performance marketing
DESCRIPTION
An introduction to Performance Marketing by Lion & LionTRANSCRIPT
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LION & LION
October 2014
The Digital Agency
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Overview
Google Search
Google Display
YouTube
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General TermsConcepts to be familiar with
SERP- Search Engine Results Page
SEM – Search Engine Marketing
Root keyword: keyword related to the product or service
Modifiers: these keywords reference an intention, target very specific searches and so provide very relevant ads
Impressions: number of times our ad has appeared in the search results
Average position: position in which our ad comes in the SERP
CPC – Cost Per Click
CTR – Click Through Rate: Clicks / Impressions
Conversion: when someone clicks our ad and then takes an action defined as valuable to your business
CPA – Cost Per Acquisition: amount we are paying or willing to pay for each conversion
Conversion Rate: Conversions / Visits
Bounce Rate: number of times a visitor left your site from the entrance page without interacting with the page
LIS – Lost Impression Share: number of times your ad did not show because the quality or the budget was too low
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What is Performance Marketing?
It refers to marketing techniques and campaigns by which the advertiser pays to reach measurable reaction of internet users and increase the chance of a tangible outcome (conversions or transactions)
Pull
• SEM (Google/Yahoo)
Push
• Google Display Network
• Other display networks
• Facebook Classical Ads
• Facebook Promoted Page posts/Sponsored Stories
Retargeting
• Remarketing• Facebook Exchange
(FBX)• Facebook Custom
Audiences• Retargeting platforms
- Confidential - 5Source: Think With Google
Multi-channel analysis provides insight on how and when channels impact purchase decisionsConsumer Journey
Awareness Consideration Intent Decision
Assist Interaction
Last Interaction
Organic
Direct
Thanks to our multidisciplinary team, we are able to run campaigns in all the different channels and hit the targets L'Oréal sets up
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Overview
Google Search
Google Display
YouTube
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When people search on Google, it is important that the text in the ad matches the words they searched forChannel Overview – Search
Guidelines we follow when creating ad text:
General: Use the Keyword at least 3 times
Headline: Be specific and attractive to the user
Description Lines: Be the solution to the users’ problems, offer an advantage, or use a Call To Action (CTA)
We customize ad texts, and A-B test ads to optimise results
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‘Long tail bidding’ leads to less competition and a lower cost-per-click (CPC)Channel Overview – Search
Monthly Search Volume
Low relevancy
High competition
High relevancy
Low competition
150 +review +women +makeup
1,200 +women +makeup
3,600 +makeupWe go deep into long tail bidding on
keywords that are more specific and relevant
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The aim with modifier groups is to capture long tail traffic and match it with precise ads to gain a high ‘Quality Score’Channel Overview – Search
Root Keyword 2Cream
Root Keyword 1Foundation
Root Keyword 3…
Modifier Group 3Buy
Modifier Group 1Review
Modifier Group 5Cost
Modifier Group 4Best
Modifier Group 2Women
Modifier Group X…
Negative Keywords: keywords that prevents your ad from being triggered by a certain word or phrase. It tells Google not to show your ad to anyone who is searching for that
phrase. e.g. house foundations – Negative = “house”
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A. How is an ad’s position (Ad Rank) determined?
Bid: What we say to Google what are we willing to pay as maximum cost per click.
Quality Score: Quality Score is an estimate of the quality of your ads, keywords and landing page. It is a
score from 1 to 10 given by Google to measure ad quality. It depends on CTR, Ad Relevancy and
Landing Page Experience.
Ad Extensions: Additional information we can put in Ads to show to the user, such as an address, phone
number, store rating, or more webpage links.
Source: Insights on the Adwords Auction
The Ad Rank is a value that is used to determine thead position and whether your ads will show at allGoogle’s auction
Ad Rank = Bid X Quality Score X Ad Extensions
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B. This is how it works: 4 advertisers competing for 3 spots
Source: Insights on the Adwords Auction
Even if our competitors bid higher than us, we can still win a higher position with highly relevant keywords and adsGoogle’s auction
Advertiser Bid Quality Score Format Impact Ad Rank
A 4 1 No formats 4
B 3 3 Low 9
C 2 6 High 12
D 1 8 Medium 8
Advertiser Bid Quality Score Format Impact Ad Rank
C 2 6 High 12
B 3 3 Low 9
D 1 8 Medium 8
A 4 1 No formats 4
After Google’s Auction
OUT
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C. How much does each advertiser pay?
Source: Insights on the Adwords Auction
Advertisers will pay the minimum required to hold their ad position against the advertiser immediately below Google’s auction
Advertiser
Bid Quality ScoreFormat Impact
Ad Rank Actual CPC
C 2 6 High 12 9/6=1.5
B 3 3 Low 9 8/3=2.7
D 1 8 Medium 8 Min price
Actual CPC = Competitor’s Ad Rank / Our Quality Score
If the advertiser immediately below you bids the same and has the same quality score as you (and has equal-performing extensions and ad formats), you would typically need to bid a cent more than your starting bid to rank higher than that advertiser, and maintain your position and ad formats.
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Optimisation is key in order to reach the targets set by the client and outperform our competitorsCampaign Optimisation
Budget allocation / Bid
optimisation
Ad rotation (A/B testing)
Search Query reports
Adgroup / KW optimisation
Ad Schedule / Devices
Ad CostClicksImpressions CPCCTR LIS
Visits Bounce Rate RevenueConversion
RateCPA
Time on Site / Page views
Offsite:
Onsite:
An optimisation plan is extremely important since, in the digital scene, the user experience changes regularly and decisions need to be taken fast and accurately in order to hit the targets as soon as possible.
The main KPIs that Lion & Lion use to optimise can be summarised below:
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Overview
Google Search
Google Display
YouTube
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The Google Display Network is the #1 global display ad network, reaching over 90% of internet users worldwideGoogle Display Network Principles
Create a broad type of ads - text, image, call to action, animated and video ads
Place those ads on websites that are relevant to what we are selling (placements)
Show those ads to the people that are likely to be most interested
Advantages of Display Network
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GDN features placements, creatives and audience targeting tools to help advertisers connect with their audienceThree things make Display more advanced than Search
According to Lion & Lion’s methodology, starting broad, and testing systematically, allows us to find which ads, placements, target
groups (age / gender), topics, interests, etc are performing better
Targeting
• Contextual: Target specific KWs
• Topics: Target websites
• Interests: Target users
• Managed placements (choose the website)
Creatives
• For image display, the creatives can be different in colour, content, size, text or CTAs
Placements
• For display, there may be 100s or 1000s of sites displaying the ad, depending on your settings
1 2 3
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Optimisation on GDN relies principally on excluding those features that aren’t performing as expectedGDN optimisation
2. Isolate performing placements in separate ad groups
Performing placements are placements with a low CPA relative to placements in same adgroup.
Placement 1200 clicks, 3 conv.Placement 2100 clicks, 3 conv.Placement 3200 clicks, 4 conv.
Creative A300 clicks, 6 conv.
Creative B300 clicks, 4 conv.
CPA = $33
CPA = $18
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CPA = $25
AB
AC
AD
DE
E.. ..
..
3. Rotate creatives to continuously improve performance for the given placement
The “winning” ads will be the best, not on aggregate, but for the specific placement.
1. Adgroup optimisation
Analyse the performance of each adgroup, pause the ones which are not working and push the ones that achieve the best results (in terms of CPA principally)
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Remarketing allows us to target the most relevant potential leads – people who have already visited your websiteRemarketing Overview
2. Leaves websitewithout signing up. Cookie is dropped
1. Person visits website
4. (Hopefully) Clicks ad and returns to the website
3. The cookie is recognized when the user
visits a 3rd party site
All the possible users online
Users to be targeted with regular display ads
All the users in the re-targeting audience
Remarketing performance
Increase in Conversions Higher CTR
52%51%
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Overview
Google Search
Google Display
YouTube
- Confidential -Source:Lion&Lion
TrueView in-stream
• Commonly known as “pre-roll” video ads
• Highly engaging to the audience
TrueView in-search
Works similar as Google Search, where the ads are triggered based on users’ search queries
TrueView in-display
Appears besides a watched video as “recommended”
Demographics
Reach peopleby age
TopicsReach people
based on topics of the
videos
KeywordsReach people
using contextual targeting
InterestsReach people
by their interests
Targeting Options
Ad Format
s
YouTube offers different targeting options and three kinds of video ad formats depending on the goal of the campaignYoutube: Targeting and Ad formats
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Every month, more than one billionunique users visit YouTube
Every day, more than 100m Internet users watch an online video - 40% from mobile
Every minute, users upload more than 100 hours of content to YouTube
Beauty products Smartphones
78%
49%
61%
52%
YouTube influences recent purchases more strongly than
TV
78% of people who recently purchased a beauty product were influenced by YouTubeYoutube: Introduction
Source: A take on 2015 Market Trends-Nielsen
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Questions
1. Name the three factors that influence Quality Score.
CTR, Text of the Ads or the Ad, and the quality / relevancy of the landing page
2. If you have two ads rotating with 3% and 5% CTR respectively, pausing the first ad would have what impact on traffic?
Traffic should increase
3. Your budget of $250 a day goes from generating 38 conversions to only generating 19 conversions. What is the change in CPA?
Increases 100% / doubles