internet market magic of getting found pt.ii
TRANSCRIPT
The Magic of Getting Found 2nd HalfThe Magic of Getting Found 2nd HalfBob BradleyScore114Bob BradleyScore114
ADDED FEATURESAND
TIPS AND TRICKS
Google AnalyticsGoogle Analytics
Monthly trends
Overall Data
Total visitors and where they came from
Analytics A Closer LookAnalytics A Closer Look
Search queries
On the Blog
The XML SitemapProvides a roadmap to help the Google search engine crawl a website more effectively.
Good for sites with AJAX or FLASH or a site that does not have good internal linking
HTML Sitemap
Can only be read by Google
There are Pro and Con arguments
The Cascading Style Sheet (CSS)The Cascading Style Sheet (CSS)
• Programming style that adds fonts, colors, spacing, navigation to web documents one time rather than on all pages.
• Good for SEO– Search Engine
friendly layouts– Can eliminate tables– Flexibility
http://www.w3.org/
WebsitesWebsites
When did GoogleBot last visit and what did it see?
Click on “Cached”
Put the “F” in Your SitePut the “F” in Your SiteHeatmaps from user eyetracking studies of three websites.
NAVIGATION RULES
Don’t make me thinkTwo Clicks to ActionTell me where I am andHow to get backMake stuff clickableCall(s) for action
10 SECONDS
BREAD CRUMBS
Google RulesGoogle RulesBlack Hat Techniques-Beware
• Keyword stuffing- putting keywords and phrases all over a page to make sure it gets indexed to those words
• Cloaking- showing one page to Googlebot and a completely different page to real human visitors. Google despises this aplenty.
• Invisible Text- Creating a “white on white” page that only the bots, crawlers and spiders can see with keyword all over them
• Doorway Pages- Pages made up for particular search terms for search engines that clutter the search results
Google Jail
Images Don’t RuleImages Don’t Rule
Oh, yea, I remember,
its called the
Alt Tag Workaround
<img src="../skin1/images/home/Tea.jpg" alt="bulk organic herbs and spices - wholesale and retail"/>
You can also put ordinary descriptive text adjacent to the image
Neither do these!Neither do these!
So Mr. Googlebot now you have me scared, are there other things you CAN’T do?
Yea there are someHave a hard time with FLASHHave some difficulty with JAVA SCRIPTHard to read DYNAMIC CONTENT
CSS, cascading style sheets, I can see the best
Get Listed LocallyGet Listed Locally
There are criteria for order of rankings• Keywords• Description• Categories• Photo• Location• Linking• Website
The SnippetThe Snippet
The HTML-View Source
Money does not buy this; algorithm driven
The SnippetThe Snippet
• A snippet is your URL and the 160 black characters from your website that appear on that results page.– A rich snippet is a more dynamic and visual sample
of your content on the same results page that may include reviews, pictures, or even a video.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/9440
http://www.seobook.com/
Tools Bars Etc.
From SEO for firefox add on
You can toggle information links and find out about sites
•Advertising
It is about CONVERSIONS
Getting them to do what you
want them to do
Customer AcquisitionCustomer Acquisition
• Are customers FREE?
III didn’t wake up
this morning
just to buy your stuff!!!
• Search Engine Results Pages
5%
Some web marketers claim that they get less than ___of their visits from search results
25%
are only
Of total number of web pages
This is why we don’t obsess about them
There are Crowded Serps There are Crowded SerpsSponsored Links appear at top of page
Local results appear at top of page
Even real time twitter results are beginning to appear
Some estimate that this takes up 80% of the “above the fold area”
Pay Per ClickPay Per Click
The NetworksThe Networks
Search Network(Think Rhode Island)
Display Network*(Think California)
*Formerly the Content Network
The Big Three + OneThe Big Three + One
Profile Information may allow good demographic targeting and results analysis
Understand the CTRUnderstand the CTR• The Click thru Rate (CTR) is obtained by
dividing the "number of users who clicked on an ad on a web page by the "number of times the ad was delivered" (impressions).
• For example, if a banner ad was delivered 100 times (impressions delivered) and one person clicked on it, The resulting CTR would be 1 percent.
It made me do
something
AdvertiserWants to show relevant ads
UserWants to see relevant ads
GoogleWants a good experience by both
The Google System
The interest of three parties must be satisfied
We want everybody happy because that means $$$$$
$4
$3
$2
$1
Max Bid
$3
$2
$1
Min
Price Paid
Quality Score
CTRRelevancyLanding Page
Now we add “QUALITY SCORE”
Factors
A Simple Look at Auction Basics
You only pay the bid of the advertiser below you
Knew u couldn’t keep it simple
$4
$3
$2
$1
Max Bid
Quality Score
1
3
6
8
=
Ad RankX
4
9
12
8
1
3
2
x
Amount Paid
Using the logic of paying only the amount of your next lowest competitor BUT applying the QUALITY SCORE as a factor, we come to a formula
The price that advertiser 1 has to pay is determined by dividing the AD RANK of the next lowest bidder by the QUALITY SCORE of the advertiser Then add $.01
The Ad Rank
=
=
=
$4
$4
$4
Max Bid
Quality Score
8
6
3
= Ad RankX
32
24
12
Actual CPC
Min Bid Price
(12/6)=$2.00
(24/8)=$3.00
No lower advertiser
Improve your CTR Improve everything
$4
$4
$4
Max Bid
Quality Score
8
6
3
= Ad RankX
32
24
12
Actual CPC
Min Bid Price
(12/6)=$2.00
(24/8)=$3.00
Improving your CTR
10 40 (24/10)=$2.40
So by increasing your QUALITY SCORE (a significant factor being CTR) you can decrease your CPC and not lose position
Take AwaysTake Aways
IT’S ABOUT THE CLICK
THROUGH RATE
Improving the CTRImproving the CTR• Relevant Keywords
(included in ad text)
• Simple, enticing ads with strong call to action
• Organize your account for maximum effectiveness
• Create ads that are highly targeted to the keywords in that Ad Group.
• Test, test, test
• Avoid using very general keywords (shoes).
• Focus on using targeted keywords which describe your actual products or service in a rather specific way (repair jogging shoes).
Improving the CTRImproving the CTR• Remember to Sell the benefits not the features
ConvenienceFewer KeystrokesImmediate informationDesigned just for youBuy it when you want itReady to use out of the box
Remember the drill and the hole!
Self setting clock50 number speed dialOne click financial reportsCustom ProgramsOpen 24 hoursBatteries included
Self-setting clock Self-setting clock Self-setting clock
Features?Benefits?
Which is which? I know, do you?
Features BenefitsBenefits?Features?The answer
•Landing Page
Why do I need this?
Its closes the deal!!
The Landing PageThe Landing Page
• Many marketers think that because they ran a very effective ad the sale is automatic– This couldn’t be further from the truth
• An effective ad ONLY gets people . Where the click takes you must
• That is the LANDING PAGE. This page is intrinsically connected to any ad or solicitation that you may initiate
AND
THE LANDING PAGE MAY CONTRIBUTE UP
TO 1/3 TO YOUR QUALITY SCOREto click
convert
Landing PageLanding Page
• Designed to convert– The objective is to get the “clicker” to take
some form of action that leads to a sale
There a few questions to ask yourself when creating a landing page:
– What are you offering?– Who do you wish to appeal to?– Why would they be interested in your offer?– What do they need to do to
participate/purchase?
Remember the….
Infomercial!!!!!
Landing PageLanding Page
• Call to action (multiple)
• Keep it logical• Keep it focused• White space is your friend• Good use of images• Fast load times• Testimonials
Or how about these that appeared on the top of serps in sponsored ads area
Which one(s) gets your attention?
Landing Page
Also note the organization of the navigation pane
The actual home page
Landing Page
Connecting the InformationConnecting the Information
Using Twitter to ConnectUsing Twitter to Connect
It goes to the twitter version of their home page which keeps a consistent message and view
•Adwords
You will see these off to the right of the Results pages
Pay Per ClickPay Per Click
• Guess what drives your ad appearing
e
K y Wr
od
s Holy Smokes BatmanAgain?
You buy KEYWORD PHRASES and you pay each time the ad is clicked
Adwords Starting OutAdwords Starting Out
Google AdwordsGoogle Adwords
• Determine what you can spend• Set your daily budget in Adwords
– You can adjust it at any time
• Determine your language settings • Determine your Geo-Targeting (local, regional)
Lotsa help from the providers
Key
The Anatomy of an AdThe Anatomy of an Ad
Questions generate clicksCompelling questions are betterBased on searchers needNeed Design Help?Need a Better Brand?Need Better Credit?
The title line is CLICKABLE
Tools: Google AdwordsTools: Google Adwords
Got Questions?Got Questions?
Adwords Help and Info Adwords Help and Info
Setting Up the CampaignSetting Up the Campaign
The CampaignThe Campaign
Words I chose
It also scanned my website and gave me other possible keywords
Pay Per ClickPay Per Click
Managing Keywords and tracking their performance
Controlling CostsControlling Costs
• Good ad performance• Good Landing page• Longer tail, targeted keywords will
reduce the clicks and increase the conversions
• Exact Phrase Match• GeoTarget your ads• Limit the days• Set a budget amount• Use negative keywords
Quality Score
Use “Position Preference” to control position of ad
Adwords-What to doAdwords-What to do
• Educate yourself or get outside education• Determine an amount you can spend over a
period of time ($500 over 2-3 months)• Determine important keyword phrases• Set up an AdGroup with the phrases (more
than one phrase)
• Make effective ads (entice, benefits, ask for order)
• Make it narrow at first– Limit daily budget– Limit to geographic regions– Limit to certain day.
And then measure the results, Why?
Do what works and do not do what does not work
Pros and ConsPros and Cons
• It is pretty simple (in concept)• Without proper management it can cost a fortune• Junk traffic can suck the life out of your program• There is no economy of scale-the more clicks the more it
costs (focus on conversion)
• It can generate traffic right away (within a few minutes)
• You can adjust to changing market conditions right away• Is effective to generate buzz for new product launch• It can be a bargain for niche, targeted keyword phrases
(For example, you might not want to pay the top bid for 'bicycles', but 'Landshark Bicycles' is probably a lot less expensive ($.10 per click as of this writing, actually).
Adwords More that You Can DoAdwords More that You Can Do
• Split Test your Landing page
• In marketing you are seldom right the first time-your initial landing page may not “close the deal”
• You can create several landing pages with different enticements, colors, offers, benefits
• When your ad is clicked it will randomly pick a landing page to show and provide data to indicate effectiveness of each landing page
Say What?
Heh, I’m no
engineer!!
Kewl Stuff…The Keyword Reverse EngineerKewl Stuff…The Keyword Reverse Engineer
You can test words by sending yourself emails in GMAIL using various keywords and see what ads appear.
Then you know what keywords result in what ads.
THE DISPLAY NETWORK
The Google Network is comprised of a large group of websites and other products that covers 80% of unique internet users around the world• Gmail• Blogs• Product Pages
Google claims over 6 billion ad impressions per day
Categories of display network partners
Click on “Automotive” and the partners websites are displayed with estimates of volume (visitors)
The Adsense ProgramThe Adsense ProgramThe Google Adsense Program is the “flip” side of the content advertiser.
Website owners sign up for the Adsense Program and allow ads to appear on their site(s).
Yes, you can m
ake money w
ith
the Adsense program
Setting it Up
Ads via Google AdsenseAds via Google Adsense
Ad GroupsAd Groups
• Ad Group- a family of keywords built around a common theme– Someone selling Movie Merchandise
• Matrix Clothing• Spiderman Games• Star Wars Toys
• Your ad group's entire keyword list helps determine where your ads show on the Content Network.
• Each ad group should have a cluster of 5 to 20 keywords that relate closely to one another and to the ads in that ad group.
• The more closely related your keywords, the more likely it is that your ads will find the right audience.
Keyword phrases chosen
Ad Group KeywordsAd Group Keywords
• Spiderman toys • Spiderman clothes • Figures Starwars• Spiderman pajamas• Matrix Clothes• Starwars DVD
• Ad Groups for – Spiderman Toys– Starwars Toys– Matrix Toys
• Ad Groups for– Games– Clothes
For Each Movie topic
Spiderman, Starwars and Matrix.
POOR
Too many different topics-hard to determine the right place to locate your ad
GOOD
Conversion TrackingConversion Tracking
Sort by column
EVERYTHINGSOCCER.COM
Advertising Professionals
Advertising-What to doAdvertising-What to do
• DIY or purchase the service• Study ads presented in your market (yellow section)
• Make effective landing page(s)• Start slowly with limitations
– Budget; Phrase match; long tail keywords; negative• Measure the results- what works what doesn’t• Expand keywords/adgroups and increase budget• Measure results and determine future strategy• Move to the display network (but carefully!)
• Measure the results• The end result will be maximum targeted visitors to
your site
Goals and ObjectivesGoals and Objectives
• Today– Lost and lonely site– 500 visits per month– 1% conversion– Not much money
made
• Tomorrow– Good SEO +500– Basic Adwords +1000– Conversion +1%
• The day after– Display Ads +2000– Conversion +2%
• Next Week– 7-8% conversionThis all a
ssumes you have
a good business model
Basic Website
Good business gets it rolling
Solid navigation and design keeps it going
Great SEO
Off page marketing
Search Advertising
Display Network
It Seems like a Lot of StuffIt Seems like a Lot of Stuff
• But…how do you eat an elephant?
One bite at a time
This is the…
Of Getting Found
FAQ’sFAQ’s
Are you for hire? No, even if I was, it is against the ethics of SCORE to use the organization for personnel gain.
Can I make an appointment with you about this topic? Yes, but I do not counsel very often. These workshops are designed to give you “self help” counseling. Check out my website/blog and review the materials and references. Follow me on Twitter/Facebook
Can you recommend anyone to do this for me?No. It is not in the SCORE mantra to recommend services for clients. This would turn us into a purchasing “filter”.
Where can I get additional help? These workshops are designed to facilitate your thinking so that you may be your own best resource. Does it take time?-YES, does it always reap the benefits you wish?-NO, but that is the essence of business.
GOOD LUCK!!Thank you and