impairment parameters look well below the surface joaquin gutierrez the world bank finsac - vienne...
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Impairment ParametersLook well below the surface
Joaquin GutierrezThe World Bank
FinSac - Vienne -- October 22, 2014
• Approaches for provisioning• Risks from derogating national accounting • (a few) Key issues in implementing IAS 39 • Take-away lessons• Appendixes (further reading)
Outline of Session
Note: This presentation provides a short summary of issues relevant for supervising under IAS 39. The presentation does not expand in discussing the basic standards proposed by IAS 39 and IFRS 9 neither provides a comparison of IAS 39 versus Basel II compliance differences.
2
• Traditional rules-based matrix (our national GAAP)∙ Simple, easy, consistent, less room for ‘optimization”.
• Principle-based: Current IAS 39 – Next IFRS 9∙ Divergent practices, Basel II effects ∙ More discretion/room for method/model “optimization”
• Must discover issues regarding the “key estimates”∙ IT/Data: length, scope, adjustments to historic estimates ∙ Future cash flows (FCFs) - assumption for projecting ∙ Modelling key parameters for collective provisioning∙ Depth of empirical loss evidence (loss crystallization)
• Mid-Path: centralized incurred loss model
Approaches (pros, cons, trade-offs)
3
• Weak reporting by EU banks (boiler plate wording disclosures).
• Challenges in clarity and universality.• Limited comparability of asset quality from obscure
definitions. • Lack of clear accounting definition of impaired loans
in IFRS. • Overlapping indicators of credit quality.• Refinancing obscures harmonized delinquency
triggers (90+)• Lack of comparable qualitative classification triggers• “Grey” forbearance practices – EBA raises the bar
(by Dec. 2014) ∙ Interpretation difficulties - Comparability problems ∙ Vague qualitative classification triggers∙ Little disclosure on model risk inputs (PD, LGD,
Cures, etc.).
Substantial divergence in EU practiceFitchRatings Special Report (13 May 2014)
4
Class/Criteria Payment
Experience
Industry Trend Enterprise Position
Financial Condition
Management Governan
ceViability Outlook
1-3 -- PASSGeneric
Provision = 1.5% -5 %
Factors (a) concentration, (b) underwriting, (c)
credit risk management; (d)
quality of information; (e)
economic outlook.
PunctualHigh Account Turnover
AcceptableAdequate demandAdequate profitsLiberalized industryMinimal competition
Above sector averageStrong competitive positionGood products and market
Profitable (ER)Liquid (LQ)Sufficient cash-Flow (CF)Low leverage (LV)Two repayment sourcesWorking Capital (WC) loans clearly supported
Capable/qualifiedNo doubt of integrityClear strategic visionVery professionalGood control/MISGood External Audit
No significant Risks
4- SPECIAL MENTION
(potential problems)
Provision = 5% - 15%
Delays < 90 DaysOccasional overdraftsHigh average balancesMedium turnoverMinor contract breachNew Loans supported
Some questionsIncome decreasingCompetition increasingPrice competition upOperating costs up
Within sector’s averageSome competitive Weakness
ProfitableAcceptable liquidityModerate leverageTwo repayment sourcesCF does not cover all operating costs and replacement of assets
Capable/qualifiedNo doubt of integritySome strategic problemsImproving control/MISCommitted owners and managersAcceptable Audit
Will survive problemsHas strength to copeOwners can supportNew capital available if neededNo major labor issues
(5) SUBSTANDAR
D Provision =
15-50%Interest
suspension + reversal
Past due > 90 daysRecurrent overdraftsLow account turnoverContract breach > 90dRenewals conceal financial problemsNo seasonal clean-upsWeak Documentation
VolatileWeak Co. under pressureIncome downDemand downLiberalization riskRaw materials riskDevaluation riskAdministered prices
Under sector’s averageDefined competition problemsTechnological weaknesses
Income low to zeroLow liquidityHigh leverageOne repayment sourceWeak cash flowCF < Principal + InterestIncrease in WC masks problems
Weak, low capacityLow experienceIntegrity in questionNo strategic visionWeak controls/MISGovernance conflictsWeak External Audit
Reliant on financingOwner support = ??Requires new marketingLatent future risksMinor labor excessesBasic problem = financialProduct and markets can recover
(6) DOUBTFUL Provision = 50% - 75%
Interest suspension and
reversal
Past due > 180 daysPermanent OverdraftsContract breach >180dRenewals capitalize interestPoor legal documentation (loan or claim to collateral)
PoorEarnings = or < zeroAcute price competitionHigh risk of liberalizationPrices downOperation restructuring requiredPolitical prices
Well < sector averageSerious competition problemAcute technology problemUrgent need to modernizeLosing marketsProduct problemsOver-extended
Operational lossesIlliquidSelling assets to surviveCF < interest serviceExcessive leverageInadequate payment sourceIncreased WC hides operational losses
Poor -- against the wallIncompetent -- hidingUn-cooperative, hostileDoubts on integrityLack of control/MISOwnership problemNo source of new capitalPoor External Audit
Operational problemsMajor labor excessRequires debt reliefDeep product restructuringDeep process restructuringNo full cost recovery
7 - LOSTProvision = 75% - 100%
Interest suspension and reversal
Past due > 360 daysNew loans to finance operational lossesClearly lack of evidence of loan or ability to liquidate collateral at predictable value
DyingStructural weaknessesAnachronisticLiberalization = extinction
Lower quartileCan’t competeObsolete technologyWeak productCountry riskMarginal role
High lossesSelling assets at lossesAcute CF & LV problemsCF < production costsNo identifiable repayment sources (except liquidation)
Very poorCan’t be trustedIncompetent and desperateChance of fraudNon-existent governance
Extremely questionableShould be liquidatedShould be fragmentedBase value on liquidationMinimal buyers
The rules based
(matrix
)
IBRD used since
late 80s
5
• EU members and accessing (Art.24 EU 575/2013)∙ Rely on IFRS by “derogation” of national accounting
• Consequences from derogation (new risks):∙ Lose the driver’s seat (now
pulled-by-bankers/auditors)∙ Mitigate discretion (conservative, cautious, justifiable)∙ Deploy capacity and expertise to assess estimates:
Stocktaking of local practice (survey – visits – compilation) Toolkit to benchmark banks’ assumptions and model inputs Repository of loss experience (require empirical evidence)
• Must offset potential surplus (Pillar 2 and overlays)
• Need to specify prudential standards/expectations
Repeal of the rule based approach
6
1. Precision of triggers for objective evidence of impairment (OIE) 2. Forbearance (treatment of refinancing, re-aging, restructuring,
other)3. Cur-off point: individually significant vs insignificant (collective)4. Estimation of cash flows (debt service, collateral, guarantees)5. Segmentation into pools of similar risk features (diverse attributes)6. Parameters for estimating collective provisions (PD, LGL, cures…)7. Modelling approaches for loan provisioning (≠ credit risk capital)8. Validation/backtesting of risk inputs (model results vs actual losses)9. Collateral eligibility, tests of effectiveness, valuation, discount10. Length of the emerging period (EP) for the IBNR provision11.Interest recognition through the unwind discount (mortal
sin) 12. Disclosure (see previous slide on the Fitch IBCA report)
Areas of interest (IAS 39 issues)Beyond the incurred loss model principles
7
• Bankers’ strategies to “model” reported earnings• Extend and pretend (roll-over, renew, refinance)
∙ EBA’s ITS implementing Art. 99(4) of EU 575/2013
• Modify terms without work-out (debt overhang)• Hold and hope (delay foreclosing the collateral)• Dual FCF: service + collateral, but no re-default
∙ Projection of FCFs: (conservative, cautious, justifiable?)∙ Ability and willingness to foreclose (test and trust)
• Optimistic optimization of assumptions and inputs • Lack of data/IT-MIS (obligor/transaction attributes)
The devil is in many of the details
8
Three different (related) processes
ODR and PDs• ¶ 424-433 - Rating operations
16.0% • ¶ 446 - Bank to estimate a PD for each internal borrower grade15.0% • ¶ 447 - PD a long-run average of 1yr defaulr rate for that grade14.0% • ¶ 461-467 Requirements specific to PD Adverse scenario13.0% • Restructuring ¶ 453.4 and Reaging ¶ 45812.0% • Process to tag and track cures, re-aging, refinancing, restructuring.11.0% • In most cases: there is not actual empirical loss experience (no foreclosures)10.0% • Basel II ¶ 468 uses downturn/discounted/fully costed9.0% • IAS 39 uses Point-in-time LGD8.0% Base scenario7.0%6.0%5.0%4.0%3.0%2.0% • Process of transformation of ODR into PIT-PDs
1.0%
1995
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
PD for Loan Loss Forecast
Same parameters but different dimension: (1) Point-in-time; (2) Forecasted; (3) Trough-the-Cycle/Downturn
(1) Loan Provisioning (AQR) - (2) Loss Forecast (ST) - (3) Capital Requirements
Observed Default Rates (ODR) affected by cures/reaging
Long term average PD for RCAP
Level of s
TodayPIT
Tomorrow
May be
PD/Rating model: Point-in-time vs through-the-cycle 9
Many moving parts (key parameters)Two different standards (Basel II and IAS 39)
Elements Methodologies Key Parameters Assumptions• OEI Event triggers • Rating Systems ¶ 394-437 • Breach of contract (days-past-due) • Historical vs. PIT market conditions• Historical loss experience • Score models • Refinancing/reaging ¶ 452 • Emerging period• PD adapted to PIT cycle conditions • Roll-Rate models • Cure rates from work-out • Observation length• LGD adapted to PIT cycle conditions • Transition matrix • Trouble loan restructuring • Re-default rates• Exposures @ Default • Markov Chain Models • Client/business assumptions • Future Cash Flows (single/dual)• Collaterals (elligibility and tests) • Vintage Models • Significant difficulties • Collateral valuation (yields & rents)• Foreclosure/liquidation elements • Logistic models • Significant vs. Non-significat cut-off • Time-to-liquidation/Fire-sale
• Macro-economic scenarios (factors) • Econometric models • Leverage/debt-service/employment • PD conditional to macro-scenario• Categorical variables • Expected loss models • LTV and peak-to-trough price ∆ • LGD conditional to macro-scenario• Pre-provision profits • Financial projections • Income revenue from NPLs+ • Payment principal only
• Long Run average PD ¶ 447 • Logistic Regression Models • Factors driving PD risk drivers • State-of-economy TTC adjustments• Downturn LGD ¶ 468 • Transition Matrix • Factors driving LGD risk drivers • One year time horizon ¶ 285
• Credit Conversion Factors ¶ • Left blank intentionally • Left blank intentionally • Downturn conditions ¶ 468
PD LGD EAD Cure Rates
Basel II • Long run average (not Trough-Cycle) • Fixed (45/75%) or downturn • Drawn + CCF (undrawn) • ¶ 458 reaging definitionIFRS • Point-in-time (PIT) • Point-in-time (PIT) • Outstanding balances • Not mentioned
Basel II • 100% (¶ 452 default definition) • Downturn, discounted, full-costed • Outstanding balances • Not mentionedIFRS • 100% only if/when impaired • PIT • Outstanding balances • Not mentioned
NPLs vs Defaults vs Impaired
Inconsistent Standards Diversity of Concenpts - Parameters - Approaches
Prov
ision
sRe
gulatory
Ca
pital
Loan
Loss
Fore
cast
Performing loans
10
The loss cliff effect (keep it in mind)Oliver Wyman – Sep.2012 – Spain AQR and Stress
IFRSProvisionToday PIT
LossForecast
Next 3yrs
Level of stress 3.0x = PD2012/PD2011
Pro
visi
ons
vs L
oss
fore
cast
11
AQR: Elements (Ireland & Spain based)
Typical AQR Workstream and Process
Follow-up Plan
}AQR Adjusted
CET1 % as Input for
Stress Test
~ Quality Assurance
and Project Management
u Processes,
Policies and Accounting
Rewiew| Level 3 Fair Value Exposures Review
y Collateral and Real Estate Valuation
z Extrapolation of Findings from the Credit File Review
{ Collective Provision Analysis
vLoan Tape w Sampling x Credit
File Review
|•u Revaluation
of non-derivative
Level 3 securities
|•v Review of Trading
Book Processes
|•w Review of Derivative
Pricing Models
Stress test exercise
Adjusted Balance
Sheet and CET1%
RemediationPlan
• Pro-forma financial statements and financial projection (base/stress)• Capacity of business to reach economic break-even• Level of recurrent pre-provision profits with suspension
12
Typical bank methodology per segmentMultiplicity of compliant approaches (Basel II-IAS 39)
Quantitative/Objective Qualitative/Subjective
Rating
Consumer/CardsMortgages
SME
CREs
Local authorities
Multinationals
Country risk
Corporates
Scoring
• Ordinal stage: classification by means of discriminant techniques• Cardinal stage: calibration of a default probability (based on ODR)• Adjustment of PD to cycle-neutral (state-of-economy)• Validate and back-test all the above
Banks use a suite of methods and modeling techniques (see appendix).
Simple banks better left to use the old matrix.
12 parameters x 7 classes x 3 orbits ≈ 252 moving parts
13
• IAS 39.59: significant financial difficulty of obligor
• IFRS 9 (5.5.3): significant increase of credit risk
• CRR 575 A178.1: unlikely to pay w/o recourse• Basel II (¶ 452 & ¶ 453): unlikely to pay
(+90pd)• Must increase the precision of above
principles.• The Risk Grade Concept: adopt a “Migration”
code∙ The concept of credit migration is valid under IAS∙ ∆ in the risk of default since recognition (IFRS 9)∙ Bring full focus onto credit rating systems (Basel 2)
Key issue: Precision on impairment triggersHow difficult must be the borrowers’ difficulties?
14
• +90 dpd without re-aging / refinancing• -90 dpd re-aged/refinanced without full
interest paid• Restructured (modified due to borrowers’
problems) • Decrease in rating to ‘default’ or by ‘two+’
grades• Breach of contract (worsened debt service
prospect) ∙ drop of CF < debt service + margin for
reinvestment ∙ Increase in leverage
• Decrease in collateral value (∆ LTV)• Legal changes (bankruptcy and related) ….
Triggers of loss event
15
“ Loans in risk grades below the highest quality grade qualify as having experienced an event that results in a reduction in estimated future cash flows. The concept is applied to loans for the collective impairment assessment. The theory is based on the assumption that an "event" occurred that led to a loan being down graded from the highest quality grade (e.g., investment ≥ Baa3) to a lesser grade.”
• Renewed focus on the internal credit rating systems:∙ Diversity of attributes in the MIS to tag and track conditions∙ Meaning of the explanatory variables used in the ordinal model ∙ A decrease in the rating to default line or by two or more grades
Adopt a strong Risk Grade Concept: Applicable under IAS 39 and IFRS 9
16
• What is significant (cut-off point > ½ of 1%)?• Linkages with Basel II implementation• Supervisory needs and practice• Application to normal situations and AQR• Implications for calculating provisions
∙ From where come the estimated CFs?∙ When do dual CFs make sense (debt se
Key issue: Significant loans with OEILarge borrowers (only – or all OEI borrowers?)
T
t t t
eff t
r
CF 0
) ( . ) 1 (
Provision = Book less Recoveries
17
• In any extension, modification or alteration:∙ Client pays from its own funds flow all interest due without
new financing granted for such purpose by the bank or its affiliate to the client or its associates.
• Otherwise (EBA is getting there by Dec. 2014):∙ Above extension is ‘problem loan refinancing’; ∙ does not suspend aging or arrears (migration continues) ∙ provisions increase with age (neutrality)∙ suspend accruals and reverse of unpaid amounts;∙ apply cash payments to principal (neutrality)∙ graduate based on explicit performance tests
Key issue: Rolling-on Bad Loans Citi’s golden rule to control re-aging risk
18
Provide standard practice not available in IAS 39:
• Move from contractual to probable (re-default weighted• Allow for debt-service FCF subject to evidenced projection• Zero debt service FCF if collateral dependent (define cut-off)• Exclusion of debt FCF if 180+ DPD• Direct method to estimate OCF (sales - ΔA/R – Δstocks etc.)• Sensitivity, quality and quantity of projected OCF (FX stressed)• Cautious and conservative assumptions to project OCF• Consequences if projection is not conservative: no debt
service• Use of re-default rates (RDR) if restructured or refinanced• De-minimis RDR (50%) if lack of evidence in calculating FCF• Must have paid all arrears, including if capitalized• Add other relevant issues to local practice.
Key Issue: FCFs from debt service
19
• Define collateral dependent loan (only one cash flow)• Filter bad types of collateral (illiquid – debtor essential)• Up-to-date appraisals (spot market or lowest)• Enrich/reinforce collateral appraisal standards • Realistic time to foreclosure (TFT) towards 5
years• Conservative fire sale discount (FSD) towards
30% • Factor in administration and legal costs• Re-appraisal versus revaluation based on index• Land underdeveloped and associated issues• CRE yields and income (see ECB collateral criteria) • Add other relevant issues to local practice
Key Issue: FCF from collateral
20
• Operational losses (new loans to finance ∆ working capital)∙ Economic evidence of viable working capital ∆ (stocks, A/Rs)
• CF diversion: from earning assets to non-earning assets.• Material decrease in turnover/loss of a major customer.• Default or breach of contract: overdraft rules, # times rolled• Projected debt service capacity: OCF < P+I
+Reinvestment• Financial performance:
∙ Related by policy to key financial indicators (KFIs) modelled∙ Cut-off points (split) used in internal rating models for KFIs∙ At which point migration leads to “significant financial problems”
FCFs: Other key considerations
21
Incurred versus expected loss issues
𝑬𝑳=𝑬𝑨𝑫∗𝑷𝑫∗𝑳𝑮𝑫𝑰𝑳=𝑬𝑨𝑫∗𝑷𝑫∗𝑳𝑮𝑫∗𝑬𝑷
• Banks implementing FIRB or AIRB per Basel II can move from an expected loss (EL) to an incurred loss (IL) to calculate portfolio based impairments
• Additional requirement is to estimate the Emerging Period (EP) factor with empirical historical data.
• Portfolio segmentation and the other parameters should be in place: subject to in-depth review and challenging from us and validation/backtesting.
Simplified algorithms
22
• Must invest more in IT, data, systems, expert staff.
• Enact a supervisory methodology requiring:∙ Collection of historical data ∙ MIS “field-attributes” per client/transaction∙ Segmentation into homogeneous segments∙ Standard calculation method based on historical
data∙ Consideration of future needs for IFRS 9 EL model
• Decide among alternatives (joint or not)∙ Central algorith/methodology (e.g, Mexico,
Colombia)∙ Bank specific implementation of portfolio based
method
Standardized (no IRB) local banks
23
Adopt-adapt local practice to an IFRS compliant ILM
𝑰𝑳𝑷=(𝑬𝑨𝑫−𝑪∗𝑫𝑭 (𝑪𝑻 ,𝑳𝑻 ))∗𝑷𝑫 ¿• Discount collateral ‘C’ with a “DF” as per the
next slide• Include ‘transitory’ benchmarks (FSD, TTL)• Differentiate collateral type (“CT”) and loan
type (“LT”)• Calibrate a central PD based on loan type
considering the Financial State (“FS”) of the client and the Loan Performance status (“LP”) – Risk Grade Concept
• Move banks to invest in IT architecture and systems
• Consider relevance of a regional level (pool effort and data)
24
Example (Mortgages – Mexico)
cCovbovrecAdditionalaVTCL
TR
.
ˆ1
%10,%)201()1( TRMaxSP Region A Region B Region C
With legal contract or trust in guarantee
a=0.57b=0.7
7c=0.93 a=0.45
b=0.65
c=0.89 a=0.36b=0.5
5c=0.84
Without legal contract or trust
a=0.47b=0.7
1c=0.91 a=0.37
b=0.60
c=0.86 a=0.29b=0.5
1c=0.82
)ˆ...ˆˆ(11101
1),...,(ˆ
nn xxne
xx
Severity:
Number of delinquenciesMax delinquencies last 4 paymentsAverage paid last 7 monthsCredit Loan to value (CLTV)Seller’s participation
25
Key issue: Collective provisioning
Discount factor, DF = 1 / (1 +
effective interest rate) TTL
PD = 1 for NPL exposures TTL = time to liquidation after foreclosure WOC = work-out costs
EAD =Exposure-at-defaultEP =Emerging period HPI =Collateral-Price-Index PTT =Peak-to-trough
LGL =Loss-given-liquidationFSD =Fire-sale-discountC =Collateral
•Generic formulation: LGD
Anolli, Mario, Becalli, Elena: “Retail Credit Risk Management”, 201326
• Lack of standard concept/practice (IFRS and BCBS)
• EBA would like to guide on this element of alchemy
• Rate at which loans in arrears become performing
• Time span to consider a work-out “effective”• Effective: Re-default rate ≈ equivalent
marginal PD• Obscure alchemy with material impact in
provisions.• Key to quantify the “severity”: LGD =LGL*(1-
CR)• Key to filter “false cures” from the ODR and PD• Observed or ‘modelled” and where is the
evidence?
Key issue: from where the Cure rates?See more hints in the appendix
27
• Months performing after modification as per new terms• Measures to ensure that once a loan is modified the
performance tests remain prudent and traceable.• These tests preclude the release of a provision and the
conditions for such release.• Determine if banks retain provisions for a longer period,
or at least in sufficient amount to cover capitalized interest.
• Until building a sufficient buffer of debtor’s equity (e.g., reach a LTV of 80 percent, of OCF > trigger level)
• Or, align to EBA (2 years) or BE (2 years/20% repayment)
• Traceable in internal MIS with tagged attributes
Key issues: Performance periods (test)
28
• EP refers to the detection risk (from re-aging risk)
• Time span between the occurrence of a loss event and the date that loss event is identified.
• Usually applied to non-impaired as IBNR provision
• IBNR = EAD• [ 1 – (1 – PD) EP • LGL• (1- Cure rate)]
• Practice from 3m (mortgages) to 12m (corporate)
• Best practice: take a sample (say 30 randomly loans by pool/product) that went bad in each category and examine the files to see how long the emergence period for each really was (to the point of performing the impairment test).
Key Issue: Emerging period (EP)
29
• LGD/LGL continue to be the less well know risk inputs• Few actual charge-offs result into limited loss experience.• No empirical loss data from holding “loss loans” without foreclosure:• Lack of rules to govern charge-offs and clean up the back-bad-books • Protracted legal process for recovery: adds uncertainty/widens
spreads• Collective provision reported mixed with the specific provision• Set in place process to compile data for gaps and use proxies• Consider using transitory proxies (until there is empirical evidence)
∙ e.g., no cures (or minimal cures) absent of systems to tag and track cures∙ 50% re-default rate absent of systems to quantify re-default∙ Longest Time-to-Foreclosure-Liquidation ∙ Highest Fire-Sale-Discount∙ Forced write-off time limit∙ Phase-out the eligibility of PV(collateral)
Key issue: Limited loss evidence
30
• Concept used by (1) policy (2) practice and (3) regulation
• (1) model input risk parameters (2) assumptions & projections.
• Time (1) to foreclosure vs. (2) to divestiture (via OREO)
• Management assumptions (practice) versus empirical evidence
• “Hold and hope” strategies: Mark in lieu-of-repossession
• Fair Value determination: (1) appraisal versus (2) internal valuation
• Pricing: (1) House/Commercial price index (HPI) (2) peak-to-through (PTT) to LTV
• LTV used: (1) historical versus (2) rebased LTV (procedures used)
• Collateral related costs: (1) repair (2) renovation (3) administration (4) maintenance (5) sale
• Fire sale discounts and administration costs
Key issue: Collateral dependency
31
Time to liquidation (TTL)
Segmenting by type of collateral, location, condition, age, etc.
Must compile and track appropriate information
32
Key Issue: Recovery (net of all costs)
Must compile and track appropriate information
33
• Control ‘your’ migration risk (many more moving parts)• Implement a migration strategy (see annexes), or:• (A) Keep old matrix-system for small/non-complex, or• (B) Decide for a centralized solution/algorithm• Require IT/Data investment for credit risk MIS• Compile bankers’ practices, risk inputs and assumptions• Revamp means, skills, people, processes, tools• Develop a benchmark to measure gaps and distances• Set regulatory parameters when no clear empirical data• Consider a risk grade concept based on internal ratings
Lessons (take away)
34
• Acronyms• Templates to compile
practice/parameters• Cure rates (might distort PD and LGD)• Quick model/methods overview• References
Appendixes
35
Acronyms
• DPD= Days past-Due• DCF = Discounted cash flows• EAD= Exposure at Default• EP = Emergence Period• FCF = Future Cash Flows• FSD= Fire-Sale Discount• IBNR = Incurred But Not Reported• LGL = Loss given liquidation• LGD = Loss given default• MIS = Management information
systems• OCF= Operational Cash Flow• ODR = Observed Default Rates
• OEI = Objective evidence of impairment
• PIT= Point-in-Time• PTT = Peak to Trough (real estate price)• PD = Probability of Default • TTL = Time to Liquidation• TTC = Trough-the-Cycle
36
Appendix: Planning the transition • Need to learn IAS39-IFRS9
• Have a migration strategy• Aware on IAS 39 key issues• Keep IFRS 9 in mind• Prepare dedicated people• Learn credit risk modelling• Warehouse stronger data• Develop benchmarks/tools
• Meaning, concepts, practices, issues, alternatives• Incurred vs Expected vs. Cycle adapted • Point-in-time (PIT) vs. Through-the-cycle (TTC)• Accounting provisioning vs. Loan loss forecasts vs. Basel II capital • Base normal conditions vs. adverse/downturn conditions • Broken standards advise the use of regulatory accounting practices• See presentation of Mike Moore (use regulatory reporting) 37
SurveyBank
practices
DevelopBenchma
rk
IssueGuidelin
es for IAS 39
Calibrate
Pillar 2Overla
y
Plan for
IFRS 9
now
Appendix: Migration strategy
Develop templateCompile bank practiceDo targeted visits
Time to liquidation (TTL)Fire sale discounts (FSD)Cures net of refinancingPD rates PIT (vs. actual ODR)Emerging Periods 12/24m
Define good/bad practiceSet expectations & detailsIndicate processes and roles
Overlays to close gaps Use standard benchmarksPreserve regulatory reporting
38
• Unite forces to facilitate transition (not alone). • Form a regional committee and a working
group.• Agree to upload/share anonym information.• Obtain expert support for a medium term
project.• Develop templates to compile regional
practice.• Suggestions included in the appendixes
• Prepare people with specialized skills (learn).• Discover and benchmark techniques,
estimates.• Understand materiality of differences.
Appendix: Way Forward
39
Ap
pen
dix
: I
np
uts
sp
ecifi
c p
rovis
ion
ing
Tem
pla
te t
o c
om
pile p
racti
ces
By segment (COR, CRE, SME, RSM, CON)All pools PNF PFB NPFB NPNFB Other Notes
Cut-off point usedType of rating model
Methodology(ies)In-house or vendorNumber of gradesPD calibration methodData length & attributesValidation/backtest policy
Discount rate usedEIROther rate
Debt service flows computedContractualProjectedStressedWeighted bySuspended at daysRe-default usedOther
Collateral flowsTime-to-liquidationFire-sale discountLegal expensesAdministration +Spot priceOther priceIndex-rebasedCollateral dependentOther
Old regulation metricsCriteria (a)Criteria (b)Criteria (c)
Volume of EADNumber of exposuresProvisions per bank IFRSProvisions (old regulation)
Significant - Individual - Specific Model Risk Parameters
and Assumptions
Per
form
ing
not e
ver
forb
orne
Per
form
ing
forb
orne
Non
-Per
form
ing
forb
orne
Non
-Per
form
ing
nor f
oreb
orne
40
Ap
pen
dix
: In
pu
ts f
or
collecti
ve p
rovis
ion
ing
Tem
pla
te t
o c
om
pile p
racti
ce
By segment (COR, CRE, SME, RSM, CON)All pools PNF PFB NPFB NPNFB Other Notes
Cut-off point usedType of rating model
Methodology(ies)In-house or vendorNumber of gradesPD calibration methodData length & attributesValidation/backtest policy
Discount rate usedEIROther rateTime-to-liquidationCollateral discounts
Loss ratesHistoric averageHistoric adjustedRoll-ratesLGLLGDCure rate usedCure cleanedOther
Old regulation metricsCriteria (a)Criteria (b)Criteria (c)
Volume of EADNumber of exposuresProvisions IFRSProvisions (old regulation)Include specification of formula or algorithm used per segment
Collective (excluding IBNR) for NPLsModel Risk Parameters
and Assumptions
41
Ap
pen
dix
: In
pu
ts f
or
IBN
R p
rovis
ion
ing
Tem
pla
te t
o c
om
pile p
racti
ce By segment (COR, CRE, SME, RSM, CON)
All pools PNF PFB NPFB NPNFB Other Notes
Point-in time
Through-the-cycleMixed PDOther approachEmergence period
Loss ratesPD pitPD ttcHistoric averageHistoric adjustedRoll-ratesLGLLGDCure rate usedCure cleanedOther approach
Old regulation metricsCriteria (a)Criteria (b)Criteria (c)
Volume of EADNumber of exposuresProvisions IFRSProvisions (old regulation)Include specification of formula or algorithm used per segment
Model Risk Parameters and Assumptions
IBNR for Performing
PD
42
Appendix: Importance of Cure Rates
Cure rate LGD=0The rate at which loans in arrears become performing P(C|D)Actual effectiveness of work-out operations
P(D|P)
Danger rate LGD>0
P(CO|P)
Loss-Given-Default (LGD) = Loss-Given-Liquidation (LGL) * (1 - Cure Rate)Charge-off LGD frequently is a model output (regression) due to no empirical lossP(C|D)*charge-off LGDP(D|P)*doubtful LGD+P(CP|P)*charge-off LGD
Observed vs Modelled Cure Rates
Must filter reaged and refinanced cases from the real cures calculated
PERFORMING
DOUBTFUL
CHARGE-OFF
CURED to Performing
CHARGE-OFF
43
• Find out the concept/practice of “cures” used by the industry• Clarify what un-friendly solutions are: repossession and
implications • Determine the rational for high level of cures in banks• Confirm that/if:
∙ CRs are conditioned by an early definition of default∙ The MIS tags & tracks defaults that return to performing status with no loss∙ The “cures” form part of the loss history on which LGD estimates are based∙ “Incomplete workouts” in the recovery process are also part of LGD history∙ Banks tag and track the above − Discuss implications to validate income
flow
• Ascertain in which segment cure rates are used and implications• Determine practice in estimating probabilities of cures:
∙ Empirical observed versus modelled cures (local or parent ‘global experience’)
Appendix: More on cure rates (1)
44
• Determine proper use of “default count” basis• Ascertain if a high level of cures tend to fall hard during the downturn• Prove expected ∆ of CRs in a downturn (before including in LGD)• Determine the precise course of events that allow cures to take place • Discuss those events and how are filtered from standard refinancing• Clarify controls in place if cures are driven by firm’s own policies• Determine if longer realization periods and larger forced sale discounts
are applied to the exposures that do not cure• Considering evidence of higher default rates on the books as a whole• See if firms are accounting for links between cures & re-default rates• See if earlier cure definition (6M) result in higher level of re-defaults
Appendix: More on cure rates (2)
45
• Discuss if auditors approve CR considering reliability of MIS
• Ascertain means to compensate the exclusion of CR restructures from PD/LGD data
• Determine work-arounds to compensate the exclusion of CR and incomplete workouts
• Means of modelling and approach: back-testing and validation
• Ascertain the variables and inputs for modelling cures = F(age, LTV, equity, other)
• MIS attribute handling: tagged procedures for extensions, re-aging, novation, refinancing
• Test the source of empirical data: frequency, number, amounts, tracing durability
• Filter false cures: temporary forbearance – instability of observed cures
Appendix: More on cure rates (3)
46
• Consider how/which are:∙ the rating/scoring models built∙ the discriminant factors used
(quantitative/qualitative)∙ their correlations and how correlation dealt with∙ The key powerstat and fitness measures (ROC, etc)∙ re-ages, cures, refinancing… tagged, tracked,
factored
• Whether the rating model is fit to support a Risk Grade Concept (downgrade to below BBB equates to significant deterioration as an event of impairment) and the contribution and cut-off point of each factor used in the model.
Appendix: The ordinal rating model
47
Appendix: The calibration of the PDA PD assigned to each score/rating grade
• Different techniques (learn them)• PD12M = F(season, moment of the cycle) • Failed cases / (Failed cases + pass cases) by grade or score or
group_of_risk
• Calculation of calibration curves (functions) by groups of risk
• Adjustment to a central tendency of the portfolio• Cycle neutral calibration (as for capital’s State of the
Economy)• Validation and back-testing (policies and process)
−− Normal adjusted to CT−− Exponential adjusted to CT
Calibration of PD to Score/Rating Grades
48
Appendix: LGD - Rules vs Models
Time window/historical depth ( BII ¶ )� Sample to fit default definition and collection process Data availability� All available default history into development-test samples Default definition (coherence with PD models)� Collect atributes and macro-drivers to test Close/open defaults (per model type)�
Workout approach� Attributed to each facility with direct-indirect costs Discount factor definition� Selected target variable for LGD or for sevity models Discount of cash flows� Separate considerations for Basel and for impairment models Recovery process� Impairment models more adhrent to recent trends in recoveries
Both for segmentation and estimation purposes� Drivers most likely to imapct LGD Macroeconomic factors� 3. Key macroeconomic indicators 4. Vintage atributes Product-specific drivers� 1. Transaction/product features 2. Borrower attributes Based on explanatory power�
Estimated on defaulted contracts� 1. Conditional means2. Linear regression
Applied to all portfolio exposures� 3. Chain ladder4. Target variable
Measure model performance on current portfolio� Monitor and backtest model periodically � Model calibration/update as needed�
LGD Model Development Steps
RELEVANT PERIMETER
RECOVERY FLOWS
SELECTION OF POWERFUL DRIVERS
LGD ESTIMATION
VALIDATION - MONITORING -BACKTEST
• LGD/LGL continues to be the less well known 49
• Used for rank-ordering purposes despite the fact that log-odds map to distinct delinquency and default rates.
• Input for many modeling frameworks (joint-odds), and estimating provisions.
• Requires specialized staff and resources (e.g. software, hardware, and data access). Smaller institutions rely more on third party vendors.
• Built for several purposes (delinquency, default, bankruptcy, attrition, profitability, solicitation response, etc.), but the power of scorecards is the ability to build them at a segment level.
• Can capture most factors if properly calibrated (i.e. regional economic data can be appended to account files, indicator variables can proxy account strategies and other exogenous factors) and segmented.
• Macroeconomic information is rarely considered in scorecard modeling
Appendix – Notes on Scorecards
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• Static, capturing the risk profile of the portfolio across a minimum of two dimensions, constructed at the segment or portfolio level.
• Combining both an external (FICO) and internal (behavioral score) scorecards, it can identify exogenous factors (systemic-idiosyncratic) impacting behavior across a particular segment such as delinquency, debt management, and over-limit.
• In particular, each scorecard takes account of n risk factors and summarizes credit risk into two dimensions.
• Each cell represents a loss rate for a group of accounts with a particular FICO and behavioral score (e.g. the estimated net loss rate for accounts with a 660 FICO + 900 behavioral score is 5.23%).
• A 12m forecast is determined by applying the distribution of 1 yr historical loss rates to the current distribution of outstanding loans.
• These models doe not consider attrition, management strategies, and economic factors in the upcoming 12-month forecast horizon.
Appendix – Notes on Matrix models
51
Matrix model exampleHenderson – FRB Philadelphia (2009)
No_score 1-849 850-899 900-924 925-949 950-959 960-969 970-979 980-984 985-989 990-992 993+No_score 15.98% 24.38% 16.89% 8.45% 7.60% 6.84% 6.16% 5.85% 5.56%5 28% 5 01% 4 76%000-590 16.74% 36.57% 21.38% 10.69% 9.62% 8.66% 7.79% 7.40% 7.03% 6.68% 6.35% 6.03%591-610 11.58% 20.41% 19.12% 9.56% 8.60% 7.74% 6.97% 6.62% 6.29% 5.98% 5.68% 5.39%611-630 11.01% 16.29% 15.67% 7.84% 7.05% 6.35% 5.71% 5.43% 5.15% 4.90% 4.65% 4.42%631-650 10.57% 14.20% 14.38% 7.19% 6.47% 5.82% 5.24% 4.98% 4.73% 4.49% 4.27% 4.06%651-660 8.68% 10.22% 10.45% 5.23% 4.70% 4.23% 3.81% 3.62% 3.44% 3.27% 3.10% 2.95%661-770 8.66% 8.45% 9.83% 4.92% 4.42% 3.98% 3.58% 3.40% 3.23% 3.07% 2.92% 2.77%671-690 6.59% 7.68% 7.56% 3.78% 3.40% 3.06% 2.76% 2.62% 2.49% 2.36% 2.24% 2.13%691-710 5.11% 5.22% 5.33% 2.67% 2.40% 1.26% 1.94% 1.85% 1.75% 1.67% 1.58% 1.50%711-730 4.32% 3.25% 1.60% 0.80% 0.72% 0.65% 0.58% 0.55% 0.53% 0.50% 0.47% 0.45%731-750 2.13% 0.10% 0.33% 0.16% 0.15% 0.13% 0.12% 0.11% 0.11% 0.10% 0.10% 0.09%751+ 0.59% 0.00% 0.31% 0.16% 0.14% 0.13% 0.11% 0.11% 0.10% 0.10% 0.09% 0.09%
Behavioral Score
FICO S
core
Joint-odds Matrix
High Risk Low Risk
52
• Measures the percentage of accounts or dollars that “roll” from one stage of delinquency to the next.
• Individual accounts are not tracked, only the volume for a particular bucket.
• The roll rates are averages across risk segments or for the total portfolio.
• The critical roll rate is the ‘net charge-off’ rate since it gives you the amount of charge-off at the end of the next month (t+1).
• Roll rate models fit the retail credit business model well as call centers and collection departments are commonly aligned by stage of delinquency.
• The roll rate model do not explicitly incorporate attrition, management strategies, and exogenous factors such as the economy.
Appendix: Notes of Roll-rate models
53
Retail roll-rate methodsTime
Past Due Days
Current
Bucket1
Bucket 2
Bucket2+n
LastBucketProvision(i) = Bucket balance (i) * PDPIT(i) * LGD
Rollrate r(i)
The roll-rate methodology predicts losses based on delinquency. Most roll-rate methodologies assume that delinquency is the only loss event and that significant allowances are not needed until a loan becomes delinquent. Roll-rate methodologies are also known as migration analysis or flow models.
54
Roll rates – exampleFDIC’s Manual Chapter XII
MonthCurrent Balance
30 daysCurrent-to 30d RR
60 days30d-to 60d
RR90 days
60d-to 90d RR
Current to loss factor
Oct. $1,000 $39 $12 $9Nov. $1,000 $40 4.00% $15 38.46% $10 83.33% 1.28%Dec. $1,250 $50 5.00% $20 50.00% $12 80.00% 2.00%Jan. $1,200 $65 5.20% $28 56.00% $17 85.00% 2.48%
Delinquency buckets (FDIC Chapter XII page 6) - Simplified Roll Rate Example
55
• A sequence of random variables is said to form a Markov chain if each time an account is in some initial state I and there is a fixed probability that it will next be in another state J.
• Markov chain models can account for all probabilities within delinquency stages, not just those that move sequentially from one stage of delinquency to the next.
• Rules must be used to limit the dimensions of the Markov chain. For example, an account can only be current (c), delinquent (L), and default (D).
• Transition probabilities are averaged across risk segments or the total portfolio.
• Markov chain models can account for attrition and some account management strategies, but still ignore economic factors.
Appendix – Markov Chain models
56
• Vintage models segment the portfolio by either the year (YOB) or month that an account is booked (MOB).
• Once the vintage criteria is determined, the loss performance of the segment is tracked over time.
• Can be further segmented to reflect more granular levels of risk such as delinquent/non-delinquent and bankrupt/non-bankrupt populations.
• Annual loss rates and month-on-book losses usually provide fewer data points so exponential smoothing techniques (weighted averages) are useful.
• Can account for management strategies and exogenous factors by optimally adjusting parameters within an exponential smoothing algorithm.
• Forecasts for the next YOB could simply reflect the previous YOB performance with downward or upward adjustments based on the credit quality of new loans.
Appendix: Notes on Vintage models
57
Vintages - exampleYear 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 Year 7
1999 0.68% 1.46% 3.57% 4.58% 5.27% 5.10% 5.00%2000 0.85% 1.82% 4.46% 5.72% 6.59% 6.38%2001 0.89% 1.90% 4.67% 5.99% 6.89%2002 0.78% 1.67% 4.09% 5.25%2003 0.65% 1.39% 3.41%2004 0.59% 1.26%2005 0.54%2006 0.71% 1.58% 4.04% 5.39% 6.25% 5.74% 5.00%
Year Since the Account Was Booked
0.00%
1.00%
2.00%
3.00%
4.00%
5.00%
6.00%
7.00%
0.00%
5.00%
10.00%
15.00%
20.00%
25.00%
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 Year 7
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
2006
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• Anolli, Mario; Becalli, Elena – Retail credit risk management. McMillan (2013).
• Van Deventer – Credit Risk Models & Basel Accords. Willey (2009).
• Saunders – Credit Risk Measurement – Willey (2010)• Ong – Internal Credit Risk Models – Risk (2005)• Cossin & Pirotte – Advanced Credit Risk Analysis. Willey
(2001).• Henderson – Retail Credit Risk Models. FRB Philadelphia
(2009).• FDIC – Examination manual, Chapter XII, Allowance for
Loan Loss.
References
59