content creators express your roi to brands

Post on 04-Feb-2015

868 Views

Category:

Technology

1 Downloads

Preview:

Click to see full reader

DESCRIPTION

Bloggers and content creators of all types - learn how to express your ROI to brand and agencies as part of sponsored influencer programs.

TRANSCRIPT

#BH13ROI

Quantify Your ROI to Customers

JULIE YAMAMOTOCMD, @JulieY

#BH13ROI

A likely scenario …

• Brand X is introducing a new widget, and they want a social tactic that will go “viral.”

• Brand X’s agency sells an “influencer strategy” and gets some budget to work with.

• Brand X’s agency contacts you: “We saw your sponsored content and love it. Want to work with us on our campaign?”

• And you say …

#BH13ROI

Know your audience targeting

• Demographic: Gender, age, geography• Psychographic: Behavioral information

that deepens our understanding of the audience

• Persona: Named individual who personifies the target

#BH13ROI

#BH13ROI

Metrics that matter

• Metrics or analytics: Any data that shows marketing performance

• Impressions: Opportunity to view content• Reach: Individual users or social accounts reached by content• Engagement: User actions, such as clicks, likes, comments• CPM: Cost per 1,000 impressions• CPA: Cost per acquisition or sign up• Sentiment: Expressed as positive, negative or neutral, may be

reported in a quantitative or qualitative manner

#BH13ROI

Know your key metrics

• Unique visitors: Expressed by day, week or month• Clickthroughs (CTs): User clicks on a specific call to action (CTA)• Click rate (CR) = Clicks to your content / Impressions x 100 .20% considered baseline/good • Clickthrough rate (CTR) = Clicks to brand / clicks to your content x

100 10% is highly desirable• Link tagging: Links with analytics tracking built in to the URL

#BH13ROI

Know where you fit in the sales funnel

Awareness

Interest

Consideration

Preference

“Unboxing,” contestsMetrics: Impressions, reachSampling, couponingMetric: Engagement

Head-to-head product trialMetric: Engagement, clickthroughs to brand siteExclusive offers, bundlesMetric: Sales, CPA, sentiment

#BH13ROI

Key elements of your proposal

• Introduce yourself and your community• What works well for you (examples)• What you plan to do, specifically• Measurable metrics that are expected• Cost

#BH13ROI

Key elements of your recap report

Mandatory:• What you plan to do, specifically What you did• Measurable metrics that are expected Actual performance• Cost ROI expressed as CPM or CPA, for exampleRecommended:• What tactic was the most successful and why• Other influencers who shared campaign content• Recommendations for next time

#BH13ROI

Sample recap reportPublished a total of 17 tweets from July 5-11 during a giveawayTotal impressions: 390,200 Twitter giveaway impressions: 242,800Total giveaway entries: 210

What’s the CPM?CPM = (Cost of 1 Unit of a Media Program) / (Size of Media Program's Audience) x 1,000CPM = $2,000 / 390,200 x 1,000CPM = $5.12

#BH13ROI

Tweetreach

#BH13ROI

Recommended Wordpress Plug Ins

• Google Analytics Tutorial: http://youtu.be/mm78xlsADgc Discussion: http://www.blogher.com/google-analytics-you• Native WordPress analytics• Intermediate: Select a comment analytics tool• Advanced: AWStats as a backup - AWStats is a server log

analyzer and a good last resort if something goes wrong with Google.

#BH13ROI

Preparing to work with brands

• Put your bio, audience targeting and key community metrics in a PPT file, ready to share

• Add a slide profiling a previous, successful campaign as an example

• Sketch out your common community activities and where they fit in the funnel

• Identify your top 3 activities that garner the most engagement in our community

#BH13ROI

A few words about contests …

Pay attention to:• Platform• Contest administrator• Prize cost and fulfillment• Terms and Conditions• Indemnification

#BH13ROI

Savvy questions you should ask

• Do you view this as an awareness program, or do you want to work with audiences who are farther down the sales funnel?

• Is a contest part of the program? • What’s your list of SEO keywords, so I can optimize my

content?• Are you going to provide me with tagged links?• How frequently do you need metrics reports? What format?• What does success look like to you?• Your contract or mine?

top related