optimize ppc text ads
DESCRIPTION
You are not giving your PPC ads enough love. This presentation from SMX Sydney gives you a framework for ad testing as well as the common mistakes.TRANSCRIPT
Why We GenerallyStink at Testing
@JeffAllenUT
The Perfect Ad:Exists in a mythical land where seasons don’t exist competitors never change, and search engines stay the same.
Quick Wins & Easy Testing Ideas.
Common Testing Mistakes.
Ad Testing Framework.
I steal ideas.
5 quickAd Testing Wins
1. Choose the right ad format for the right average position.
Ads in top positions with d-line 1 in headline get 9% higher CTR’s than those without, but run-on ads not in top positions have 50% higher CTR’s.
Touring Michigan Wine – Wine-O-Wagon ToursAd www.fuitfulvinetours.com/Reserve your seats online now.
Wine Tours Dealswww.groupon.comSave 50% or More on Wine TastingNear You. Check Groupon First!
Examples
2. Segment by Device Type when concluding ad tests.
Get an instant 19% lift in salesWith mobile preferred ads.
Ad 1 IUC
Ad 2 IUC
1 Over 2
Total 65 78 +20%Desktop
59 74 +26%
Mobile 118 81 -31%
1. Must already have at least 2 ads per ad group.
2. Look at ads segmented by device.
3. If performance by device is different, select the ads that perform best on mobile and change to mobile preferred.
3. Segment by Network when concluding ad tests.
Ad 1 CTR
Ad 2 CTR
Ad 2 Wins!
Total 18.80% 18.04% -4%Google 18.31% 19.13% +5%Search Partners
29.17% 11.26% -62%
Search Partners have 2x CPA.Thus making this a win-win.
4. Test ads that go head-to-head with the competition with those that focus on differentiation.
Features/Benefits
Call-to-Action
Head-to-Head
• Free Shipping• Huge
Selection
• Shop Online• Order Online
Differentiation
• No Rx Needed• Free Lenses,
Save $200
• Talk With A Pro
• Find The Perfect Pair
5. Use Sitelinks that make sense with for the main destination URL.
Headlines 14,277 clicksSpecific Extensions 451 clicks
The result, or the warning sign that relevancy may be missing, is when CTR increases and CVR decreases.
When It Comes To TestingWe All Make 3 Mistakes
1. We use the wrong metrics to measure winners.
IUC = Impressions Until ConversionDPM = Dollars Per Thousand Impressions
IUC Ex.
5,000 impressions / 50 conversions = 100
DPM Ex.
($500 / 5,000 impressions) *1,000 = $100
Impr. Clicks Conv. CTR CVR IUCAd 1 18,314 670 40 3.7% 5.97% 17Ad 2 9,265 416 20 4.5% 4.95% 21Ad 3 15,267 625 39 4.1% 5.76% 16
Ad 3 was 2nd for both CTR & CVRbut had the best IUC.
2. We don’t wait long enough considering factors outside of our control.
Search Queries
Control SERP70%
30%FontText SizeImagesKnowledge GraphSitelinks“Ad” imagePLAsPersonalized Results
Search engines test upto 30% of traffic.
You Likely
Need 30% more traffic
Than you THINK
3. We lack intestinal fortitude.
Sales Cycle
Day 1 Day 90
Day 1 Day 90
New Ad Copy Launch Display
New Landing PagePause High CPA KWs Add Lifestyle Terms
Day 1 Day 90
New Landing PagePause High CPA KWs Add Lifestyle Terms
New Ad Copy Launch Display
Day 1 Day 90
Pause Low Close KWs
Day 91 Day 180
New Landing Pages
Appointments Sales
Add to Cart Sales
Specific Pages Lead Form Fills
Day 1 Day 30
Pause Low Appt KWs
Day 31 Day 60
New Landing Pages
Day 61 Day 90
New Ad Copy
Using Appointments as Intermediaries
This Testing Structure1. Increased Enrollments 39%.2. Increased Starts 150%.3. In 50% of the time.
Make Better Decisions With A Smart Testing Structure
Ad Testing Structure1. Start with landing page first.2. Gather group of 3 diverse people.3. Create list of most compelling
features and benefits to test.4. Create testing matrix with bracket
style competition between ads.5. Report business level insights up to
CMO, marketing department, etc.
Features/Benefits
Call-to-Action
Head-to-Head
• Free Shipping• Huge
Selection
• Shop Online• Order Online
Differentiation
• No Rx Needed• Free Lenses,
Save $200
• Talk With A Pro
• Find The Perfect Pair
Headline A: Rx Glasses
Headline B: Free Lenses with Glasses
Headline C: $19 Rx Glasses
D1a: 1000s of Frames to Choose From.
D1b: Free Shipping On All Frames.
D1c: Our Glasses Ship Without An Rx.
D2a: Quick Online Ordering!
D2b: Find Your Perfect Pair Online!
D2C: Fitting Reps Available 24/7.
Headline A + D1a + D2aHeadline B + D1a + D2aHeadline C + D1a + D2a
Headline A + D1b + D2aHeadline B + D1b + D2aHeadline C + D1b + D2a
Headline A + D1b + D2bHeadline B + D1b + D2bHeadline C + D1b + D2b
Roll-up Insights“Every time Free Shipping appears we see a 12% lift in IUC.”
“Every time we taught selection we see a 19% drop in CTR but a 10% lift in CVR.”
Ad Testing Structure1. Start with landing page first.2. Gather group of 3 diverse people.3. Create list of most compelling
features and benefits to test.4. Create testing matrix with bracket
style competition between ads.5. Report business level insights up to
CMO, marketing department, etc.
Jeff AllenHanapin Marketing@JeffAllenUT