cpa goal 2.0 our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · sergei kozlov head of r&a. cpa goal 2.0 cpa goal...

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Page 1: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works
Page 2: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

PROPELLERADS

Our experts CPA Goal 2.0

Yakov BeckerProduct Tech Director

at PropellerAds

Sergei KozlovHead of R&A

Page 3: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

What’s the issue?

● People don’t know what it is● Not sure how it works

Page 4: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

● What is CPA Goal 2.0

● How it works: What’s under the hood

● Case studies and examples

● Optimization period & what does it depend on?

● How to set a CPA Goal − a simple step-by-step

● Best practices − what to do and what not to do

● Summary

● Q&A session

Our agenda CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Page 5: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

CPA Goal 2.0What is

Page 6: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

CPA Goal 2.0 is a bidding algorithm that allows you to get the maximum amount of traffic which converts at a specified price

This model: ● Provides you the best performing traffic● Buys out as much of it as possible● Is not strictly tied to conversion price − acts smart

Page 7: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Why CPA Goal 2.0 is cool CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Page 8: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

what’s under How it works:

the hood

Page 9: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

What impacts the impression cost CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Ad Placement / Zone

OS

Device Type

Device Model

View #

GEO

Provider

Connection Type

Page 10: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

What is conversion rate CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

1000 impressions:Brazil, Android, 3G,

2nd view

1000 impressions:US, iPhone, Wifi,

1st view

CR = 2/1000

CR = 5/1000

Page 11: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

How an auction works CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Page 12: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

You got impressions 1-6 CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

12.00 14.00 16.00 18.00 20.00 22.00 00.00

2,5 c

0,5 c

1 c

1,5 c

2 c

3 c

3,5 c

4 c

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone A1

Zone A

2

34

5

6

Page 13: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Each impression has a different CR CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

12.00 14.00 16.00 18.00 20.00 22.00 00.00

2,5 c

0,5 c

1 c

1,5 c

2 c

3 c

3,5 c

4 c

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone A1

Zone A

2

34

5

6

0 CR

1/150 CR

1/500 CR

1/150 CR

1/100 CR

0 CR

Page 14: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Your CPM is 2.5 c CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

12.00 14.00 16.00 18.00 20.00 22.00 00.00

2,5 c

0,5 c

1 c

1,5 c

2 c

3 c

3,5 c

4 c

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone A1

Zone A

2

34

5

6

0 CR

1/150 CR

1/500 CR

1/150 CR

1/100 CR

0 CR

Page 15: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPM model will buy you impressions 1, 3, 4, 6

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

12.00 14.00 16.00 18.00 20.00 22.00 00.00

2,5 c

0,5 c

1 c

1,5 c

2 c

3 c

3,5 c

4 c

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone A

Zone A

2

5

0 CR

1/150 CR

1/500 CR

1/150 CR

1/100 CR

0 CR13

46

Page 16: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

But only impressions 3, 4 have actual value

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

12.00 14.00 16.00 18.00 20.00 22.00 00.00

2,5 c

0,5 c

1 c

1,5 c

2 c

3 c

3,5 c

4 c

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone B

Zone A

Zone A

2

5

0 CR

1/150 CR

1/500 CR

1/150 CR

1/100 CR

0 CR

31

64

Page 17: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0 buys impressions 2, 4, 5 CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

12.00 14.00 16.00 18.00 20.00 22.00 00.00

2,5 c

0,5 c

1 c

1,5 c

2 c

3 c

3,5 c

4 c

Zone B

Zone B1/150 CR

1/100 CR

1Zone A0 CR

Zone B

3

1/500 CR

Zone B1/150 CR Zone A

6

0 CR

2

5

4

CPM = 0 CPM = 0

CPM = 4.2

CPM = 2.8CPM = 2.8

CPM = 0.8

Page 18: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

All of those impressions have value and convert

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

12.00 14.00 16.00 18.00 20.00 22.00 00.00

2,5 c

0,5 c

1 c

1,5 c

2 c

3 c

3,5 c

4 c

Zone B

Zone B1/150 CR

1/100 CR

1Zone A0 CR

Zone B

3

1/500 CR

Zone B1/150 CR Zone A

6

0 CR

2

5

4

Page 19: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

The main issues with manual optimization

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

● Requires you to set the CPM bid for each type of impressions (and there are tons of combinations!)

● You must manually blacklist all underperforming zones

Summary: Impossible

Page 20: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

and ExamplesCase Studies

Page 21: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Case studies − CPM / SCPM campaign CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

● CPM Rate = 10$

● Much less traffic

● (!) Goal example

Page 22: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Case studies − CPA Goal 2.0 campaign CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

● CPA Goal = 1$

● Pay attention to CPM

● This campaign works better than goal

Page 23: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Case studies − many factors are taken into account

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

● There are many factors that are optimized − not only zones

● So it’s unfeasible to repeat it manually

Page 24: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

PeriodOptimization

Page 25: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Optimization period CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

1. For the algorithm to work, we need to predict CR for each impression

2. It’s done with the help of the optimization period

3. This is what happens: a. The model familiarizes itself with YOUR campaign

b. It analyzes how it converts on each impression (which has multiple parameters!)

c. It predicts the CR for each impression based on your campaign performance

d. Sets the bids dynamically based on analytics

Page 26: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Optimization period CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

2 000 4 000 6 000 8 000 10 000 12 000 14 000

1.00 $

Impressions

Conversion price

1.10 $

0.90 $

+10%

-10%

Page 27: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Optimization period: how it looks CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Page 28: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

CPA GoalHow to set up

Page 29: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0: Where to find it* CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

* Available for Popunder / Onclick

Page 30: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Setting the conversion price CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Page 31: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Why do you need to choose Conversion Type?

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

● Correct conversion type selection helps the algorithm better optimize your campaign

● The system will find converting zones faster

Page 32: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Important: S2S Tracking CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

S2S tracking is crucial, otherwise our system won’t be able to optimize the campaign

Page 33: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

practicesBest

Page 34: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

How to set a CPA Goal? CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

How much you’re willing to spend (CPA offer payout − % Your revenue)

Start with the maximum amount − this way, you’ll get the most accurate test results and max eCPM

If you go over budget (can happen) − reduce the CPA Goal by 10-20%

If the over-budget expenses are SO significant that you have to reduce the rate by 50%, you might have issues with your campaign: check the targeting, links, tracking, LPs, etc

The higher the CPA Goal, the higher the over-budget expenses can get

Page 35: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

Which CPA Goal campaigns perform best?

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Targeting a few countries

Min & Max CPA Goal rates shouldn’t differ

by more than 2 times

Got white / blacklists? Or exact ISPs? Use it in your

targeting

Page 36: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

Summary

Page 37: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0: key benefits CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

● Smart, high-tech, automated optimization algorithm

● Simple setup in the SSP platform

● Intuitive and user-friendly

● Enhanced performance and ROI compared to traditional CPM

● Lots of best practices to launch CPA Goal 2.0 campaigns

Page 38: CPA Goal 2.0 Our experts · 2020. 6. 19. · Sergei Kozlov Head of R&A. CPA Goal 2.0 CPA Goal 2.0 PROPELLERADS What’s the issue? People don’t know what it is Not sure how it works

CPA Goal 2.0

PROPELLERADS

for attending!Thank You

WEBINAR, JUNE 11, 2020