Transcript
Page 1: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Calculating Your 2015 Marketing Budget:

How Much Marketing Do You Really Need?

Page 2: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Not a budget benchmark

webinar“If your business strategy is simply to copy what others do, then by definition the best you can hope for is to be a perfect imitation.”

- Jeffry Pfeffer

Page 3: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Agenda• How much marketing do I need?

How much should you spend on marketing? How many leads does your sales team need? Calculating cost per lead & establishing a budget

• What levers do you have to drive change• Q&A

Page 4: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Buyer’s journey (pre-2005)

Page 5: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Today’s buyer journey

Page 6: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

So how much does all this cost?

Marketing Demand/Lead Generation Jan Feb Mar Q1SEO 7,500 7,500 7,500 22,500 Social Media 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 PPC 18,000 18,000 18,000 54,000 Website freelancer - 1,000 1,000 2,000 Hosting 325 325 325 975 Domain Vendor 42 42 42 126 Database Vendor 1,200 1,200 1,200 3,600 Multi-media Contractor 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 Freelance designer 500 500 500 1,500 Video/Interactive Development 15,000 - - 15,000 Website Design & Development 10,000 10,000 20,000 40,000 Copywriter freelancer - 200 200 400 Marketing Automation Software 5,200 5,200 5,200 15,600 Stock photos 20 20 20 60 Marketing Hardware 2,900 - - 2,900 Marketing Automation addtl module - 2,400 - 2,400 PR Freelancer 2,500 2,500 2,500 7,500 Wire service fees 300 300 300 900 Total 76,487 62,187 69,787 208,461 = Annualized $976,344

+

*Real example $15M Software company

Page 7: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

But… how much do I need?

Marketing Demand/Lead Generation Jan Feb Mar Q1SEO 7,500 7,500 7,500 22,500 Social Media 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 PPC 18,000 18,000 18,000 54,000 Website freelancer - 1,000 1,000 2,000 Hosting 325 325 325 975 Domain Vendor 42 42 42 126 Database Vendor 1,200 1,200 1,200 3,600 Multi-media Contractor 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 Freelance designer 500 500 500 1,500 Video/Interactive Development 15,000 - - 15,000 Website Design & Development 10,000 10,000 20,000 40,000 Copywriter freelancer - 200 200 400 Marketing Automation Software 5,200 5,200 5,200 15,600 Stock photos 20 20 20 60 Marketing Hardware 2,900 - - 2,900 Marketing Automation addtl module - 2,400 - 2,400 PR Freelancer 2,500 2,500 2,500 7,500 Wire service fees 300 300 300 900 Total 76,487 62,187 69,787 208,461

= Annualized $976,344

+ ?=

Page 8: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

HOW MUCH SHOULD YOU SPEND ON MARKETING?

How much marketing do I need…

Page 9: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Isn’t it just all about ROI?

Page 10: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

CAC = Cost to Acquire a Customer

CAC = Total $ marketing & sales expense(n)

Total # new customers acquired(n)

CAC = $119,613

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Marketing Demand/Lead Generation Jan Feb Mar Q1SEO 7,500 7,500 7,500 22,500 Social Media 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 PPC 18,000 18,000 18,000 54,000 Website freelancer - 1,000 1,000 2,000 Hosting 325 325 325 975 Domain Vendor 42 42 42 126 Database Vendor 1,200 1,200 1,200 3,600 Multi-media Contractor 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 Freelance designer 500 500 500 1,500 Video/Interactive Development 15,000 - - 15,000 Website Design & Development 10,000 10,000 20,000 40,000 Copywriter freelancer - 200 200 400 Marketing Automation Software 5,200 5,200 5,200 15,600 Stock photos 20 20 20 60 Marketing Hardware 2,900 - - 2,900 Marketing Automation addtl module - 2,400 - 2,400 PR Freelancer 2,500 2,500 2,500 7,500 Wire service fees 300 300 300 900 Total 76,487 62,187 69,787 208,461

+

Jan Acquisition Costs• Marketing = $88,362• 5 Sales FTE = $31,250• Total = $119,612 CAC = $9,201 per customer

Page 11: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

CLV = Customer Lifetime Value

CLV = ARPA(n) (Aver recurring $/Client) * GM%

Churn rate(n)

CLV = $18,342 * 78%

23%

CLV = $62,203

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Marketing & Sales Efficacy… CAC Ratio

CAC Ratio = CLV

CAC

$62,203

$9,201= 6.76:1 =

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CAC and CLV

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Axis Title

ExpenseRevenue

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Months to Recover CAC

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Months to recover CAC = CAC

Average Recurring Revenue per Customer & GM%

9 months to recover customer acquisition

costs

Page 15: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

How much should you spend on marketing?

• CAC Ratio is <1• STOP!!!! Your model is broken and it needs to be fixed before

throwing good money after bad

• CAC Ratio is 1-3• It’s possible you may be in a competitive mature market but,

more likely, you must make some improvements in CAC efficacy and/or your product(s) to improve CLV

• CAC Ratio is >3• Spend as much on customer acquisition as cash flow supports

(keep an eye on months to recover CAC)

• CAC Ratio is >10• Beg, borrow and scrounge for every dollar and invest into

acquiring customers because you are sitting on a goldmine!

Page 16: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

HOW MANY LEADS DOES YOUR SALES TEAM NEED?

How much marketing do I need…

Page 17: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

How many leads do you need?

Page 18: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Simple Model

Revenue Goal $25,000,000 Existing/Renewal revenue $20,000,000 Incremental new sales required $5,000,000 Average win size $75,000 # of wins needed 66.67 % SQL > Win 25%# SQL's needed 266.67 % SAL > SQL 90%# SAL's needed 296.30 % MQL > SAL 5%# MQL's needed 5,925.93

Page 19: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Add Nurture & Re-Marketing

Go on to buy 80%

Never buy 20%

% of Leads DQ’d by Sales*

* Source: Sirius Decisions

Page 20: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Add Nurture & Re-MarketingRevenue Goal $25,000,000 Existing/Renewal revenue $20,000,000 Incremental new sales required $5,000,000 Average win size $75,000 # of wins needed 66.67 % SQL > Win 25%# SQL's needed 266.67 % SAL > SQL 90%# SAL's needed 296.30 % MQL > SAL 5%# MQL's needed 5,925.93 Nurture Impact

# SALs 296.30 # SQLs 266.67 # SALs DQ'd 29.63 % DQ'd that buy 80%# SALs gained 23.70 Sales Gain $400,000

Page 21: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Factor Conversion Velocity

KPI -3M -2M -1M M1 M2 M3 M4 M5 M6 M7 M8 M9M1

0M1

1M1

2# wins needed 66.7        5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6 % SQL > Win 25%# Days SQL>Win 45 # SQLs needed 267    22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22     % SAL > SQL 90%# Days SAL>SQL 10 # SALs needed 296    74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74     % MQL > SAL 8%# Days MQL>SAL 30 # MQLs needed 5,925  494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494      

Page 22: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

GETTING TO COST PER LEAD?How much marketing do I need…

Page 23: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Marrying Budget & MQL’s

Marry me?

Page 24: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Marrying Budget & MQL’s

Funnel Metric # $/## of wins needed 66.67 $9,201# SQL's needed 266.67 $2,300# SAL's needed 296.30 $2,070# MQL's needed 5,925.93 $104

CAC = $9,201 per customer

Page 25: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Monthly budget & MQL Quota

KPI -3M -2M -1M M1 M2 M3 M4 M5 M6 M7 M8 M9M1

0M1

1M1

2# wins needed 66.7        5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6   5.6 # SQLs needed 267    22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22   22     # SALs needed 296    74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74   74     # MQLs needed 5,925  494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494 494      

(5,925 MQL’s) * ($104/MQL) / (12 months) = $51,376/mo

Page 26: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Evaluating budget options

PPCAdd Database

Budget $10,000 Budget $10,000

$/Click $5.00 $/record $0.50

# Clicks 2,000 # Lead records 20,000

% Click>MQL 6% % CTR* 1.0%

# MQL 120 # MQL 200

$/MQL $83.33 $/MQL $50.00*single email send

Current budget target = $104/MQL

Page 27: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Budget levers

(5,925 MQL’s) * ($104/MQL) / (12 months) = $51,376/mo

• Improve the product (Churn, CLV)• Improve funnel conversion rates

(MQL, SAL, SQL)• Lower cost of acquisition (CAC)

Page 28: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Marketing to Sales handoff is broken

Page 29: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

DIY Sales Engine

This is what Sales Engine Does…

Marketing Demand/Lead Generation Jan Feb Mar Q1SEO 7,500 7,500 7,500 22,500 Social Media 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 PPC 18,000 18,000 18,000 54,000 Website freelancer - 1,000 1,000 2,000 Hosting 325 325 325 975 Domain Vendor 42 42 42 126 Database Vendor 1,200 1,200 1,200 3,600 Multi-media Contractor 6,500 6,500 6,500 19,500 Freelance designer 500 500 500 1,500 Video/Interactive Development 15,000 - - 15,000 Website Design & Development 10,000 10,000 20,000 40,000 Copywriter freelancer - 200 200 400 Marketing Automation Software 5,200 5,200 5,200 15,600 Stock photos 20 20 20 60 Marketing Hardware 2,900 - - 2,900 Marketing Automation addtl module - 2,400 - 2,400 PR Freelancer 2,500 2,500 2,500 7,500 Wire service fees 300 300 300 900 Total 76,487 62,187 69,787 208,461

= Annualized $976,344

+

<Marketing Manager FTE

Page 30: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

FREE TOOL and FREE SOFTWARE: How many leads does your sales team

need?

• Understand your CAC, CAC Ratio, CLV and cash needs to achieve

• Use funnel metrics to extrapolate MQL requirements

• Get to cost per lead and evaluate marketing mix alternatives based on cost per lead

Page 31: Calculating your 2015 marketing budget: How much marketing do you really need?

Q&AHow much marketing do I need…


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