rates_ Look at Cart Abandonment
IMPRESSIONS
CONVERSIONS(Sales/Leads)
CLICKS(Site Visits)
Add Keywords to get more impressions
Optimize your ads to get more clicks
Optimize your landing page to get more conversionsCR
CTR
QUESTIONS?
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Scott Yacko - [email protected] - @scottmyacko
Jonathan Kressaty - [email protected] - @kressaty