making sense of online recruitment
TRANSCRIPT
Many companies are:
• Not tracking the source of their candidates
• Not measuring ROI
• Not optimizing recruitment
ad campaigns
We Have a Big Problem
• Make candidate source tracking a priority
• Assign someone to measure ROI
• Think like a CFO!
• Don’t just rely on HRIS/ATS admins
Step 1: Assign
• Sources are often:
– Omitted
– Too numerous
– Expired
• Applicants may:
– Not be careful
– Pick the wrong source on purpose
– Not know, as they came via multiple sites
Why Applicant Self-Select is Broken
Tracking with URL Parameter
http://www.myjobs.com/job.php?id=123&src=Indeed
• Used by applicant tracking systems
• Tracks specific applications, interviews, offers and hires
Tracking with Beacon
• Redirect URL sets a cookie to track user
• Used by ad agencies, job distributors, Web analytics
providers
• Tracks aggregate applications, and sometimes hires
Tracking with Beacon
Tracking URL Job Description
or Apply Form
Apply
Confirmation
Reporting System
DoubleClick, BlueStreak, Atlas, EyeBlaster
cookie
beacon
• Measure:
– # applications
– # interviews
– # hires
• Determine:
– Cost per applicant (CPA)
– Cost per hire (CPH)
Step 3: Analyze
• Cost per applicant (CPA):
– Total outside cost / number of applicants
– Example: $5,000 / 750 applicants = $6.67
• Cost per hire (CPH):
– Total outside cost / number of hires
– Example: $5,000 / 6 hires = $833
Step 3: Analyze
Cost per Hire Example
$0 $500 $1,000 $1,500 $2,000 $2,500 $3,000
Job Board 1
Job Board 2
Search Engine 1
Search Engine 2
Social Network
Recruiters
• Once you’ve done your analysis…
– Communicate underperformance
– Optimize where you can
– Shift budget to what’s working best
– Try new things and keep tracking
Step 4: Adjust
SEM for Recruitment
• SEM = Search Engine Marketing
• Exclusively pay per click
• Good for maximizing advertising ROI
• Types:
– Keyword advertising
– Sponsored jobs
• Keyword advertising setup:
– Pick keywords
– Write ad copy
– Choose landing page
– Specify maximum cost per click
• Ads will only be displayed when a user searches using
selected keywords
• Only charged when the ad is clicked on
SEM for Recruitment
SEM for Recruitment
• Pay-per-click sponsored jobs setup:
– Specify maximum cost per click
– Specify monthly budget
– No keyword lists, landing pages or creative needed!
• Each job is only shown as sponsored when it matches a
user’s search
• Only charged when a job is clicked on
• Linking direct to jobs means better conversions
Questions?
Jason Whitman
www.indeed.com/me/jasonwhitman
203-564-2420
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