syracuse nyla

Click here to load reader

Post on 02-Nov-2014

414 views

Category:

Education

4 download

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

 

TRANSCRIPT

  • 1. What is the Future?
    The Future is Now.
    Stephen Abram, MLS
    Carol A. Kearney School Library Leadership Retreat
    SSL/NYLA Ithaca, NY
    August 1, 2011
  • 2. Timing
    Of
    Influence
  • 3. News Flash
    News Flash
    Tech Shift Happens
    People Shift Follows
  • 4. Serve Everyone!
    IQ, Eyes, Post-Millennials, Genome, Sources, etc.
  • 5.
  • 6. Sensemaking
  • 7. What has changed academically?
    Recognize some of the key shifts:
    Library at the center of academic settings NOT.
    Serials versus Books
    Non-fiction versus fiction
    Teens versus the rest
    Administration and Faculty Shift
    Discipline versus inter-disciplinary
    Technology as a tool, not the goal
  • 8. List of content farms and general spammy user generated content sites: (Panda)
    • Experts Exchange (experts-exchange.com)
    • 9. eZine Articles (ezinearticles.com)
    • 10. Find Articles (findarticles.com)
    • 11. FixYa (fixya.com Helium (helium.com)
    • 12. Hub Pages (hubpages.com)
    • 13. InfoBarrel (infobarrel.com)
    • 14. Livestrong (livestrong.com)
    • 15. Mahalo (mahalo.com)
    • 16. Mail Archive (mail-archive.com)
    • 17. Question Hub (questionhub.com)
    • 18. Squidoo (squidoo.com)
    • 19. Suite101 (suite101.com)
    • 20. Twenga (twenga.com)
    • 21. WiseGeek (wisegeek.com)
    • 22. Wonder How To (wonderhowto.com)
    • 23. Yahoo! Answers (answers.yahoo.com)
    • 24. Xomba (xomba.com)
    • 25. All Experts (allexperts.com)
    • 26. Answers (answers.com)
    • 27. Answer Bag (answerbag.com)
    • 28. Articles Base (articlesbase.com)
    • 29. Ask (ask.com)
    • 30. Associated Content (associatedcontent.com)
    • 31. BizRate (bizrate.com)
    • 32. Buzle (buzzle.com)
    • 33. Brothersoft (brothersoft.com)
    • 34. Bytes (bytes.com)
    • 35. ChaCha (chacha.com)
    • 36. eFreedom (efreedom.com)
    • 37. eHow (ehow.com)
    • 38. Essortment (essortment.com)
    • 39. Examiner (examiner.com)
    • 40. Expert Village (expertvillage.com)